Central Snark


Hark! I think I’ve found a snark! by Snuppy
Monday, 3 July 2006, 9:20am
Filed under: funny...

Lady of the Lampshade here and because there are none to be found in the park today, I had to search one out and here I’ve found one in Chapter 8 of Lewis Carroll’s book, The Hunting of the Snark…

http://www.literature.org/authors/carroll-lewis/the-hunting-of-the-snark/chapter-08.html

A little fun for a sloooow Monday morning.

45 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Just wanted to put to a vote – Central Boojum anyone?

Comment by lady of the lampshade

Hello everyone, sorry I didn’t hop around on the weekend, but on a pain scale of 10, I had an 8. Spent Sunday asleep most of the afternoon and evening. At work today, very hot and humid, get to be off tomorrow though. Generous I know!

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

Oh, and the fact that I am actually first somewhere without benefit of coffee and have created a post – I can go back to bed now.

Comment by lady of the lampshade

YLL- Not fair!

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

well done, LL!! i love “the hunting of the snark” and think it makes for excellent fodder! (not many people know such a thing exists… or, at least it did in the mind of Lewis Carroll!) go back to bed. or stay up. but, by all means… DRINK COFFEE!! (we’ll be heading out for TGSNM’s as soon as i can get a certain bobo out of bed!)

happy monday, girlfriend!!

glad you’re back to hoppin’ around, too, GDB! πŸ™‚

Comment by snuppy

GTD: Obviously, we posted at the same time, otherwise people are saying “Why that YLL, ever the callous sophisticate, stepping over that bunny in pain!”.

That does not sound like a good way to spend a weekend. Hope you’re feeling a bit better today. Remember, drink lots of water (that’s my best mothering advice). Mommy, my tummy hurts, remember to drink lots of water. Mommy, I feel off the swing – remember to drink lots of water. So not true, but water is important and especially in Florida and humidity. Feel better furry friend.

Comment by lady of the lampshade

Snuppy – I neeed coffee and Scissorhands has gone off to do a few errands (he of the doesn’t drink coffee anymore variety and picking up milk being one of them thar errands so that he could make me a home made latte cause every time I use the machine, it ceases)! It’s enough to make me get dressed and trek off in search of the commercial variety. But as lil boy is in school, lil girl is savoring the luxury of play without interference so I wouldn’t be able to blast her out the play room with a firecracker.

Sponsor’s Note: This site does not endorse the use of fireworks, firecrackers, loud noises. Any mention thereof is that of the poster.

Comment by lady of the lampshade

Thanks mummy, er YLL. I still hurt a lot, CFS joint pain, dizzy and very fatigued. I do drink a gallon of water a day at work cause I am outside.

BTW- If you refresh before posting comments, it will load any new comments in.

I am sorry I have not been a better friend these last several weeks.

Fireworks! They sell them all over the place down here, but it’s not legal to set then off!

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

Lady G, as per your comment in the previous post (cause I don’t know if people go back to them so I will write you here!), I cannot give that address in a public forum as it pertains to our work etc… here in Spain and would reveal my identity as well as much personal info but I will gladly email it to you!

I have, however, been working on another blog (I am shyly going to announce in my next post, whenever that may be) where I will go to when I am in a more poetic mood and where I will eventually put up some of my work from back in my college days although be warned, they are, in my opinion (though much to the glee of my fragile ego my professors did love them) in need of work and tweaking and I am hoping that by putting it up it might get me off my ass and into some action with my writing… (I just have one piece up about this rosary I own that used to belong to the Dalai Lama… the site is here… not meant as self-promotion but mentioning and not linking to it feels like fishing for questions about it and I am not…)

Now, daughter has a low fever so forgive my not having read the link above, I will do so as soon as I get the chance to! Off I go to load her up on some homeopathy!

Neva! You are delightful and thank you for the beauitful message! I hope to email you tonight after class, if there is not too much kiddy drama (last night was chaos so I have my fingers crossed!)!!! I do love you oh so mucho! Besos!!!

Me…

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

GTB: I am sorry to hear about your CFS pain. ibproffen do anything for you? I have fibromyalgia and usually the ibproffen and a massage do wonders. I hope it passes soon.

Its a big ol day here at my house. I am wishing I didn’t have to be here. I saw the ortho today and spent 11/2 hours waiting for him in the lobby. I was in his office for less than a hour but I got a nifty pink and purple striped cast for a whopping 6-8 weeks. Yippie. Perhaps I’ll let Thea decorate it for me. My MIL is coming over later and wants to go to the track… which is the last place she should be, and not excatly the place I want to be when its 90+ degrees out. Uggg.

Comment by cj

Thanks Snuppy, I didn’t mean to ignore you last time, I think my brain is fried!

Thanks CJ- Bummer about the ankle. Is anyone going to wait on you? I can’t swallow pills, bad esaphogous, so I chew aspirin. Doesn’t do much for pain.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

CYM: Hope the little one is feeling better – go take care of her. That’s just a silly little link to a chapter from a Lewis Carroll book. Thank you – I’ll send you a little e-mail in case you don’t have my e-mail on hand. Oh, I went over to your new place – just beautiful. The whole site is going to be magical. Thanks for giving your park buddies a preview.

CJ: that’s no way to start your summer. Wishing you a speedy recovery.

Comment by lady of the lampshade

Good morning everyone! One cup of coffee down and a TGSNWM with my name on it awaiting our arrival at S’bucks.

CJ – speedy recovery
GTB – feel better
CYM – horrible news about summer school (I can say this because of the overwhelming empathy I feel)…our kids used to spend much of their summer on the west coast with their father…it was a life saver (for both parties I am sure).

Comment by joel

They obviously didn’t know the right place to look for snarks. Which one of you ate the Baker?

Brian-so sorry to hear about your painful weekend. I’m amazed how well you function with CFS, its an awful affliction to be sure.

Congrats YLL on your first post. I’m so proud of you!! πŸ™‚

Comment by kyahgirl

“Aww shucks Kyahgirl” the lampshade lady blushes underneath her shade as she kicks at the ground. Gotta go get my tresses taken care of and I don’t want to be late with my stylist guy πŸ™‚

Comment by lady of the lampshade

CYM: lovelovelove the new site! spiritual *and* sexy (you are all woman!)… love that you’re showcasing that side of your amazing creativity, too. can’t wait to read more!! much love! hope your little one feels better soon. xoxox

CJ: so was it a break? (i guess if you’re wearing a cast it must be)… soooooooooooo sorry! that’s no way to spend a holiday weekend. so, go to the track with your MIL….and pick some winners! (what the heck, have fun where you can find it!)

GDB: no problem… i’m just sorry to know you’ve not been well. what about taking pain relievers in liquid form??

kyahgirl: how was the rest of your weekend?? and how’s that Mac coming along?? Casper looks gorgeous, by the way… you do excellent (and impressive) work! xox

LL: after seeing your comment on WA, i see you’re in a lewis carroll mode today! (which i like very much!) such a weird guy (i read his biography, and all i can say is ewwww…) but he did have an amazing imagination!! xox

bobo? bobo? where’s bobo? uh-oh… in the car, waitin’ for me! TGSNWM’s await!

Comment by snuppy

I take none of the credit – Minka started off at Doug’s today quoting Jabberwocky and I just jumped off from there. Who else could do spiritual and sexy so well, but our very own MizB?

Laughing because I was going to suggest bobo might be in the car – I was paying attention!

Comment by lady of the lampshade

You know how hard it is play on the swings by yourself?

I swung on the swings for awhile,
I played in the sandbox for a time,
I hung on the rings looking around,
no other animals could be found.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

Has anyone seen Superman yet? We are considering venturing out tomorrow to a movie…I know big step for Snuppy and me since our last movie was War of the Worlds a year ago. Movies on the 4th are a bit of a tradition for us…going once a year also becoming a tradition. Needless-to-say, when you see one movie a year it better be a good one, eh?

Comment by BoBo

Superman? or shall we save our annual trek to the theater for “Pirates of the Caribbean”?? xoxo

Comment by snuppytoes

GDB: i figure the park will fill back up once it cools off a bit… or after everyone gets back from their vacations! (some people, apparently, get to do such things!) πŸ™‚

Comment by snuppytoes

Snuppy-Well I am taking a vacation July 17th, but no plans. Movies? Not much out there I want to see. Besides, they don’t make em like de used to! The last movie we saw was “Mrs Henderson Presents”, before that was “8 Below”. I take it you found BoBo and the coffee house ok?

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

Hello all, hope you have a safe holiday. GTD !!! blogger changed the comment format – will not accept ! argh!

Comment by I'm Feline Frisky

Bobo-

Cons:
I just saw Superman. Be prepared for a long movie, it’s 2 and half hours. It’s good, the special effects are great, the plot is very comic bookish as expected. If you are a reader of the comic books or nostalgic of the old Superman movies you may be disappointed by a couple of things they’ve done to make Superman more politically correct. Bosworth makes a great Lois Lane, although a lot more abrasive, selfish, and independent than the original. Personally, I think they overdid her a little, she just wasn’t very likeable as she was in the others.

Pros:
The new superman actor does a great job of being like Clark Kent as we know him, in some cases even funnier, and when he puts on the cape, it’s awesome. Spacey is a great Lex. There’s a surprise in the end too.

Go see it.

Comment by Sweet Baboo

Sorry folks- Technical difficulties – GTD, I will call you – uable to communicate vis Blogger D

Comment by I'm Feline Frisky

I think both look like good summer movies – that’s a tough one. Hey maybe me and the mister will have to get out to a movie sans kids our last movies for the Household go: Cars, Over the Hedge, March of the Penguins, Because of Wynn Dixie, Curious George, oh there was one other, riveting, I tell you. To think I lived in Manhattan and went to all the movies I wanted once upon a time…it’s come to this…

The last “grown-up” movie: I really have to get back to you on that one.

Comment by lady of the lampshade

I saw Superman on Saturday. :)That is where my mini vacation went wrong. I tripped on the diaperbag when getting Grace out of the car seat at my Grandma’s . She was going to watch Gracie for me while I took Thea, and my two nephews to see Superman. It was an alright movie. Nate and Thea love super hero things these days so I figured it’d be a nice thing for the kids to do together. (As at the lake all they wanted to do was fight over who sat on Grandpa’s lap.) I watched the superman movies when I was their age and had a fondness for Superman. I wasn’t sure if I would like a “new guy” in his place but he fit in amazingly well. I wasn’t all that fond of the “new” Lois but that is life. All in all it was a nice way to spend time with the kids.

Comment by cj

Baboo: That was a thorough review – well done. Yes, I heard that Superman no longer stands for the “American Way”, just truth and justice?

Comment by lady of the lampshade

I am looking forward to taking my older kiddo to see Pirates of the Caribbean. I really liked the first one, hopefully the second will be as good. So I better find me a sitter for Friday night so I can bring the hubby too.

Snuppy: Yep I knew it was a break as soon as it happened. That sound is so gross. Anyway it was a hairline fracture at the base of my fibia and a clean break of my non weight bearing bone. I have a pin in my ankle from a bad break playing college ball – my ankle was too swollen for them to cast it on Saturday because I went to the movies before the doctors office. Not the best way to start my summer off but, I have a walking cast and I hope it doesn’t slow me down too much. πŸ™‚

Well I am off for an afternoon date with the husband. We’re going to grab a nice bite to eat and head over to the horse track. Hopefully I’ll do well enough to purchase some ice cream with my winnings! *LOL*

Comment by cj

Lady of the Lampshade: Yeah it was just “truth and justice” this time…. did he say in the previous movies “the American way”? I don’t recall that. But when he said the line it struck me as odd too.

Comment by cj

Bye y’all, this bunny is limping home a couple of hours early. Still feeling bad and now with the intense heat feeling *sick*. I hate this disease!

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

Haven’t seen Superman yet. I’m not sure how I feel about a Metropolis without a Calgary Transit bus going by, the downtown TD Bank, the base of the Calgary Tower, Esso Plaza. I remember when we saw Sup 3. I stopped and looked at a concrete planter then gazed up the glass front of a building. “Superman was here. Right here,” I said, before I twirled around and around, climbed onto the planter, gave my parents a heart attack when I jumped off it a la Superman. It’s a bird…it’s a plane…it’s crashing fast towards the sidewalk! Please note: Wee Little Blue Pills cannot fly. Of course I wasn’t wearing a cape so who knows… And correct me if I’m wrong but wasn’t Cyclops in Superman?

Oooh Pirates. Yes, yes, yes. We’re going to see that when we’re in Cali. In fact…I think I’m going to pop that into the DVD right now. We were talking about the movie last night and there was much eye rolling when best friend and I began to go: “You cheated!” “Pirate.” We do this a lot. We’re fans. Savvy?

Feel better GDB.

I had ice cream for the first time in years this weekend. Yum-meeeee. And no kickin’ of my ass afterwards. Sweeeeeeeet. Which is probably a terrible discovery because I’m now contemplating a big ol’ vat of triple fudge brownie overload. Damn.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

Excellent review Sweet Baboo…my guess is we’ll see it, although I think I too am more excited about Pirates.

Lampshade…at least you’re getting out, albeit to see kids movies, but…

Comment by BoBo (aka Joel)

Lampshade and CJ:

To be precise, in the movie it was, “Truth, Justice… and all that other stuff”.

As for Superman saying that in the other movies, he didn’t. It’s the slogan in the comics. What upset me was the fact they just kind of crapped on it. “The American way” was replaced by “and all that other stuff” (said very sarcastically)- kind of a slap in the face to any kid growing up reading the comics. They should have left it out like the other movies if they felt it was politically incorrect, or not “fitting with the current times”. We’ve done quite well without the slogan in the movies up to this point, why bring it in and slander it like so? I can only be left with the conclusion (which is only speculation) that someone felt it necessary to make a negative statement about Superman’s American barrel chested freedom fighter origins. It’s cool to hate America these days.

There are couple other things I noticed as well, but they’re subtle, mst notably with Lois.

Still a good movie. It’s Superman. It’s almost obligatory.

Comment by Sweet Baboo

Sweet Baboo: i am a life-long fan of Superman… so i have mixed emotions about any changes made to the basic storyline. that said, it’s hard for me to imagine the new lois lane can be any worse than the last one (seriously… margot kidder??? give me a break. she sucked.). and i adore kevin spacey, so i can’t wait to see him play lex luthor (parker posey’s character looks interesting, too!) GrEAT review, by the way, and thanks!!

LBP: oh… i am *such* a fan of that stupid Pirate movie. not sure why (okay… i lovelovelove johnny depp). it’s just so campy and fun! one of those movies i have to watch every time it comes on. (i know, weired, huh?) needless to say, i can’t wait for the new one! (fortunately, joel liked the 1st one, too)

will you be in los angeles when you see it? because there is a fabulous theater in Century City i highly recommend (high backed lounge chairs… so comfy!) have fun!!

LL: bring those kids out here… we’ll watch ’em for ya! wait… isn’t that what MIL’s are for?? what’s the point of all that salami schlepping if you can’t snag a favor once-in-awhile?? xox

CJ: ouch. seriously… OUCH! (so sorry you’re hurt)

Comment by snuppytoes

LBP: you jumped off a concrete planter *without* your cape?? what were you thinking?? silly girl! (hope you weren’t hurt) xo

Comment by snuppytoes

Snuppy: We’re not going to be in LA. That would be sweet. We’re going to see it at the Spectrum in Irvine. We will, however, be a couple of cheesy tourists on a bus touring through Hollywood. I AM stalking Vin Diesel after all. Mmm Viiiiiin. Where was I?

I was thinking I could fly!! The back of my faux cap (jacket) was grabbed before I could land less than gracefully, Snuppytoes. Hurrah for dads. Then he had to retrieve my brother who was JUMPING from planter to planter yelling the theme song out “Duhn-dunh-da-dunh” (and so forth). Dad then vowed never to take his kids to anymore superhero movies as it “turned them stupid”. I wonder if he knew what we did after watching James Bond movies. Probably just as well he never asked. The neighbor’s garages, by the way, made excellent “shark tanks” while Bro is cackled evilly as Kananga while Solitaire (me) and James Bond (neighbor) are lowered down…with jump ropes tied together (using the balcony railing on top of one garage for leverage). I’m really surprised nothing stupid happened because our James Bond was a biiiiiiig kid. Absolutely no one (narrows eyes dangerously) is to tell Mama Pill about this, a’right? No one.

Yes, surprisingly, I DID survive my childhood. Why do you all keep asking?

Snuppy: “Deeeeead Meeeeen Teell Noooooo Taaaaaaales.”

Comment by Little Blue Pill

Baboo: What the? “And all that other stuff”? That’s so friggin’ wrong. I can just see them circling their hands in a yadda-yadda-yadda motion. I can understand them keeping the “American Way” out because it’s an international movie but “And all that other stuff”???? Harrumph. Superman isn’t about “all that other stuff”. Okay, sure he’s no Batman, but, damn, he’s the bomb!!

“And all that other stuff”. Pfffft.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

LBP: in between my “oh-my-gods” i am laughing my ass off! sorry you won’t be near the star-studded Century City, but at least you’ll be going to a nice theater. AND stalking Vin Diesel… so that’s something! seriously, hope you have a great time!

and, regarding all those escapades? “mum’s” the word. i promise. otherwise i’m sure i’ll be the Deeeeeeeead Woooooman Tellllling Noooooo Taaaaaaaaaales. and that just won’t be good for me. not this week, anyway! πŸ™‚

Comment by snuppytoes

hey, Baboo? totally off subject here, but i forgot to thank you for choosing my lyrics last week on shayna’s site! i know there wasn’t a lot of competition, but still, THANKS!! πŸ˜€

Comment by snuppy

I had someone ask, Snuppy, if I make this childhood stuff up. You’d think so, huh? But nope. I’d write a book but then all the escapades would be unleashed and Mom would lecture, lecture, lecture. Sigh.

I just looked at the clock and realized it’s 7 pm. So far I have read two books….hubba-hubba, and done not much else. Have laundry to do. Writing to be done. Food to eat. And I just want to get back to reading about the yummy Navy SEAL hero with his dark, tortured past just looking for love. Oo oo (waves hand like Horeshack) pick me, pick me! Hoo-yah. The sex scenes…hubba-hubba. How come stuff like that never happens to me on my desk? Harrumph.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

Seriously Snup Doggy Dog – but alas no, my MIL goes to bed by 8:00 – 9:00 the latest – very old world. That, so she can be up making “keeflie – hunagrian word (loosely) for a croissant for the kids at 4:00 a.m. – yes makes sense to me. That said, any time during the day we need to drop them off, she is there. She loves these kids beyond reason. Above keeflie bake-off was becuase Tali dropped the bomb – we’re out of keeflie and “chocolate cake” (which is neither cake nor has chocolae in it – tawk amongst yourselves) so MIL goes into lockdown until the fresh baked goods are delivered. Okay, this is turning into a post in and of itself πŸ™‚

I know there’s movies since this, but why can I remember our last adult flick as Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon? That would be sad indeed.

LBP: If you jumped, wouldn’t as a pill you just roll? No harm done?

Baboo: I thought LBP was talking about you…”the yummy navy SEAl…tortured past”, etc, etc. but then I realized, well. Back to Superman: that bugs me, just leave it out if you feel that theatres will be blown up if the hated Americans are mentioned, but all that other stuff? How belittling to our super hero!

Puppytoes, back to you: What is this on Shayna’s? contest? lyrics? what gives? All you had to do was give the word – blogger down at Shayna’s, we would have all hopped right over and voted! Now I have to go dig this up. BTW: At that curmudgeon’s place – loved both your and Karma’s limericks. Very nice.

CJ: Maybe a cast signing tomorrow? I’ll bring the markers.

Comment by lady of the lampshade

Well-Lighted Lampshade Lady and the Tramp: so no sitting’s to be had by the MIL so you and mr. scissorhands can see the Man of Steel?… but keeflie AND non-chocolate non-cake chocolate cake *is*?? say no more. we’ll be out tomorrow… or saturday. maybe next week sometime. whatever. we’re there for you… don’t know when, but we’re there. or one of our kids might be there. someone will be there for you at some point. on *that* you can rely!

as for the contest? not sure how it works, but i think since Baboo won the week before, it was his call… here’s the link… as you’ll soon see, Shayna is a big fan of mine (the clue? “i’ve never read her blog…”) can’t imagine why a young 20-something has never read my blog! perhaps if i mention the fact that i, too, used to sing in a band?? that i met Charlie Daniels while on the road? recorded in Leon Russell’s private studio?? sat with and sipped on coffee for an hour with Ella Fitzgerald at the Four Seasons Hotel in Calgary? think that might impress Shayna??? (in all fairness, i don’t read her blog too often, either! and yes, all those things are true. aren’t you glad you’re my NBFF, now??)

anyway, since you can’t go see any movies, perhaps my non-prize winning song lyrics will have to suffice as fabulous entertainment. in which case your life has just gone to hell in a fucking handbasket. and you need help. but not from me. i’m the one who writes bad song lyrics… AND limericks. still… i *do* try hard, and i can play well with others. as long as they play well with me. what the hell was i talking about, again? keeflie? what the hell is keeflie?? do i want some? if joel and i bring the coffee (and pomegranate frap for your hubs) can we have some, too????

Β LBP: write the book. once your mom sees all the cash you’re raking in, she won’t give a shit what you did in your past. unless, of course, you killed JFK. in which case, she might. (someday i’ll share some of the nuggets my own sons have shared with me… and they’re still alive. and, on most days… well.) πŸ™‚

Comment by snuppytoes

I wonder if my mom would rather read about what kind of mischief/disasters/mayhem/horrors her children (especially her beloved favorite first) got into or read my smutty tales. Hm…

Comment by Little Blue Pill

πŸ™‚ I think my mom would be more interested in the smut. *LOL* I just have a feeling about that.

HAPPY 4th OF JULY Everyone!!

Comment by cj




Leave a Reply

