Central Snark


Oh Gina! by Snuppy
Thursday, 29 June 2006, 8:46am
Filed under: friends

Good Mornin’ Snarkletoes… we have a small, but significant announcement to make on this, the next to the last day of June. Not that this being the next to the last day of June is relevant to anything, mind you, but there it is. Anyway, in hopes of Broadening the spirit and/or intention of Central Snark, we have decided to offer up our spare blog keys to the inimitable Lady of the Lampshade (aka Gina), knowing her to be a fully responsible(ish) and always entertaining individual with impeccable taste (trust us, she’s delicious)!

In addition, in an effort to expand the hormonal horizon just a tad, we are also tossing Bobo (aka Joel) a set of keys, as well. Not that he’s gonna do anything with ’em, mind you, in fact, he’ll probably lose them on any given day (it’s part of that male refrigerator blindness syndrome that afflicts so many men). Still, from time to time we hope he’ll bring some tasty tid-bit to the park for us all to nosh upon. This will also help ensure continued marital bliss for one of us, the one who happens to be married and/or madly in love with Bobo (aka Joel)!

That’s it. Tawk amongst yourselves… some of us have a nail appointment because we have to go to a wedding this weekend, much to the chagrin of the aforementioned beloved Bobo (aka Joel) Oh, and don’t forget to voice your opinion (if you have one) regarding the masthead! I, for one, am very grateful to the lovely and talented Kyahgirl (aka Laura) for all her hard work… in fact, yesterday it was a lot of fun to check-in throughout the day to see the various banners enjoy their 15 minutes of Snark Park Fame! Alrighty then, Carry On!

~ Snuppy

36 Comments so far
Leave a comment

helloooooo? anybody out there this morning…. morning …. morning…. morning……………????? sigh

Comment by snuppytoes

Oooh, I thought I was first! Well, when you gals make up your minds you move on it! I am here to humbly serve in any way that I can. So, first things first, let’s get a different thread going…What kind of mani/pedi to get? I say matching french for the wedding!

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

At first I read the “Oh GIna” sort of to the tune of “Oh Canada”, now I just read it as Oh Giiiiina – where are you?

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

Ooooh! Congrats on the new funkay additions! Sizzlin’ fo sho!!!

Manicures and pedicures? Alas, this bohemian has a hard time with people working on her hands and as for my feet, no one wants to work on them because I get hysterically gigglish and much kicking and noisy and loud shrieking occurs! I once had a whole nail salon in SF giving me a mixture of dirty looks mixed with loud laughter! *sigh* Oh well!!!!

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

YLL- Morning, just passing, hopping through the park. Not much going on, been really busy this week at work and haven’t had a lot of time to get around. Wanted to follow up on the plane ticket comment, which was to NYC of course. Well, back to work, I’ll to stop in later.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

Hi fellow snarksters.
Welcome Gina and Joel to the crew. I’m glad you’ll be able to help Neva things fun and exciting around the park.

Comment by Kyahgirl

Have a good weekend!

Comment by cj

Hey, big news! Lots of new ankles to nip at. Congratulations to Bobo and G. Do they get to wear ranger greens?

Comment by Walela

Welcome to the park maintainence team you two!
By the way, the restroom needs more paper towel and there is a terrible mess just left of the lamp post, thanks!!

The lamp post looks good and makes me think of Narnia, bonus!

Comment by Logoโ„ข and Ariella

I’m working my way backwards…little busy in the office – hate that! Yeah, yeah, always the clean up crew, well, I”’ take care of the paper needs, since well, I’m here first and Joel is used to cleaning up that sort of “mess”.

Walela – ankles are always good but I will shoo you away from mine. And that’s the best part – I look good in green!

cj – WEEKEND! Some people! Well then, have a good one.

Kyach – we’ll be chatting soon (actually saw the typo, but kept it, your new Yiddish name, remember not ch as in church but the throat clearing ch.

GTD: NYC? Where you going to be?

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

speaking of the lamp, is the cropping/editing on this masthead kind of what you guys were asking for yesterday?
I want to try to get the lamp to the edge so it doesn’t overlap the words but its good enough for now. I have other pressing computer issues. I haven’t hardly even tried my new MAC yet! for shame.

Comment by Kyahgirl

YLL-Kyach is fine. We used to camp with a friend who always called her Kyak or Kyah Coyote so Kyach with the yiddish prononciation is ok. I need to learn more Yiddish. One of my perfumista pals from NYC was teaching me useful words like shlepping and the correct use of Oy when I went to visit last year.

Comment by Kyahgirl

Two very important words – when you have to much to schlepp, you will most certainly say Oy! I just talk to Kyach and she sounds Canaaadiannn! Thanks for the tutorial, my bulb is burning brighter as a result!

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

FYI-that’s no. 6 up there now, cparkverygreen.jpg

nice picture but it obscures the words of the title too much.
I vote to reject it.

I’ll be back later.
๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by Kyahgirl

my eyes! my eyes! damn those lights… my eyes! oh.. heh heh. it’s better when your shade’s back on!

so you girls had a little pow-wow? what no three-way? (keep it clean…) kyach, are you still talking to me? cuz if i were you, i’d probably come out here and kick my ass! wait, no i wouldn’t, because i would realize that this is what happens when you agree to enter into a venture with someone as ADD as i am!

the banner is close to what i was talking about yesterday… it’s just too bad the one with the lamp on the left (from yesterday) couldn’t be flipped…then the the blog name would be across the tree, and easier to read (at least in my head that’s how it looks!)

the nails are done… french for the fingers, a lovely deep reddish-pink for the toes (not that cheesy pink i had on tuesday, i never wear that color… but i let “nancy” (aka, real name unpronounceable) pick it out.) hopefully they’ll stay nice through the weekend. as long as my nails look good, will anyone at the wedding notice that i’m wearing jeans and a tee shirt? it’ll be a clean tee shirt. i’ll wear a bracelet, too. and some nice earrings. no? hmmmm. i’m so screwed. (nuthin’ to wear) sigh… can i borrow the lamp shade? ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by snuppytoes

You’re WAITING to use your Mac?!?!? What’s WRONG with you? I didn’t even peel the plastic off my power cord and I was plugging it in when I got the ibook. Please dodn’t tell me it’s a Macbook for I shall whimper and weep with jealousy. A blog I read is a Mac junkie and bought a black Macbook. I *hate* him. Harrumph. Not that there’s anything wrong with my ibook. No, no, no. (sends long distance love to ibook sitting on kitchen table)

A new Mac. I love the smell of a new Mac. *sighs* Yeah. I’m such a Mac Tart.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

re: my above comment… not the banner up now, the banner up 2 minutes ago…y’know? with the lamp on the right? (oy, i can’t keep up!)… re: this one (verydarkparkverygreen), agreed. this one is too dark. too bad, i really liked the picture. but not for this.

Comment by snuppytoes

Jenna, I hesitate to tell you this because I don’t want you to *hate* me. But, well, yes, I did buy a black Macbook.

*runs away*

(oh, and the only way I can explain not doing much yet it, a) when you have something new around the children they can’t help but try to touch it, change it, take it from you and I”m not up for that aggravation, and b) to get a quiet moment with nothing else to do is hard. And mostly, being the anal retentive person I am, I HAVE to read the manuals).

Comment by Kyahgirl

I hope all noticed that *shudders* I did not reread above until just now and noticed my glaring errors. The bulb had gone out for a few minutes there. Ah well, I’m jealous becuase I don’t know enough to be jealous of a mac! Do tell…

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

A Mac Tart? LBP and tart are just two words that don’t belong together.
More haiku?

Just wanted to let y’all know that I am doing well, very happy for the first time since I started posting. I do want you to keep reading though.

YLL- Lost in translation seems to br my MO, I meant, your post got me so riled, that I thought intervention was needed. Thus the plane ticket joke.

SN- I can’t see the pics at work! Arg! Webtv is good for something afterall.

KY-We don’t need no stinking manuals.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

GTD: Okay, now I’m really confused…which post and what intervention? I always find the direct route the fastest way in communicating.

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

lol ๐Ÿ˜€

Comment by snuppy

*sighs wistfully* a black Macbook… (sends love to her ibook because she looooooveeees her ibook but it’s not black!) Manual? You don’t need to read the manual for a Mac. Ridiculous!

You plug it in and it goes “BONG!” (best sound in the world…I was devestated when I lost my “BONG!” so I called Apple and they gave me back my “BONG!”) then…this is the best part…it walks you through the steps. Yep. You just enter and click and presto-chango, you’re operating a Mac. It’s glorious. Spectacular. A rush. A high. It’s damn near orgasmic! I mean…I got really super-duper excited when I inserted 1GB of ram into my ibook. Lawdy, lawdy. But, yeah, the “BONG!” mmm I love the “BONG!”

One thing: you know those stupid Apple stickers sitting in your box? Peel one off right now then smooth it lovingly over the glowing Apple on the lid of your laptop because that’ll be THE FIRST that gets scratched up. I sobbed when I saw the slice in my apple. Then I covered it with a sticker and felt much better. Especially since there are two mondo scratches over my sticker! Phew. Oooh I have to send you something!

Maybe I’ll appease my need for a black Macbook and get a black Nano. Oooh a Nano ipod. (swoons)

Oh yeah, GDB – Mac Tart.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

okay…so now i have Mac envy. hmmmm… we have an anniversary coming up in August… honey? (he seems to be AWOL today…)

Comment by snuppy

YLL- Sorry! Your last post about Mr. Sissorhands and can this marriage be saved. You wrote so convincingly that I was worried, even though I knew better. So my thought was I should come to NYC, to talk you both off the ledge.
Am I off the hook now? Please?

LBP-When FF and I get a computer, maybe you can lobby for a Mac.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

GDB: Of course, but you should know never to approach a man with sharp scissors in his hand! Unless you want a hair cut then sit right down. We serve lattes as well – not made by my hands, but his. The damn machine won’t work for me. It’s a c-o-n-spriacy!

Okay LBP – can you please explain the difference between a MAC and a non-Mac, err windows, er regular laptop computer. What are the differences in the basics? Please don’t say 20 years which would be about our age difference I’m thinking.

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

Hm…YLL. I was, well, raised on Macs. Dad brought home an Apple IIe and it was computer looooooveeee at first sight. I fight them easier to use than a PC. When I was in school, we used PCs and every single machine crapped out on me. They knew I hated them. Fewer viruses as Mac users love & adore their computers. Yeah they’re pricier but my cousin has replaced her tower twice, had to pay for overhauls because of viruses.

Plus they have really cool commercials right now

http://www.apple.com/getamac/

Plus they’re sexier. I mean…kablam! If I were a computer, I’d so do a Mac.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

Thanks for the tutorial! I’ll have to check out the link from home. They definitely, from an aesthetic standpoint catch my eye. You’re right – they’re sexier and ya get what ya pay for.

Ciao for now park buddies!

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

LBP – Mac? I was under the impression – now this is an OLD impression, that Macs were somehow limited in functionality. Why else would every business i ever worked for have PC’s? (then there was the whole word perfect microsoft word battle…) Please satiate this little kities suriosity – technology has lepsed in our house, with the WEBTV (think caveman…) we are extremely limited. (we don’t even have cell phones, or a dvd player – don’t even KNOW what an ipod is for! Harrumph!)

Comment by Gone to the Dogs Ate My Bunny

BLAST!!! GTD used my link last – the above is from FF, not GTD – Oooooo that man!

Comment by I'm Feline Frisky

FF: PCs are cheap. It’s more affordable to buy cheap crap than expensive gems. ๐Ÿ™‚ Plus software. Mac Software is $$$$. The majority of software out there (plus games) are for PCs. but with the new PC compatible Macs that may change. And I’m not sure. People say “Oh you must be in an artsy fartsy field if you use a Mac (why yes…yes I am) but we use them because it’s easy not because we’re artsy fartsy.

I myself have no idea why anyone WOULDN’T use a mac but…I’m a Tart so…whatever. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comment by Little Blue Pill

HI FF, what I learned from investigating is that the Mac operating system is more stable than what runs on PCs (DOS with Windows on top). I’ve restaged my desktop PC three times in the last two years due to either viruses or system failures. From everything I can gather, that just doesn’t happen with Macs. For one thing, all the nasty people are out there making viruses and trying to break into Microsoft product.

As for expense. I think I paid more for my Macbook than I would for a similar PC notebook but, the core software that comes with the Macbook will allow me to do everything I need to do. I don’t need to buy anything for photos, calendars, dvds, movies, mail, etc.
I did by “Office’ for Mac because I do a lot of stuff in Word and Excel and like those tools.

Comment by Kyahgirl

oh, and I just put #1 dppark3.jpg up in the masthead to see. I’m going to try inverting it so the dark part is under the words.

Comment by One Hot Puppy

yeah! it looks much better when the part behind the words is darker… cool!

i’d love to join in on this conversation… i confess i’m now intrigued with the Mac and may have to see in i can’t finagle one out of my sweetie sometime in the near future! if it’s easy, i like it! by the way, are you doing the masthead pictures on your Mac now? or are little ones still trying to check out mommy’s cool toy? ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by snuppy

no, I’m still using my PC. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by kyahgirl

so… maybe by this weekend you’ll get to play around with Mac? (we won’t tell Ron!) i admire your patience. i might have had to send the kids to the neighbors in order to sit and drool over something so cool! ah well… i think it’s been well established that you are a better woman than i! (still… even with the PC, the artwork looks great!)

ruh-roh… time to go fix dinner. let’s see… shall we go with spaghetti? or grilled cheese? decisions decisions…

i’ll talk to ya tomorrow, girlfriend! ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by snuppy




Leave a Reply

