Central Snark


Snarking in the Park-For Friday. by Snuppy
Friday, 16 June 2006, 11:27pm
Filed under: friends

I believe The Amoeba has something to say. Anyone else who would like a place to gripe or converse, pull up piece of lawn!

Please note, the comments ARE out of order, you haven’t lost your mind. A while ago, a smart bunny noticed that the clock had turned to Saturday already. I went and corrected the blog clock and put it on Eastern time (Greenwich meant time minus 5 hours). So, all comments posted after that, suddenly have a time stamp that is 12 hours behind where it was before and are appearing first. Come to think of it, this raises the “I’m First” game to a whole new level.

Carry on, you’ll figure it out πŸ™‚

42 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey! I like the service around here. How much they paying you people? Don’t answer that … πŸ™‚

So (to repeat myself) Kyahgirl, over at Waking Ambrose, quoted Mother Theresa to the effect that “God won’t give me anything I can’t handle”. Which to my little curmudgeonly no synapses (amoeba. single cell. remember? y’can’t call me “nervy” ’cause I don’t have nerves) is a line that ranks right up there with “every day in every way I’m getting better and better”. And I had to tell you about it. Which is why I’m here, Doug.

If God is so compassionate, what’s with all this gray hair and wrinkles? No point in chasing any little blue pills, she takes one look and goes “ewwww”. And everyone else throws poo and screams “act your age”. And points at these long boxes I see in the corner. Sheesh.

Yes, yes, I know, I know. We Shall Overcome and all that. Most of our challenges don’t involve mortal peril. Even if we think they do. Gird up thy loins, O mortal, and go forth unto the battle. Better that than the alternative, I suppose. Except for the “mortal” part.

What do you want to do, live forever? Marine “Devil Dog” battle cry, World War 1.

Yes. πŸ™‚

Comment by The Amoeba

Bunnies live short lives. We don’t take risks, we hide under bushes, we jump at the slightest sounds. But I am who I am, and trust is very hard. A friend blogger told me “to stop being so damm polite.”

I trust that you all understand my issues.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

What do you want to do, live forever? Marine β€œDevil Dog” battle cry, World War 1.

…maybe we do…just don’t realize it.

Comment by BoBo

ah Amoeba, suck it up.

how many wrinkles can a single cell get?

Comment by kyahgirl

Anyone else noticed we have fast forwarded to Saturday. I guess God’s on the job after all.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

Yikes, I think there is something weird with the clock in the park. I’ll go take a look.

*sigh* a caretakers work is never done.

Comment by kyahgirl

This is the original comment on this thread from The Amoeba:

The Amoeba – Friday, 16 June 2006[Edit]

Hey! I like the service around here. How much they paying you people? Don’t answer that …

So (to repeat myself) Kyahgirl, over at Waking Ambrose, quoted Mother Theresa to the effect that “God won’t give me anything I can’t handle”. Which to my little curmudgeonly no synapses (amoeba. single cell. remember? y’can’t call me “nervy” ’cause I don’t have nerves) is a line that ranks right up there with “every day in every way I’m getting better and better”. And I had to tell you about it. Which is why I’m here, Doug.

If God is so compassionate, what’s with all this gray hair and wrinkles? No point in chasing any little blue pills, she takes one look and goes “ewwww”. And everyone else throws poo and screams “act your age”. And points at these long boxes I see in the corner. Sheesh.

Yes, yes, I know, I know. We Shall Overcome and all that. Most of our challenges don’t involve mortal peril. Even if we think they do. Gird up thy loins, O mortal, and go forth unto the battle. Better that than the alternative, I suppose. Except for the “mortal” part.

What do you want to do, live forever? Marine “Devil Dog” battle cry, World War 1.

Yes.

Comment by One Hot Puppy

look at that, it put my comment at the beginning! I guess our comment order will be screwed up for the rest of this post. Oh well, have a few more beers and it won’t matter so much!

Comment by One Hot Puppy

I hate hate hate hate hate that phrase! Although if you broke it down, it would probably be more palatable – I mean, you may not want to handle it, but chances are you handle it anyway. So, in that sense, it holds some truth. It does not diminish my ire at having it directed towards me.

Since we are able to ramble about here a bit, I can never hear that phrase without being placed in my bedroom on the telephone with the resident fill-in for my ob-gyn giving me what turns out to be inacurrate information about my amnio for my sweet son. She is at this time, talking abortion as an alternative while I have sunk to the floor in shock. This hell I live with for 24 hours until I go in for a sonogram which is encouraging; another 48 until another amnio can be done since today is Friday; and another week until results come back that apparently those initial results were not mine. Did I handle it? Yes. Would I have wanted to omit that sidestep in my pregnancy – absolutely.

Just saying.

Comment by lady of the lampshade

g-I can relate to your pain.
Holy cow, you get amnio results in a week? I had to sit in purgatory for 4 weeks, both times! Hey, I just found a good use for the word purgatory.

Amoeba, I hope you know I was only kidding on the comment when I said ‘suck it up’ . I meant to put a smiley so you’d know I was joking but hit return too fast.

Comment by kyahgirl

If you’re reading the comments, the first one in the thread was actually by The Amoeba, addressing his angst with the quote on WA from Mother Theresa. I’m going to copy it into the number one spot so its not so confusing!!

Comment by One Hot Puppy

This is the NEW COMMENT #3 which is the old #12. Start from here

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

Oops, I meant #7, OMG. This has just completely wrecked my bunny brain.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

OMG Brian, you made me laugh with that!

Comment by kyahgirl

Bunny-go back and chew the leaves before you blow a gasket! πŸ™‚

Comment by kyahgirl

Oh, I am so confused.

Comment by lady of the lampshade

Oh my! I am quite dizzy I must say! So many parties in full swing here! Oooooweeee! I see I got a mention with regards to genitals in the previous post! Ooooh! So delicious! Wha….?

Poor Loverboy shaketh his head at my genital-lovin’ new rep! Hmmm… methinks he need not complain!

FO’ SHO’!

Brotha! You here? I have been trying to leave a comment at your place but Blogger hates me! HATES ME I SAY! DAMN YOU BLOGGER! DAMN YOU TO HELLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!

Hola Sophie you sassy lady with the beautiful voice! I lovedlovedloved talking to you and am addicted and need more I say! MORE! πŸ˜‰

(Winking at Catty Yummy Mummy’s Miz B-ishness, not at the talk… oh no! Now that would be sinful if there is such a thing as a sin!)

Ooooh! Talk about the God? What have I been missin’? Well, this bohemian is not a fan of the thought…. more into this universal energy we are all a part of that I can feel and sense yet need not define… I believe in free will, in destiny being what we make of it, in karma, in personal responsibility and the like and yes, in a higher power that is the universe and life energy (qi for the Chinese, prana for Indians) that culminates into something along the lines of Carl Jung’s beloved collective unconscious…

… hmmm… a mouthful for someone who is not quite sure what the convo is about! For shame BoheMia! For shame!

And with that, I’m off! K-KISH BABY! K-KISH!

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

My #10 should have been #17. I sometimes have trouble just following the thread, now this. BTW, Kyah, four weeks would have put me into a catatonic state I believe. Normally in New York they say 1-2 weeks.

Comment by lady of the lampshade

Are you saying that as a non-cursing bunny, I should chew some halucenic leaves. Thanks, I already have visions of dogs and amoeba’s

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

Well, I am thoroughly confused…
still,
more,
again.
So basically I am telling you I feel right at home.

Comment by Ariella's Alpha

as my good friend bette davis once said

“old age ain’t for sissies”

i like that sentiment.

Comment by sophie

Actually the mixed up messages are kind of fun…a little like being on a thrill ride and becoming totally disoriented as you disembark…this is definitely an E-Ticket ride, which for those of you too young to remember or perhaps care, Disneyland used to categorize their rides by letter. E-Ticket rides were the absolute bomb…The Matterhorn, for example, was an E-Ticket experience. Thus endeth the lesson.

Comment by BoBo

okay… this is just weird. and it does make me dizzy. on the other hand, it kind of forces us to actually read through everyone’s comments, right? (too bad the actual comments aren’t time stamped, then we could keep track! but i’m impressed you were able to rectify the time problem in the first place, kyahgirl, i tried to do that over the weekend, and as you know, failed miserably!) πŸ™‚

Comment by sophie

Quiet everyone, the bunnies wife is prowling around. I am going off the the bushes again.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

BoBo, the current thrill at The Mouse in Fla. is Mission Space aka the ride of death. Rode myself several years ago, not fun!

AA-you’re not the only one confused.

Sophie-time stamp would make it worse, two comments with the same time, different numbers. Yikes!

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

E TICKET E TICKET…Someone remembers…now, see, this confusion thing is normal operating procedure for me…

Welcome to the idiots world

Comment by The Village Idiot

No, we’re saying as a cursing bunny, you should go chew, what was that, hallucinegenic grass – yeah.

Comment by lady of the lampshade

Are you dyslexic Idiot? That sounds terrible, but you know. Actually, it feels like I’m smoking grass rather than eating it. Well, I most certainly won’t be eating it, and smoking it, well not that I would know anything about that. I’m with Bill.

Comment by lady of the lampshade

LL-hallucinegenic grass.LOL Would that be the kind of grass in the baskets with the holiday eggs? Or am I just out of my mind.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

That does it! For my next post I’m going to waxate cecropially on the improvidentiality of mylittleponialoid mergatroydianism, in the expectation that it will undephragmolicate the central professing software and spin it antisinistrally into the seventh heaven where the archonites will bokanofskify it and projecifit it back multiply regalorified.

Outgrabe that into your wabe and brillig, Mr. Carroll.

[Chez moi should have so many hits. wah. πŸ™‚ ]

Comment by The Amoeba

The amoeba is scaring me again Mom. I’m going to go try and drink the entire fountain!

Comment by Casper

Amoeba: mimsy. and not at all slithy. (well said!)

Comment by sophie

Amoeba: and i can’t wait to read this next post of which you speak. especially your take on “mergatroidianism”. heavens. it promises to be all that and a bag of vorpal blades!

Comment by sophie

Sophie? now you’re scaring me too!

*woof*

Comment by Casper

Casper: are you not a fan of the works of Lewis Carroll? some of the above “words” are from the his poem “The Jabberwocky”

“‘Twas Brillig, and the mimsy tove
did gyre and gymble in the wabe
all mimsy were the borogroves
and the mome raths outgrabe.”

as you can see, it’s just a lot of silliness! or… is it?? *woof* *woof*

by the way, i did this from memory, so i apologize if it’s not spelled/punctuated correctly! πŸ˜€

Comment by sophie

Enjoyed the romp today. Have a great weekend, stop by the hutch when you get a chance.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

Sophie, I remember that verse from reading Jabberwocky years and years ago. Maybe my brain is just too frazzled today.
Well, not MY brain, Kyahgirl’s brain. Way too many personalities in this head πŸ™‚

Comment by Casper

DGB: have a great weekend! we *will* be by… by and by! (i’ve already been there…i just have to go and finish the post before i can comment! don’t know if ya know this, but it’s a long one!! a good one, from what i’ve seen, but long!) πŸ˜€

Casper: i’m soooo glad you said that! i’m worried about these multiple personalities, too! oh well… let’s see how things go… if we must, i’m sure a little “blogotherapy” can help! (i figured you knew the poem… the words do look weird out of context!) πŸ˜‰

Comment by sophie

This is working great! Amoeba, I’ve learned a thing or two about women staying single and they’re not as superficial as we expect them to be. Just saying.

The quote reminds me of another one, I’m not sure who from. It goes “God doesn’t call the ready, he readies the called.” Mother Theresa’s was wittier which comes as something of a surprise to me, personally. Wouldn’t have thought a nun in a hospice would be funny.

Comment by Walela

Yo dog. (I have a limited store of pet names. Dog. Cat. Bird. Fish. Dude. Dudes usually come in pairs. πŸ™‚ )

about women staying single

That’s you staying single, or them?

they’re not as superficial as we expect them to be.

Yeah. I’ve experienced this. Usually after casually stepping into the bathtub only to discover it’s a bottomless pit, and the bath slippers she’s given you are lead-lined. Just saying.

(I hasten to add, in the interests of fairness and accuracy, not to mention frantic pseudopodial squirmings to ward off imminent lysis attempts, and to lift my chances with LBP fractionally above absolute zero [hah], that the phenomenon just described is remarkably gender-independent.)

Wouldn’t have thought a nun in a hospice would be funny.

The little I’ve read about Mother Theresa suggests that she was anything but dour. Most of the bona fide people of faith that I’ve encountered have well-developed senses of humor. “God laughs”, they tell me. I mean, God has to deal with us. What else can she do?

Comment by The Amoeba

so, what? friday night and everyone’s out on a hot date?? everyone except me ‘n bobo, that is… around here, “hot date” means long walk/good mexican food. hmmm. come to think of it, that means we *did* have a hot date! hooray for us!! (hanging out in the park, all alone like this… a girl gets silly. don’t mind me. i’m going away now.)

nite all! hope everyone has a fantastic weekend! πŸ˜€

Comment by sophie

Night night Sophie

*wag*

Comment by Casper




Leave a Reply

