Central Snark


Pictures to consider for the masthead by Snuppy
Wednesday, 28 June 2006, 12:17am
Filed under: snark ops

Here are some candidates for the picture at the top of blog. I already tried them all out and the last 4 or 5 look best. The top few are too busy (except for the one that’s mostly sky)

Please note, now that we’ve got it figured out how to do this, anyone can give us a picture anytime to try on top. Its just got to be big enough that it can be resized and/or cropped to 730×140 pixels without distorting.

Lotsa trees:

1) dppark3.jpgdppark3.jpg
2) dpriver1.jpg dpriver1.jpg
3) dphill5sky.jpg dphill5sky.jpg
4) cptrees1.jpg cptrees1.jpg
5) cptreelamp.jpg cptreelamp.jpg
6) cparkverygreen.jpg cparkverygreen.jpg
7) cparktrees1.jpg cparktrees1.jpg
parkish:

8) kdpark.jpgkdpark.jpg
9) mastheadparkwater.jpg mastheadparkwater.jpg
10) cparkredbuds.jpg cparkredbuds.jpg
11) hndogpark.jpg hndogpark.jpg
12) hndogpanorama.jpg

hndogpanorama.jpg

13) intvertedlamp_1.jpg

inverted-lamp_1.jpg

14) dppark3mirror.jpg

dppark3mirror.jpgΒ 

57 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I like the one with the lamp post the best. πŸ™‚

Comment by cj

the one with the lamp was one of my fave’s too until I saw it up there, it is a bit too much. I’ll show you. Maybe starting tomorrow we can put one new up per day then decide. Or mayby snuppy and I will decide. Don’t want it to be too labour intensive!

Comment by One Hot Puppy

i think you should rotate the best few on a regular basis, and allow more pics to come in from time to time.

then again, stability and familiarity are always good, especially for lower life forms such as myself. i like them all. there is no “one” that screams meeee! ,but they’re all very good. the last one sure does have a lot of humans in it. do they bite? are they safe? i’m not sharing my tree.

Comment by Sweet Baboo

and i gotta tell ya… i’m kinda biased towards the “gorillas in the mist” look of the current park.

Comment by Sweet Baboo

First off, my work computer blanks out all the backgrounds on all web sites. Makes for faster surfing, but no one has a clue why. So I can’t see any banners anyway. I do like the the first three “parkish” pics. I do think some more animals would be nice, sans humans. (That includes primates please.:)

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

i like 6, 9, and the last one the best. i think. maybe i need to look at them all a bit more. and, i, for one, don’t mind humans or primates! and i think we need to make sure the banner reflects “good lighting”! i’m still waitin’ for a good “composite” pic… which might make use of a variety of images… ??

i don’t think it’s a bad idea to rotate a few pics–might be fun on a monthly or seasonal basis? just a thought!

nice visual post, especially first thing in the morning!! (still…is this how you spent your anniversary?) sigh πŸ™‚

Comment by snuppytoes

I kinda like the one we have now. Cuz it’s blue! And mysterious! And spooky.

The cliff one scares me because I am not the most sure-footed of the park attendees. Are you telling me something? A pill just isn’t safe around drop offs like that. Sigh. If I have to chose #6.

I do like that oranguntan’s idea of circulating the headers.

I’m tired. Was up late watching Batman on the new movie channel which means…yes, I am in trouble with the Task Masters so I must get to work. Sigh.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

I agree sans humans – this stiletto says we’re cyber here, we don’t need no stinkin humans! πŸ˜‰

That said, I like what you have now, but my favorites are the blooming pink tree and blue sky pictures. I like the lamp post one too.

Have a great day my friends! πŸ™‚

Comment by Sar

I know I don’t like that human in the orange jacket – he just gets in the way. Not that I have anything against humans.

I like the tree, the 4th from the bottom which may be the 9th. Also, like the lamp post.

I like the rotation idea or just trying out and seeing what screams HOME to all.

Snuppytoes – I’m back from the alien abducation – actually – my computer was disabled by my dear son last night. By the time hubby got it together, I had fallen asleep perhaps overwhelmed by our lovely lunch/coffee/taaaaaalk. May I say – you are a fun gal!

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

Hi y’all. I agree with baboo, there is nothing wrong with changing the masthead on some frequency.

I’m going to start putting the options up, and leave them for a day at a time. People can comment on it as they see fit. I think I’ll go in and label these with their file names so there is no confusion when referring to them.

My favorites are the distance shot of the pond in Central park, the one with the lamp, and the one with the blooming red/pink bush. All three of those are cropped out of pictures from NYC’s Central park by the way.

Baboo, I know you don’t like people but in this first one, they are far away so you can still hide. πŸ™‚

Comment by kyahgirl

LL: whew! color me relieved, young lampshade lady… i feared you were rendered speechless by disappointment, and had decided to stay in hiding until the coast was clear and/or i dropped out of the blogosphere, whichever came first! pretty sure i’ve got nothin’ on you in the fun department, sistah! it did my heart good to have a chance to sit and giggle with you all afternoon… that said, i’m quite relieved to know you’ve still got your job! (i worried. i really did. not a lot. but some.)

and, yeah, the guy in the jacket does nothing for me, either, and i’m not crazy about that particular people/dog picture… but, i’m not convinced one doesn’t exist! mind you, i have no problem NOT having folks in the header, i just don’t want any primates feeling left out! (in other words… i think we may need to keep looking!) there are some amazing parks in my area, and i think i’m going to have to take our handy camera out and snap a few pics–which i’ll do once i can walk around without waders (rather wet out there right now)… actually, we have some beautiful shots joel’s taken, i suppose i should see if i can figure out how to send them to kyahgirl!

Comment by snuppytoes

well crap! in the time it took me to post a comment you put up that picture, and, by golly, i like it! (it was one of my original favs anyway). looks pretty dang good to me, kyahgirl! nice going! πŸ˜€

Comment by snuppytoes

Hi snuppy! not to worry. And I think it would be great if you want to take more pictures. ….and learning how to send them to me would be good too…a well used brain will never seize up on you, you ol’ hound dog πŸ™‚

Comment by One Hot Puppy

I do like the idea of rotating pictures for the header. I’ve never been one to stick to a template myself. Sometimes things just look ‘just right’ for a while. I like all the pictures but at this point the one with the lamp is still my favorite.

Comment by cj

I really like number 9

Comment by logo and Ariellaβ„’

YLL: Orange is a favored color for hunters and probably won’t be popular with many of the park attendees.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

so cj, whaddya think?

Comment by One Hot Puppy

I LOVE IT!
Its by far my favorite.

Comment by cj

I’ll leave it up for awhile. I have the original photo and there is one more lamp in it. I can try cropping it so that lamp is on the far right and will show on the side of the blog title.

Comment by One Hot Puppy

i’d like this one (lamp) better if it were flipped (you know, like a mirrored image) cuz i think the site name would show up better against that lovely tree! any way to crop the picture so the foliage is on the left/the lamp & tree on the right? (i don’t know what the whole image looks like, so i’m just askin’!) πŸ™‚

Comment by snuppytoes

You are very talented in the photo shop department. I think you can flip it with the mirror image thing. I have a mac so I dont have the same software as you… but it is possible.

Comment by cj

I had the same thought. I have to wait until I’m at home. πŸ™‚

let me show you the bud one…..

Comment by One Hot Puppy

I think this is my fave… so many choices!

Comment by One Hot Puppy

so, this lamp one was cropped from a different part of the same photo so its not exactly the inverse of the first one.

back later dudes!

Comment by One Hot Puppy

The lavender is pretty too!

Comment by cj

I’m bored.

Comment by BoBo

…did i say that out loud? oops.

Comment by BoBo

*LOL* Make some excitment then…. any small humans running around the office today?

Comment by cj

I’m bummed out. This is suppsed to be Coffee Fest week in my home town…. they decided that they would have coffee fest in the fall now because its too hot to drink coffee 4th of July weekend. What kind of crap-ola is that? We’ve been drinking coffee for YEARS and YEARS on the 4th of July. I want my COFFEE FEST PARADE on Saturday…. I’ve waited my whole life time to bring my girls to it.

Comment by cj

It’s 1234 eastern time for me (my timestamp)

I like the one you have up now. Beautiful.

Also, the seasonal change would be cool. Any of these are good for summer, and then when fall comes in we could have some autumn colors, and winter could be some snowy scene in the park etc. etc.

snuppytoes: don’t worry about me feeling left out please. you guys spend way more time in the park than i do. plus, i am only one monkey. this is a doggy world.

Comment by Sweet Baboo

now ya see why i called you “Sweet” Baboo? πŸ™‚

Comment by snuppytoes

I think I like the redbud the best, but depending on where the crop originally was I think my favorite would be the treelamp if there were a little more to the right of the lamp. Wolves love trees and lamps.

Comment by Walela

Oh and the “river” is actually snow on sagebrush.

Comment by Walela

lots of feedback coming. thanks πŸ™‚

walela-sorry about the bad naming on #2.
As for the lamp one, are you liking the lamp one that is up there now or the lamp in picture #5? I’ve been asked to try and edit/crop/invert that one so the lamp is on the right. Wll try later.

also, you guys, please note that thse photos don’t look quite right in the post, they are chopped off so its still best to have a look at them on the masthead.

I like the idea of having seasonal photos to rotate through. I saw some really nice autumn and winter photos when I was looking around.

Comment by kyahgirl

I’m going to put the sky one up so you can see how it makes a difference to have that right side clear.

Comment by kyahgirl

Oooh, that’s purty. I know I recommended the lamp earlier, but now that I think about it – isn’t one lovely lamp enough? πŸ™‚

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

ha ha ha, you are the supreme lamp in the park g, don’t you worry. Your exalted position is well recognized by the snarksters πŸ™‚

Comment by kyahgirl

Now its getting hard to choose between them!

Comment by cj

anyone concerned that so much beauty and serenity is gonna take the edge off of all things Snarky? maybe we should have something more funky for our masthead, kyahgirl… wolves peeing on trees or cats throwing rocks at lamps (or lamps throwing rocks at dogs!)…ya know, silly and/or sarcastic?

no? okay… i’ll just go lay back down over here, sip on my coffee, read a few more pages of my book… zzzzzzzzzzzz

(seriously, i don’t care one way or the other…just thought i’d try to stir up some trouble) πŸ˜€

Comment by snuppytoes

curtseys, but not too deeply so as to keep the shade intact.

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

snuppy…. I would love it if you were to make a snarky picture! go for it. I still have to talk to miz b about trying to photoshop all our avatars into a photo. wouldn’t that be cool? the trees, the lamp, the dogs, cats, shoes, baboons and more.

Comment by Casper

I don’t know I kind of like the peaceful serene look with the snarky comments. That gives it even more character!

Comment by cj

Oooh I like the idea of me getting to throw rocks and cause a little rukus – a little doggie or cat fight? It’s just my true nature – a divel.

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

*sigh*

Where are the little blue pills I ask you? Where?!?!

The flowers are pretty. They make me smile and not so snarky. Not that I was snarky since I ate outside in my lawn chair, listening to the ipod and the train horn that gave me a heart attack. It is a gorgeous 28C/84F outside and I am inside…There’s something very wrong with that. And what did I do out there, you ask? I wrote!!! Oh and got some more freckles…that one’s new. Ooh, so is that one. Ooh they’re uniting! Permanent tan here I come!!

Comment by Little Blue Pill

oh sure, Casper, go ahead and mock my inability to craft a SuperFantastic picture on Photoshop! that’s just fine. you kids have fun rearranging the masthead… i’ll be right over there…ya can’t miss me, i’ll be the old blob in the sombrero takin’ a nap. lemme know when it’s time to start sniping and/or mocking something/someone *besides* me!!

Comment by snuppytoes

LBP: as an old person, i’d like to gently remind you that today’s cute freckles-morphed-into-a-golden-brown-tan is tomorrow’s wrinkled wreck!! use your sunscreen, young lady… don’t make me come out there and tell you again!! πŸ™‚

Comment by snuppytoes

And don’t forget your shade, er hat. πŸ™‚

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

Snuppy – did you get my e-mail by the way. Reason, I ask is some aol addresses don’t receive from my work e-mail…how was traffic by the way yesterday? Speaking of traffic, everyone should head over to BoBo Banjoey’s and answer his question as to who you would have play you in your own movie/sitcom, Go on now. And if someone could insert the link into a comment (she looks over her shade at Snuppytoes) please do – to Bobo’s that is.

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

I have to wear sunscrean, Snups. Cuz I burn!! Bah.

I lost my shade, er, had, YLL. My awesomely cool Tilley hat is missing. Last I saw it was here at work when I went to park myself on the loading dock then when we went to the zoo on Daddy’s Day…poof…no hat. I loooooooveeee my Tilley hat. It’s cut, it’s padded for those LBP bumped head moments, it protects my solar paneled head, it’s Canadian! Yeah Baby! I miss my Tilley. Sigh. I can’t believe I lost my Tilley hat. AND I can’t find my green Queen’s ballcap. Damn it. I love those hats. All I have is a friend’s hubby’s oil company ball cap and it is stupid. Not for my head at all. It is all wrong. The bill is hard and weird and ugh, I do not like that hat, I do not like it, Sam I Am.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

oh Lampshadin’ Lady… would it be fair of me to include a link to Bobo’s Site in the middle of all this festive re-blogorating? probably not. tho’, it *is* a good question he’s asking today… and a fun one to ponder, at that! my only problem with it is that everyone i’d want to play me is now dead. sigh. i think i was born a few decades too early. or not. what the hell am i saying?!!??

Comment by snuppytoes

LBP: now see? i picture you with a fabulous wide-rimmed straw hat… with a pair of devilishly delicious Chanel shades parked on that perky nose of yours. (i’m glad to know you use the sunscreen… you’ll thank yourself in a few more years!) πŸ™‚

Comment by snuppytoes

Snuppytoes, I believe it’s too late, but that’s just a technicality.

Continue chatting about decorating – which I do love to chat about with a tip of the shade to our current lovely welcome to the shnark, but then start a separate thread? You know, what’s going on in the blogs?

Well LBP, I could scare up a Queens baseball hat for ya – I do live there. Say the word, i’ll be on the lookout. As for the Oil Company one, blue collar is all the rage. Why when I grew up in that existance it was more of all the shame, well that’s me ahead of my time – a trendsetter. I know what you mean though – the bills are too long or too wide or err, people might get the wrong idea. I’ll just stop now.

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

This rig pig hat has a velcro tab thingy (how techy, huh?) *sigh* Here’s the thing with me and velcro…

we don’t mesh well.

It wants to grip then it rips and… *sigh* that damn well hurts!

I miss my Tilley hat. I went to their website and sighed sadly. I was going to say my “lost hat” guarantee expires but I just did math (yes…it took all day. Look – I’m trying to get a reward out of the TB task master. Do you know how hard that is? He’s difficult. Difficult!!) It’s still good!!!!!!! WHoo yeah baby! I can get a new hat! For free! Free, free, free!!! I loooooooove Tilly. Arf…I wonder where my “warrantee” is. Damn. I hope it’s not in the hat’s “secret” pocket.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

i just put up a new link you guys might like. it won’t replace that Tilley hat, LBP, but it might take your mind off it for a second or two! and, as an *added* bonus, no velcro!! πŸ˜€

Comment by snuppytoes

oh, i see ya put my #8 masthead up! the reason i chose it is because i thought it was bright, cheery, and sunny… just as i would envision a stroll in the park! πŸ™‚

*woof*

Comment by Canine Karen

btw, it would be kEwL to change mastheads occasionally, the weather doesn’t stay the same in real life… OOPS! fergot, this isn’t real *real* life or maybe it is. πŸ™‚

woof, woof

Comment by Canine Karen

glad you like it Karen!!
Now, I”m going to switch it…. because I’m a maniac πŸ™‚

Comment by kyahgirl




Leave a Reply

