Central Snark


We Might Like to Work Here* by Snuppy
Monday, 4 September 2006, 8:24am
Filed under: cracks us up

WE know it’s not Labor Day everywhere in the World, although for everyone who doesn’t have this day off, technically it is! Ha ha ha ha! Maybe you don’t think we’re funny, but we crack ourselves up.

STILL, if we did have to work today, we’d be ever-so-happy if it was for Universal Studios, because any company who would have Matt Stone and Trey Parker (of South Park fame) create THIS VIDEO for employee orientation, is A-OK in our workbook.

STARTING with the guy driving the Universal Tours Tram, you’ll see more than a few familiar faces in this throw-back to a “kinder-gentler-black-‘n-white Hollywood heyday” tongue-in-cheek film that was done for real employees. Those lucky bastards.

Assuming you don’t have anything better to do–and if you’re reading this, chances are you don’t–answer this: What’s your idea of “The Perfect Job” and why? (Just in case we run across any good orientation videos in the future.)

*We just took the time to read up on the background of this particular video, which was commissioned by the new Universal Studio head, Edgar Bronfman, Jr. It turns out the Seagram’s CEO was less than pleased with the results and ultimately scrapped this happy little film after it was made. Which is why we’re now glad we don’t work for him. Bastard.

~ snuppy

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i hope everyone takes a few minutes to watch this video… i promise it’s clever *and* hilarious. and i believe this thing *just* found it’s way onto the internet, so it’s quite “fresh”, too! not unlike the amazing array of bagels and muffins we’ve set out for you in the gazebo! now help yourself to some juice and/or tea and/or coffee, some of us are going back to bed. okay, not really, but since the sun is actually shining this fine Monday morning, we may have to get out and enjoy it!! 🙂 (~ snuppy)

Comment by One Hot Puppy

you know… just because i wasn’t around yesterday doesn’t mean everyone gets to snub me today. not that i’m taking the fact that no one’s commenting personally, mind you.

that said, you guys don’t have to watch the stinkin’– albeit *hilarious*– video in order to comment. what about “what’s your idea of a perfect job” do i need to explain?? (just sayin’…) 😀 xox

Comment by snuppy

That was great! Wonder when that was made…pre NBC takeover I’m guessing. Those are a pair of clever boys and to get all those peeps to play along was very cool.

Okay (tapping fingers) can we go to Starbucks now? I’m jonesing and I need a fix.

Comment by Holiday BoBo

Just reread last paragraph which answers my “when was it done” question…that makes it even funnier.

Comment by Holiday BoBo

Well I think it’s ucs for me! Now I see what my office and perhaps backyard and maybe front door are missing – porcelain deer! Genius indeed! And it also gave me an employee icebreaker – “here you go Nadia, have a wine cooler while we talk about all the phone message you seem to be messing up”.

That was funny indeed!

Hahaha – laughing at your comment that we didn’t have to watch the stinking video! My perfect job – something where I could be sitting outdoors in nice weather, in my own cozy home in the cold weather drinking lattes and maybe typing up a screenplay like Pepe the janitor!

Comment by Lampshade Lady

I couldn’t get it to load past Spielberg, but I enjoyed what I saw. My ideal job would be prisoner so I didn’t feel bad neglecting it.

Comment by Walela

Hmmm….The video is very scartchy with me and takes a lot of stops in between 😦
so I gave up! Yeah, I am a quitter 🙂
I am sorry I havenæt been around all day, it got very busy in teh afternoon…and I am sorry I missed those bagels…seems like G just swallowed down teh last one:)
My perfect job…I haven´t found it yet…otherwise I sorta woudl be doing it…I hope!
But it needs to have to do with travel and languages and long summer vactions 🙂

Comment by One Hot Puppy

Penguin: hmmmm. travel, languages, long summer vacations? how ’bout working as a college prof. teaching, um… er… geography and/or… um… er… languages?

as for the video? it’s actually “scratchy” on purpose… because it was supposed to look like something done in Hollywood back in the 50’s. the celebrities (at least the ones i noted) were Steven Spielberg, Michael J. Fox, Demi Moore, John Singleton, Shelly Fabres (yes. Shelly Fabres!), Brian Grazer with a large photo of Ron Howard, Matt Stone & Trey Parker, and Sylvester Stallone. i know there were more, but i can’t think of who they might have been.

guess we’ll have to bake some more goodies for the morning (almost there in your parts of the world, Penguin & CYM) this was a bit of a slo-o-o-o-w day, anyway… guess i should have found something better for us to watch! oh well… at least Bobo & i laughed. and Lampy did too (and welcome home, by the way!!!) so that’s something. you know, i almost took this down after i heard the news about Steve Irwin, to tell the truth…maybe i should have.

oh well, too late to do anything about it now! i’m off to bed… and look forward to actually “seeing” everyone TOMORROW!!  xoxo

Comment by snuppy




Leave a Reply

