Central Snark


To Snark, or Not to Snark? by Snuppy
Wednesday, 14 June 2006, 6:09pm
Filed under: friends, snark ops

Well, if you’re here, obviously you know the answer to that. Unless, of course, you choose not to (snark, that is).

Yesterday, Romance Enhancer asked the question: “What does SNARK mean?” to which, clever puppies that we are, we replied:

According to Wikipedia:

“Snark” refers to a belittling style of speech or writing. It could loosely be described as irritable or “snidely derisive”; hence, ‘snarkish’, ‘snarky’, ‘to snark at somebody’. (The Urban Dictionary refers to it as a contraction of “snide remark”.)

In other words (ours), to “snark” is to snipe (make malicious, underhand remarks or attacks), only kinder. It’s to yip (sharp, high-pitched bark; a yelp), only softer. It’s to quip (petty distinction or objection; a quibble), with more edge. And, by all means, to “snark” is to drip (ooze or be saturated with or as if with liquid) with well-chosen words of sarcasm. And yes, a “snark” is most definitely a snip (person regarded as impertinent or mischievous)…

So. Is everyone clear? Alrighty then! Since one of us just had the immense frustration of having–what we believed to be–an extremely clever and/or hilarious comment virtually devoured by that whore Blogger before it could ever see the light of the internet day, by all means… let the Snarking Begin!

~snuppy

31 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Does that mean I am snarking up first? I am getting really good at that. And now that I know what sanrk means, I am just happy I am doing it!
hello, everybody! And a lovely day to all of you!

Comment by Monika

Monika: and welcome… you clever penguin, you! and congratulations on being one of the finalists over at Sar's with your hysterical caption! (we may be snarks, but we LOVE our friends!) and, i, for one, am so glad we could be your "fall back first comment" today (TLP was up and at 'em mighty early, eh?)! πŸ˜€

Comment by sophie

Now that I know what snark means I must say… I am a naturally snarky person. Last night at Starbucks I over heard our flunkie tell the new guy that she is the smartest girl at Normandale Community College. The look on the new guys face was priceless. He had just finished hearing “Mary Moon’s” (the flunkie) take on the secret society that farmers take part in to cover up the deaths of those who die from cow farts. Afterall its cow and pig farts that are destroying the ozone layer – not the burning of fossil fuel. So Mary Moon says to the new guy “I am like the smartest girl at Normandale Community College. Even the administration isn’t ready for the level of intellegence I have.” And as I walked by with a load of dishes in my hands I said “No one is Mary Moon, no one is.” She didn’t get it…. but we all laughed later. I don’t normally outright make fun of someone… but Mary Moon seems to be the exception.

Comment by romance enhancer

romance enhancer: HAHAHAHA! i’m with you… as a rule, i don’t like to make fun of people, either (what? i don’t! i’m telling you… i don’t!). that said… some people just naturally ask for it. Clearly, Mary Moon is one of ’em! πŸ˜†

Comment by sophie

Anyone else have snarky moments of late?

Comment by romance enhancer

ooooh kyahgirl!! i *like* the side-bar addition! and the new moniker for monika! πŸ˜‰

Comment by sophie

Thanks πŸ™‚ I try to keep up with the housework around here πŸ™‚

Comment by kyahgirl

To the guy doing 40mph behind the wheel while reading the New York Post…very sorry, reading while driving is not one of the approved multi-task combinations. No bonus points will be awarded.

Comment by Joel

I changed it again because apparently I have template OCD So bite me. heh heh.

Comment by One Hot Puppy

kyahgirl… i like this! (i like the gold better than the hot pink, to be honest…) template OCD?? hee hee! change away, girlfriend… this is turning into a *very* entertaining aspect of having this blog! πŸ˜€

Comment by sophie

Yeah, the hot pink felt too girlie. This one looks a bit more like a park too. I’ll leave it alone for awhile
*sitting on my hands* πŸ™‚

Comment by kyahgirl

oh yeah, don’t know if you noticed but I added a sentence to the end of your ‘snark’ description and changed the ‘byline’ under Central snark. If you don’t like, let me know!

Comment by kyahgirl

i lovelovelove the “byline”! as well as the line you added on the side-bar (clever puppy!)

and, yeah, i agree… the pink was too “girlie”. don’t want to scare anyone away! real men may eat quiche, but do they comment in pink? dunno! (okay, joel will, but he’s special!) 😎

Comment by sophie

totally agree Sophie-Joel is very, very special!

Comment by kyahgirl

Not to promote myself because I seriously ain’t into that but snarkin’ away at drivers is a BIG THING for me and detailed in my post… Joel, I feel for ya!

Of course… I unabashedly proclaim myself a snarker to the umpteenth degree! Hey, it ain’t my fault some people are just plain old stupid and deserve it! K-KISH BABY! K-KISH!

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

I actually enjoy the changing colors…could you guys just keep changing them so that every time I visit there’s a new template. I think that would be cool…for me.

And Miz…in the immortal words of Jeff Spicoli (Fast Times at Ridgemont High) “people on ludes should not drive.” Truer words were never spoken and yet…and yet…I am surrounded by them every day.

Comment by BoBo

Oh, by the way…if I must choose, which means that I am anticipating that you both will refuse to continue the kaleidoscope treatment here on the site…I like the yellow. It pops and is none too “girlie.” Rather gender neutral I think.

Comment by BoBo

dearest bobo, is this ‘orange spice’ what you are calling yellow?

Not to be snarky dear but you old dogs seem to have a little trouble with your vision.

Comment by Casper

*woof*

I’m off to run around like the pony I am and will check back for your riposte later πŸ™‚

*woof*

Comment by Casper

snark, snark, snarkety snark snark. fucking blogger. GAAAAH.
i like this template–I actually had it for my wordpress blog I was creating, but two things I do not like (for my own purposes; it’s great here)
–a) comments link–have to scroll back to the top. which for someone as wordy as me is a real pain for users

b) when you add images, the wrap sucketh big ones. try it, you’ll see.

and this is the only template where you can add your own image. and i needs m’ oranges. it’s my brand identity. y’know?

but for SNARK–tis awesome functionality. and I can COMMENT with IMPUNITY!

Neva–for the record I like all those shows I mentioned, but don’t tell the hubs;-) Even Family Guy (Stewie–pure genius. serious) But I am really waiting for Dancing with the Stars, which is my absolute fave.

soooo. I will be back as soonas my comments page won’t load again. so probably tomorrow morning.

Comment by joy

talkin’ about penis’ at my place, one hot notorious penis at that!! come on over for a penis par-tee!! rotflmao! πŸ™‚

Comment by Karen

So …just checking.
How do I check now in as the penguin?
Wait, let me try this.

Comment by Penguin

Hi Penguin, you’re awfully cute, flapping your flippers like that!

Comment by Casper

Joy! i actually figured you liked those programs, we have so *much* in common… (including our cheesy tastes in reality TV)! but stewie, genius? really? maybe i need to watch again (i’m such a fan of The Simpsons and South Park, so you’d think i’d like Family Guy, too!)

thanks for comin’ over… after an especially rough day trying to leave comments/read blogs on Blogger, this made sense! oh, and allow me to introduce you to my partner in snark, Kyahgirl (sometimes Casper)! Kyahgirl–the delightful Joy (remember, i told you about her?) Kyahgirl lives in Canada… her “mommy” is the brilliant and beautiful “Mother Hen”.

by the way, any “name” you’d like to use around here? (Big Red? Orange Mama? maybe we should go with “Big Red” until the baby comes, then change it…?) as our first “transplanted” Brit, we can call ya anything ya like (why… even “Joy”!) πŸ˜‰

as for the issues with WordPress… apparently you have more options if you subscribe to their service (is this right, Kyahgirl?) i know ya do with Typepad (which is what i use for “Puppytoes” and joel does with “Bobo Banjoey”)… i’ve discovered that, once you get used to blogging in a different format, it’s really no big deal! for a young and incredibly brilliant girl like you, it should be a piece of cake! (a piece of delicious cake… mmmmm) that said– i really liked the new template i saw you using today… too bad it’s on that MF blogger! yeesh! πŸ™‚

Karen: i will definitely check it out! (i think i know who’s penis you’re talking about… and i actually might be able to add a piece of “penile trivia” (oh, what did i do before my sister wrote that book? hee hee) πŸ˜€

Penguin: so? did ya figure it out?? from the looks of things, i’d say Yeah Baby! hey, that Adidas commercial just aired! oooh… i can’t watch anything soccer-related without thinking of you, now! πŸ™‚

Comment by sophie

hey Casper…didn’t see ya until it was too late to say “hi”.

“hi”!! πŸ˜‰

Comment by sophie

Casper…how silly of me. Of course it’s Orange Spice! (not in a million years would I have gotten that one right) What the heck was I thinking? I’ll blame it on the monitor at work although the “old dog eyes” could definitely be a contributing factor. Actually the more I look at it it seems rather goldenrodish to me….heeheehee.

Comment by sophie

OOOPS….THAT WASN’T A SOPHIE COMMENT ABOVE…THAT WAS A BOBO COMMENT. Didn’t see that soph was logged in…my bad.

Comment by bobo

goldenrod? maybe! actually…i think the shade is more like canola (and this comment IS me!) but now i’m going to bed… i need my beauty sleep. besides, i’m a much better snarkster after a good night’s rest! πŸ˜‰

Comment by sophie

You doggies! So cute. Yeah Bobo, I think we’ll leave the goldenrod up for awhile!

Hi Joy πŸ™‚ I’m going to go login now and make you a name for the side bar. You can let me know if you want something different ok?

Comment by Casper

The splendiferous thing about being the reincarnation of King Friday XIII is that you can snark to the fullest expression of your cognition without it being imprinted on the perception of the recipients.

Of course this is a hermitesque kind of thing to do.

If a tree falls deep in the forest, does it make a sound?

Comment by determinate_inflorescence

Soph’–I want to be “Big Red Joy..” Yeah! This site is FUN!
Nice to meet you KyahGirl! I’ll be headed over your way soon (oh, and if there is a prize for most soothing design, you win it)

Comment by Big Red Joy




Leave a Reply

