Central Snark


Friday Fun by Snuppy
Friday, 30 June 2006, 8:04am
Filed under: funny..., FYI (ish)

WE here at the Snark Park always enjoy the opportunity to laugh so hard we wet our pants/shoot milk out of our noses/split our collective guts. So when Bobo told us (one of us, the one of us who sleeps with him) about Ze Frank’s newest project, we leapt to the computer, clicked on the link, and laughed until we wept (that’s right, we leapt and wept). Apparently Ze is doing a daily “newscast” that’s got the New York Times calling him “the funniest man doing a daily 2 minute(ish) newscast on the internet”. In the spirit of full disclosure, you should know that we just made up that quote, because we were too lazy to look up the article the Times just did on this guy, but that’s beside the point. The point, for we have one, is that these presentations are very funny. Especially since readers are allowed to edit his scripts. Which means, basically, that anything they write, he (Ze) reads. An-y-thing. So, here’s the link, hope ya enjoy. If not, don’t blame us, blame the New York Times. After all, they’re the ones who called him the “funniest man doing a daily 2 minute(ish) newscast on the internet.” Sort of.

Ze Frank’s SHOW *this is now updated to link to today’s show, 6/30/06

NOW, for those of you with short attention spans (and you know who I am), you might prefer watching Ze Franks Sing-A-Long, which is, in our humble opinion, hilarious. And you can quote us on that.

Happy Friday, Snarklettes!

~ Snuppy

43 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ze (pronounced ZA with a long A sound…short for Hosea) is amazing on many levels…a scientist (degree in neuroscience) with a totally gonzo sense of humor.

Happy Friday one and all…looking forward to the long weekend ahead except for our trek north for a wedding…yeesh. I pretty much escaped that first round of wedding madness. You know, the period in your life when all your friends were getting married…I’m pretty sure it was for that reason alone that I limited my circle of friends…or, maybe not…maybe it wasn’t my choice to have few friends…yikes, won’t go there. Anyway, now we’re into the second stage of wedding madness where your friends children are getting married and, despite the fact that you really don’t know the kids all that well you’re obligated to go for your friend’s sake. For this reason we have effectively severed relations with all friends with grown or near grown children. Sorry…it’s just not worth the hassle…what do you mean anti-social? 🙂

Comment by BoBo

anti-social?? you? heh heh. y’know, this is why the blogosphere is a good place for us, right? no going to anyone’s weddings here! unless gina’s kids get married soon. then we’re screwed. (just kidding gina… we’ll be HAPPY to drive out for the marital festivities… just don’t expect joel to dance.) thanks for the head’s up on Ze’s newest venture, by the way, bobo… a nicer person would have let YOU put up this post. too bad you’re not married to a nicer person. xo (~snuppy)

Comment by One Hot Puppy

But I’d still like clarification on the one that Joel is sleeping with? Of course, of course, I know.
I am so happy when people don’t invite us to weddings/bar mitzvahs – and we like to dance, but I can do that in the comfort of my own home – barefoot.
This effin office of mine – I can’t play sound files. grrrrr, but I am laughing already and would like to stock up on copies of the book, what was it – Someday You and I will Die. That sounds like a great bedtime strory, soon to surpass Goodnight Moon.

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

slow risers? early vacationers? ¿dónde están todos nuestros amigos? sigh

Comment by snuppy

oops… spoke too soon. my bad! and i’m so sorry there’s no audio in your office, lampish-girl… here, this’ll keep ya busy for a minute or two:

CLICK HERE

or

HERE

or

HERE for something fun to do! (maybe i’ll put one or 2 of these up…) 🙂

Comment by snuppy

Are you sure Ze isn’t an escaped mental patient?

Comment by Sweet Baboo

…ahh but couldn’t the same be said of all of us?

Comment by BoBo

I’m thinking many people have started the holiday weekend today…the commute was actually tolerable today, always a sign that many…smarter than I…have taken the day off. Hopefully the same will hold true when it’s time to make my way home, although I fear that many will be heading out of the city for a weekend in the country. Oh well…just hoping there’s no repeat performance of yesterday evening’s mini-hurricane in Manhattan, which hit precisely as I was pulling out of the parking garage and heading towards the West Side HIghway.

Comment by BoBo

hi snarksters…just popping in for a few minutes. Today is a stat holiday for me (in lieu of Canada day tomorrow) so I’m off to party with the children. Before I go I”ll redecorate again. 🙂 Happy Friday to you all.

Comment by kyahgirl

Holy Cow Batman…the trees bloomed all of a sudden!

Comment by BoBo

kyahgirl: i noticed on the calendar that tomorrow was Canada Day, and i was gonna ask if you had the day off! yay! we looooove days off. (as opposed to “off” days, mind you) the header looks lovely! (it really does) can’t say i’m a fan of the green trim, tho’. is that just me?

have a fun day, girlfriend! hope you find time (and quiet) to play with that hot new toy of yours!! (i’m talking about her Mac!!) 😀

Comment by snuppy

Bobo – that was a good one…wait, it’ll be snowing by noon.

Uhh, not to sound uninformed, but isn’t tomorrow Saturday? Do you normally work on the weekends Kyah?

I’m thinking those Canadians are so amiable, they even accept their Holidays on a Saturday. In any event, all rise for the playing of “Oh Canada!”

Yeah, her Mac. Have fun!

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

Just read Kyach’s #8 above, no need to answer. Stat holiday – very cute.

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

Are we the only L’s here today?

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

i just changed the color back to “orange spice”, but if you kids prefer the green… i’ll change it back. also, i added the calendar. do you like it? or do you want that off, too. this is the extent of what i can and will do with the look of this blog. unless i figure out how to add pictures. (no. i won’t do that. one artistic administrator is enough, right? right!!) ~ Luppytoes

Comment by One Hot Puppy

…are you calling us “losers?” Is that to imply that the Park is merely a place to go when you have no other, better destination? A veritable (love that word just don’t get to use it much) alternative to nothingness…Is that what your saying YLL???

As for your question…uh, yeah…guess so (he said now feeling very conspicuous).

Comment by BoBo

comment #15 was directed as a response to comment #13…don’t want any of us “L’s” to get confused.

Also…are we sure that’s “orange spice” and not yellow? kidding.

Comment by BoBo

yes, but I’m much more adorable than that guy.

*picks nose*

Comment by Sweet Baboo

yes yes… no losers here. baboo’s more adorable than that guy. lamps, bobos, hurricanes and snowfalls. but what about the fucking calendar??? in or out?? in or out??? IN or OUT??? ~ snuppy-luppy

Comment by One Hot Puppy

the calendar is magnificent.

Comment by BoBo

thank you, my darling bobo. so are you. sorry doug left you out of his comment the first time. i’m sure it has nothing to do with you and/or your “j” name. did you remember to mark your territory after you left your comment? hee hee! xox

ack!! why am i here? i have too much stuff to do. i’m logging off. you guys (kyah?) can change the colors and/or calendars all you want. now that i know where this stuff is, i can always change it back! bwaaaa-haaa-haaaa-haaaaa! (gulp. don’t know where that came from… ) ~ snuppers

Comment by One Hot Puppy

whew! that’s better.

Comment by snuppy

See, there you go BoBo – reading in. I meant Lesbians!

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

Okay, the cayenne calendar couldn’t be lovelier. And, no I am not a lesbian – not that there’s anything wrong with that. If any are here, feel free to come out and play. It is an open park – can’t see the rainbow banner? It’s right behind the blooms.

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

We’re the only losers here – us and the gorilla. Wanna banana?

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

not lesbians yet. doesn’t mean i’m not looking at funky hawaiian prints for my muu-muu.

Comment by snuppy

Canada is in the house, yo!!

I’ve been sacrificing myself for the blog and watching beer commercials. So I haven’t been working much which is terrible as the day ends in 2.5 hours. WHOOOOOOO!!!! Long weekend!!!!

Ze is very funneeeee but he’s no jiggin’ Matt. I’ve decided Matt is my new crush. Think he’ll go to the Stampede BBQ next week with me? I bet he does a mean hoe-down. Yee-haw.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

LBP: somehow, i can see Matt doin’ that hoe-down! bet you could send him an email (hey, from his bio, i think he lives in connecticut, if he’s close, i’ll track him down for ya!) still… Ze is a very talented/funny guy. i adore the sing-a-long, which totally appeals to the ADD girl in me!

Comment by snuppy

must be nap time in the park, eh?

Comment by BoBo

LBP – you should send him an e-mail! I bet he would dance right on over for the Stampeaque! GO ahead!

That’s right Snuppy – the muu-muu’s.

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

I read he was in Seattle, Snuppy. That’s only, like, a 2 hour flight. Ahh just had my daily dose of Matt. Next up…the Animator vs Animation but only after I do some ass kicking in Adobe Illustrator. Sigh. Grrr.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

Hmph! Someone needs to have a talk with Loverboy! He has banned me, BANNED me I say from opening any videos and the like online! My laptop crashed, nasty virus you see, and the only thing I did differently was watch something on Youtube and so…

*sigh*

So no playing and banter for me, but that’s ok because I am bent on getting these two trouble makers shipped off to bed, TO BED I SAY! The best part of the day fo sho!

So off I go to make pasta! Anyone want some?

Dearest and loveliest Snuppy de mi corazon, I will have an email ready for you tonight, once these lil’ bohemians are shipped off! Many links are ready to be sent your way! OM BABY OM! 😉

Lovelovelove you much and we’ll “talk” soon!! Besos,

The chick behind the catsuit and the frizzy bohemian hair! 🙂

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

Hi CYM…bye CYM. Very quiet at the office today as I plot my escape.

Comment by BoBo

snickers…I’m plotting mine by about 3:00 – if I’m not back here today, wishing all a good weekend and Happy Canada/Independence Day which I will spend -surprise surpise – without one iota of.

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

2:30pm and I wonder how much longer I need to be here today (work not Central Snark) to keep up appearances and all. For one of the first times in my professional life I have a staff that actually stays around as long, if not longer, than I do…although, they seldom arrive as early.

Kinda like being here on a Saturday…although not quite.

Comment by BoBo

Wouldn’t you be the king if you gave the ole’ clap of hands – let’s call it a day thing at 3:00?

Comment by Yo Lampshade Lady

they wouldn’t leave! I don’t know what’s wrong with these people but they like being here…clearly they have no lives, which is a prerequisite for hiring, but nonetheless. They would merely wish me a good weekend…joke about me working a half day and go about their business. God bless them! Good crew. I’m used to making others feel guilty about not matching up to MY tireless dedication…wierd.

Comment by BoBo

I did manage to cancel the afternoon meeting, however.

Comment by BoBo

I used to work at a tourist resort, way back when, and though I was supposed to stay on until 7pm I always managed to sneak out by 3pm, all my work done… an American work ethic works wonders in lazy Spain! Most people used to stand around and hang out, not me… I had a friend staying with so after 3 pm I would go hom eand nap, get up at midnight, party until 7 am and go home freshen up for work, leave, back at 3 pm and so on… for 3 damn weeks!!! AY! That is probably the extent of my “crazy partying” youth (well all it entailed was drinking until the buzz and then just dancing the night away)! Seriously done!

Off I go yet again!

Hi Bobo! Bye Bobo! Sending you as much escape-as-soon-as-you-can-so-you-can-go-home-to-your-lovely-wife positive energy as I can muster! *sigh* I chose the wrong profession… I should have been a witch instead!

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

I shall hum the Mission: Impossible theme song for you BoBo.

I have already escaped. An hour ago and am now home contemplating a nap.

Then…back to work with writing. It’s a Hard Knocked Life for me

Comment by Little Blue Pill

LBP – thanks for the sentiment although you have now placed the “Hard Knocked Life” song in my head complete with singing and dancing Annies…oy vey!! Trying to replace with Mission: Impossible theme…let’s see how does that go…oh almost had it.

Comment by BoBo

fyi: i just changed the Ze Frank link…since he did a new show for today. of course, since everyone’s gone home for the day, and no longer online, i believe i’m actually talking to myself. and, since i already *know* what i did… all of this is moot.

nevermind.

Comment by snuppy

Snuppy- Did you just say you added a moat to the park? What else did I miss?

Have a great weekend y’all.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny




Leave a Reply

