Central Snark


TIME? by Snuppy
Thursday, 22 June 2006, 9:06am
Filed under: funny...

THIS morning we heard that one of the most frequently used words in the English vocabulary is TIME. We thought that was ridiculous silly funny hilarious … in fact, we said to no one in particular, “Wassat? Time? That’s just stupid… we don’t have time for this nonsense. Is it time for us to start watching something besides Headline News? Whoa! Look at the time!” Then we raced to our happy little computer in hopes of being first to comment on Waking Ambrose today, alas to no avail. We didn’t get there in time. Nevertheless, we did leave a definition for the word of the day (retractable) and had a good time setting a certain quote record straight(ish).

Time. Apparently a word we all use a lot. According to that study by some group whose name we can’t recall, time is not only on our minds, but on our lips ALL the time. We have it on our hands, over our heads, in ourselves. We race against it, we waste it, we fondly remember it, we look forward to it. We can lose it, but, once in awhile, it’s on our side. Often, time is preceded by words like “good”, “on”, “party”, “Father”, “over”, “bed”, “Miller”, “down”, “Hammer”, “borrowed”, and “life”. Time is also followed by things like “out”, “off”, “to go”, “for more”, “share”, and “for this one to come home!” (stupid Tudor Turtle reference). And now, dear Snarklings, as much as we’d love to continue with these clever and sort-of-but-not-really timely examples, we, ourselves, are out of it. For, as we all know, “time waits for no man and/or woman”. Besides, we can’t do ALL the work around here ALL the time, can we? No. We cannot. Therefore, if you really want more, you’ll just have to come up with ’em on your own time. ~

Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.” ~ Groucho Marx

~snuppy

38 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well its about TIME I ge to me a first commenter SOMEWHERE!

Comment by cj

hooray for CJ! 😀

Comment by One Hot Puppy

sadly, it’s TIME for me to make like a tree and “leaf”… i’ll be back later (this is snuppy, by the way…) 🙂

Comment by One Hot Puppy

79. Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny – Thursday, 22 June 2006

I am FIRST on thursday morning. Good morning Snuppytoes,
I wanted to let you know that I deleted your comment and reposted. That brain fart has been taken care of.
80. I’m Feline Frisky – Thursday, 22 June 2006

Oh, HonBun beat me! Boogers!Good morning all! I’m gonna curl up in a cozy sunshine spot and nap until the park gets busy.
81. BoBo – Thursday, 22 June 2006

Good morning…anyone out there? Can I go ahead and just get something off my chest this morning? Good, thanks…

Fu*k commuting
Fu*k commuters (I know, I’m one too.)
Fu*k people who drive slow in the left lane
Fu*k people who read the paper while driving
Fu*kity, fu*k, fu*k, fu*k.

Thanks…feel better.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

Sorry CJ, you wern’t in TIME, actually forth, but who has TIME to count.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

ya know what? you're right, GDB… that was my bad for not copying and reposting those comments here. (sorry cj) oh, and thanks for taking care of my brain fart. hey, if my brain is farting, maybe that means it'll be able to start coming up with better… er…uh… shit soon! (let's hope so, shall we?)

and i noticed you left a link to your site on WA… so i guess my "linkage 101" helped? hope so! LOVE the above "rant", by the way !

gotta go… outta TIME!! see you guys later! 😀
(~snuppytoes~)

Comment by One Hot Puppy

The mind bending thing to consider is that TIME is strictly a manmade measurement…it really doesn’t exist, ya know.

Comment by BoBo

Speaking of commuting time, left this comment over at BoBo’s.
Loved your rant at the snark park. Ah Yes, the joys of coummunting on the Merrit, course you probably don’t remember the dark days pre EZPass.*Shudder* And the West Side Hwgy is much better since they widened it.When I worked nights and commuted back to New Haven, nothing better than bombing up I-95 at 3AM with shall we say, an excessive rate of speed. Not that I’d ever do that.

Context being, worked on the road for Rite Aid from 1995-2000, in New England and Middle Atlantic. Lots in NYC.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

🙂 Well I can still at least THINK I’m first. I’m behind the times, what canI say?

Comment by cj / romance enhancer

Sophietoes, you are a funny puppy.
see you another time
🙂

Comment by casper

CJRE- That’s ok, this TIME you are first in our hearts. A very sparse crowd in the park today. Lots of room to hop!

Oh, good morning Casper, not staying?

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

My time is now owned by someone else. (looks at watch). I’m out of time now.

jenna determined NOT to be put in time out for misbehaving… (psst…this hour time limit? Sucks)

Comment by Little Blue Pill

The Chambers Brothers:

Time Has Come Today

Chicago:

Does Anybody Really Know What Time It IsParsely, Sage, Rosemary and

Tomatoes? What’s this slime? Ick! Hey! Ooof! Ouch! …

Comment by The Amoeba

I see WordPress doesn’t handle links any better than Blogger does. And neither an “Edit” nor a “Delete” function. Sheesh. This blogging stuff is all a conspiracy anyway. Almost as bad as Capital One credit cards …

Here’s the post without the links. Dammit.

The Chambers Brothers:

Time Has Come Today

Chicago:

Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is

Simon and Garfunkel:

Parseley, Sage, Rosemary and

Tomatoes? What’s this slime? Ick! Hey! Ooof! Ouch! …

Comment by The Amoeba

AM- I’m telling ya’ this linking s*** takes to much time.

LPB- Hope the writing process is on time, seriously.;)

Well, it is time for this little bunny to hop to it and go to lunch.

Time is on my side, yes it is.(no idea of the song)

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

LBP – this sounds a bit like slavery…a time slave or slave to time?
Amoeba – ah yes, the great Capital One conspiracy…those sneaky bastards.
Bunny – lunch? 11am?

Comment by BoBo

Will anyone here admit to watching ebay auctions? I am spending too much TIME today doing that. I never did this odd behavior before… now today I am. I may have to enter hazelton, will they have an open bed for me? and my lap top?

Comment by cj / romance enhancer

CJ – run away…totally addictive in the worst kind of way!

Comment by BoBo

And before I waste time cleaning myself off, I reckon it’s time to say something about all these people over at Waking Ambrose, you know who you are, who think intractable is spelled H.U.S.B.A.N.D. I’ll have you know ladies, all we’re trying to do is keep the Capital One credit cards in check. It’s a tough job, trying desperately to keep 50 cents in the budget for absolute essentials like beer and poker. But somebody’s gotta do it. I mean, hey. We’re investing time here.

MARRIAGE, n. The collision between the irresistable force and the immovable object. With the kids in the middle.

Comment by The Amoeba

you all forgot about Morris Day and the Time

Comment by The Village Idiot

CJ, I used to watch an ebay auction if I was buy some perfume or book that I really, really wanted! The most fun I’ve had in a long time was when I introduced my husband to ebay. (He’s not fond of the computer but has finally seen some uses).
Anyway, he wanted this particular kitchen tool that you can’t buy in stores around here. He was absolutely intractable on the max price (which was advice I’d given him, learned the hard way) and he kept getting sniped. The one and only time I’ve seen him obsess about the computer. I found it funny because I do get a lot of flak for my love of doing things on the computer.

Amoeba-I can’t believe you would think the ladies around the park would diss their husbands like that. 🙂

Comment by kyahgirl

Hey you guys! Question, what do you think of finding a more green photo for our park header? I was thinking I’d take some park pictures and try them out on the header. This one seems a bit eerie to me.

Comment by Casper

Kyahgirl – like how you cleverly used the word “intractable” in your post…Doug would be soooo proud!

Comment by BoBo

Hi All *stretch…yawn..) Nappy time over with! Oh goody activity in the park for lunch! Speaking of, BoBo, yes honbun covers the shop for everyone while they eat at noon. He’ll be back soon. And DGB, the Stones sang Time is on my side. Tiem, sometimes it’s sooo slow. Days just drag by, like Mondays. Then, like when on vacation – it zips on by. There’s never enough of it. I have anoher card making session today, so it’s time for me to Get My Sh+t Together, and get going. I’ll be back to romp this afternoon! I’ll leave you some nip to pick up your lunch time, don’t get crazy – this is the GOOD stuff. 🙂

Comment by I'm Feline Frisky

I like party time…time to ride…”and her time is” meaning I get to go to the pay window after blazing around some barrels.

What I don’t like to here: “Drink up, it’s closing time.”

Comment by Ride'Em Cowgirl

that should be “hear” not “here”

OMG time for more coffee

Comment by Ride'Em Cowgirl

Hey CG, about time you should show up. Speaking of which, time to surf the hutch?

Hey love, FF not CG, although I love her too, have fun at rubber stamping. Thanks for the song info, trivia is not my stong point.

AM-I agree, it’s time we husbands have to stick together.

KG-Just why is it so much fun to bash husbands anyway? Don’t answer that, because it’s all true.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

Mssr. Amoeba,
“I’ll have you know ladies, all we’re trying to do is keep the Capital One credit cards in check.”

Well, that may be true of some husbands, but in this particular arrangement the spending impulse appears much stronger in the male of the species. The male of the species around here also hates the idea of having neighbors anywhere close, which is where the “tract” and intractable came into mention.
When added to his sins of facial hair(see the Dog’s Life blog for details), he is maxing out his allowance of good will even if he has managed to pay off the Capital One card.

Comment by Ariella and Logo

“Time is on my side… yes it is…”

Got no time!!!!! GOGOGOGOGO!

I hear this a lot in training.

Comment by Jake

“Time is on my side… yes it is…”

Got no time!!!!! GOGOGOGOGO!

I hear this a lot in training.

(I thought I’d post this as my snarkish alias)

Comment by Sweet Baboo

Hey. Every guy has to have a little Harley every once in a while. It’s a small mortgage to pay.

And begging votre pardon, it would be “M.” Amoeba. “Mssr.” implies there’s more than one of me. Which there isn’t. At the moment, hold on, I feel a wave of mitosis coming on … this could be dangerous … when amoebae get together, they form this creeping slug … which gets larger … and larger … and larger …

RESISTANCE IS FUTILE!!

Comment by The BLOB

Ok CG, just stopped by the hutch to say hi. Warm and fuzzies for GDB and FF. Yeah time to cheer.

A&L-first time in the snark park and barking at AM already! FF just loves the facial hair on GDB, so scratchy makes a great back scratcher.

OMG- It’s the BLOG I mean BLOB! Me likes, and FF was be very impressed , she likes jiggly things.;)

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

I wrote this just now

“Just A Horse”

Four hooves that prance,
beautiful eyes that dance,
soft nicker in greeting,
anticipation in meeting,
skin warm to the touch,
my friends I love much,
to saddle up and ride,
sheer joy I can’t hide,
warm wind blows my hair,
creates feeling so rare,
strong bond between two,
something I always knew,
you may say but of course,
he’s more than just a horse.

There is no time when I am happier than when writing poems for others.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

That was for Ride’Em Cowgirl. Yesh! Slow down bunny boy.

BTW- where is everybody,…body…..body*fading echoes*

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

Erick just called and told me that he’d be home in 20 minutes to pick me up and I should be dressed and ready to go. Go where? Hebrew National Cemetary. He normally does that when we meet his collegues for happy hour. So i’m off for a funeral…. ttyl

Comment by cj / romance enhancer

Are we still meeting here or on the new thread? Hellllooooo?

Comment by I'm Feline Frisky

canine karen runs in, sniffs ’round, cocks leg to pee, snorts, sneezes, scatches, licks, slobbers, pants… dumps a load and runs back out!

*woof*

Comment by Canine Karen

karen: pooper scooper & plastic baggies are in the gazebo. silly puppy! : grin:

Comment by snuppytoes




Leave a Reply

