Central Snark


Template discussion by Snuppy
Tuesday, 13 June 2006, 7:19pm
Filed under: snark ops

I thought I'd make a post for template discussion so it doesn't get lost in the snarkiness.

This is the template that you can make your own header picture for.

30 Comments so far
Leave a comment

well, I just found the first failing of this template, no place to login on the main page. That sucks.

Comment by kyahgirl

and, its randomizing the blogroll, I’d fix that if I could easily log in. ARGH.

Comment by kyahgirl

ok, I changed the theme ack to green Marinee.
sorry, I’ll stop fiddling with it.

Comment by One Hot Puppy

wait… did all these changes while i was in the shower?? guess that was a long shower!

so *this* one (with the black at the top) is the one i saw first then you changed to the other then *back* to this? or is this the one with the header we can play with (that didn’t sound right… hee hee).

i *do* agree it would be a pain in the ass if we can’t log in from the main page… i’m all about convenience! πŸ˜€

Comment by sophie

yeah, sorry for the confusion. I tried putting it up to see if it was likeable but couldn’t see any way to add a login field. that’s annoying.

Comment by kyahgirl

They both are nice templates, I think this green one is the easiest to read. πŸ™‚

Comment by romance enhancer

Thanks DL πŸ™‚

Comment by kyahgirl

I would totally switch over if I could keep my template… but bohemians are set in their ways I am afraid…

I am uninspired… I started to write… then kids happened.. and Spain… and life… and my right hand is carpal tunnely and being a mild hypochondriac I am digging my writing grave and yogi grave while the Loverboy ignores me… dammit! Is it ok to whine a little? Ok… done!

So… this here template can have a header? Oooh! How big a header and what kinda pic/pics you want? I wonder if I could come up with anything? I made Mo’a’s template, as well as the Electric Mama E’s, as well as Monika’s (The Ice Queen)… they are nothing that great but just little attempts and variations on the same basic one… This one I did for Sar in case she ever wanted to switch but alas, no! I could have tweaked something were this on Blogger… but that would defeat the whole purpose of everything so now I am depressed.

Hmmmm…. πŸ˜‰

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

PS~ You guys talked on the phone? I would LOVE to talk to y’all and yes, calling from Spain is super doable cause I got me a bohemian-friendly called who makes great long distance conversations doable even for bums… bums I SAY!

Ooooh! I don’t sound depressed anymore! MEOW!

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

That was supposed to be bohemian-friendly calling card…

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

Huh! The link didn’t work… I shall try again… This one I made for Sar….

Ok, ok, I am going now!

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

wow! i lovelovelove that template you did! i gathered you did these things from time to time… and i’d just like to know why you’re not doing more? i adore yours, as well… so far you’ve designed for blogger– wonder what the deal is with wordpress (kyahgirl, i’m guessing you know!) and i’m gonna check on typepad, too… i love the clean look (like this one, and the look on my own blog) but i’m very partial to all things retro… wouldn’t mind seeing what ya might come up with, catty yummy mummy tasty cutie sweetie kitty!! πŸ˜€

also… if not this and/or my own template–how ’bout one for the blog i want to start soon, which will be about women’s issues? (we’ve chatted about this a bit–i want to do it with my sis… health, sex, kids, sex, husbands, sex… you get the idea…) i’ll pay… and i’ll pay WELL!!

and… can we talk?? this i would LOVELOVELOVE!!!! when? how? for how long?????? (lemme know… send me a note!)

by the way, why didn’t Sar make the change? (not that i don’t like the one she has, because i surely do… but the new one is very cool) just wondered!

Comment by sophie

catty yummy-yummy-mummy: when i say i wouldn’t mind seeing what you might come up with, i mean for this blog… and for my *own*. you knew that, right??

Comment by sophie

Ooooh! What a juicy response indeedy! First off… I am of the loser type who can only design for Blogger because ’tis all I know (and I hear wordpress and typepad have quite the restrictions and are harder to handle) and can use others template and tweak them into something half decent… I really and truly have no designing skills whatsoever! If ever you wanted me to play around for you I would do so gladly but alas… I only know blogger! And HELL TO THE NO no money would exchange hands! Fo’ sho’!

That blog you want to start with Terri sounds absolutely FAB and if ever I could help in anyway please count me in!!! Hmmm… maybe I should get a test typepad blog and give it a go!

As for talking, anytime! WHEN are you home? That’s the main question! I would make sure to catch you at one of the times that work for you! I think I have your phone number already as it was on the receipt of the delightful package sent my way from your neck of the woods!

As for Sar… well, I helped her with her current template but veered off to see what I would come up with were I to do just what I wanted and just what inspired me… I think our visions are simply different!

I am totally giddy and nervous and excited at the thought of talking to you!!! I warn you… my voice is dorky and my accent may be all over the place… although at times it falls into a valley girl one which I can do on demand… only American accent I can do on demand I am afraid… I also have been known to venture into Irish and British accent territories.. hmmm… wonder if I have too much time on my hands! πŸ˜‰

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

Hi Catty yummy mummy πŸ™‚

Ok, the template.
The thing with wordpres.com is the templates are fixed. You can’t edit them, not even as much as the blogger templates.

My blog is with worpress which is different. Its the version you download and host on a server so you can do whatever you want with the templates.

The reason I was excited about that other theme was you can actually put your own masthead photo in. If you wanted to try and make us one, that would be fabulous. The designer of the other theme descirbes the optimum dimensions of the masthead. I’ll go get that info. I’ll put that theme up again and look to see if I could put a tricky login on the front page, disguised as a blogroll link. Let me try that! πŸ™‚

Comment by kyahgirl

ok, well that was easy. I put a login link on the blogroll and now will see if I can figure out away to put is somewhere else. You can’t edit the php filesso I guess you have to be sneaky πŸ™‚

Comment by One Hot Puppy

does kyahgirl rock, or what? (you’re awesome, girlfriend)

i’m home most of the time, catty-honey-yummy-momma… i’m sure we can figure out something! and i’m guessing your voice is every bit as delightful as YOU!! πŸ˜€

Comment by sophie

honest-to-god… in the time it took me to write a response to you guys… you switched! dang, girl, you are so good, so fast… so efficient!! ( i like this, too… it’s ve-e-ery nice!) ya know, kyahgirl, if we can’t find a picture we like, and we decide to keep *this* template, we can always liken “snarking” to howling at the moon! arrrroooooooo!! 😎

Comment by sophie

holy crap, look what happens when you try harder!!!

Comment by One Hot Puppy

I poked around in the presentation section for this theme and there is more changeable stuff than I realized. They have several colour and pictures in here. Just watch and I’ll change them. Ready? here we go!!

Comment by One Hot Puppy

so this is pink with the city scape header

Comment by One Hot Puppy

ok, now we’re green with the ‘bloom’ header

Comment by One Hot Puppy

this is orange spice with the classic swirl header

(are we having fun yet?)

Comment by One Hot Puppy

I’ll stop now and we can discuss this. I’m at home, may I phone you?

Comment by One Hot Puppy

Miz B, this is what it says about the header requirments:

To use your own header image enter the complete url into the Header Image URL box below – eg “http://www.yoursite.com/yourfile.jpg”. To fill the header area completely you should make the image 730 pixels wide by 140 pixels high. Any smaller and the image will tile. To use one of the supplied images simply leave this box blank and select the image from the drop down.

Comment by kyahgirl

Ooooh! An internet HTML dummy like me can figure that out! Now… what kind of pics do you like… what energy do you want… give me ideas of the feel and I will see if I can find anything appropriate.. we have to keep in mind that though wide, it is a short pic… so maybe a collage etc… So come on… let’s brainstorm!!!

Besos

Oh! And if something whacky is in order would anyone be interested in David LaChapelle of the famous-photog-and-creator-of-the-banner-used-by-yours-truly-Mama-E-&-Minka?

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

I have no clue what we are talking about, but I am glad we are snarking.
In case anybody expects soemthing of me, or I have to log in somewhere, please let me know!
I like this template. It is easy on the eyes!

Comment by Monika

kyahgirl: GREAT talking with you again, yesterday! and i agree, i think this is the template we should use! as for that HTML??? oy… i'm glad you kids understand this stuff… i'm lucky i can post pictures on my blog!

Catty Yummy Mummy: i wondered where you found those fabulous pics! and i knew all three of you had that connection! (and ALL THREE of your templates are FABULOUS!! seriously… i've admired yours and minka's since we first started this whole blogging thing… and i adore Mamma E's, too!

Monika: as you probably know, we created this place for those days when blogger shuts everyone out! (i explained it somewhat here, if you're interested!)by the way, is there a pet-name you'd like for us to use on this site? (since we'll be adding you!) if not, i'll let kyahgirl assign your "snark park" name… she's become very adept at such things!

Comment by sophie

Hi Miz B, we were only loosely brainstorming the other day. I thought something with a picture of a nice green park with our various avatars photoshopped into it, or something like that.
But, I’m easy (but not loose, and definitely not cheap!)

The canned ones that come with the template are good enough for now while we work out something else.

It might be fun to show our various dogs, the penguin, a kitty, some shoes kicked off to the side, stuff like that. ?

Comment by kyahgirl

oooh… yeah! (your thoughts for the ultimate pic). i like that idea a lot! (just thought i’d toss that in… i only read your comment thisveryminute! πŸ™‚

Comment by sophie




Leave a Reply

