Central Snark


9/11 by Snuppy
Monday, 11 September 2006, 7:57am
Filed under: ponderings

WE are aware that this date has come to represent something horrific since that morning 5 years ago, when the sky didn’t just fall, but slammed into the lives of people around the world. Prior to that day, most of us, especially those who are Americans, had deluded ourselves into thinking we were safe from such a thing as a “terrorist attack”. On 11 September 2001 at 8:46 AM, (est), we found out, much to our disillusionment, we were not.

THERE are literally hundreds of thousands of tributes, articles and/or posts (like THIS beautiful rumination, THIS exceptional tribute, or THIS feisty rant) related to the events of 9/11 to be found all over the web, so we have no intention of getting overly emotional and/or waxing philosophical about it here. That said, we honestly feel we’d be remiss if we failed to acknowledge the date and accompanying significance altogether. Therefore, we thought it fitting to provide a few links in hopes they’ll be found worthwhile, which are listed below.

WORD IT: This is part of a site called Under Consideration, and it’s very cool. Every month, artists are invited to create a visual representation of a word, like flat, or box, or virtue, and it’s amazing what some of these talented folks come up with. This month the word is DOOM. As of this posting there were a total of 5 pages to peruse, we suspect there will be many more by the end of the day. (Thanks for this link, Jared)

SEPTEMBER 11 NEWS: this is a fascinating archive of everything that’s been printed and reported on the attacks that occurred from that terrible day through to the present. Trust us, it’s an impressive collection and we are completely in awe of the people responsible for putting it together.

CNN PIPELINE: Click on this link to watch the way CNN covered the events of 9/11 as it unfolded that day, in REAL TIME, starting at 8:30 AM, EST. Once the window pops up, click onto “Pipe 4” to watch the actual 9/11/01 coverage. CNN plans to make this available through midnight, tonight. (It’s free, by the way.)

OUR hearts are saddened for the families and friends of those who lost their lives because of that senseless act of violence 5 years ago, and we know you join us in our prayers on their behalf. On a day like this, we find ourselves wanting to hold our own loved ones a bit closer as we remind ourselves how lucky we truly are. We know we are blessed and we are more than grateful for all that we have. In that spirit, we invite you to share your own thoughts about that day, this day, or what you see and/or fear and/or HOPE will occur in the future.

Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow.” ~ Albert Einstein

~ snuppy

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hope for tomorrow – indeed. So true, we must have hope that a better saner world is possible. Thanks for the links Snup, I will check them later. Right now I’m going on the school bus with Julian.

Love to all, and yes it makes me hold my family in a hug just an extra second longer today.

xox

Comment by Lampshade Lady

me too, Loving-yet-Lampish Lady! that art project is extrememely cool… i’m thinking we need to make sure 3D sees it, for she could probably kick some serious design ass! hope you day goes well…SOMEDAY i’m just certain we’ll get to talk!! (i miss you) xoxox

Comment by snuppy

snuppy, that was lovely. I tried to watch teh Cnn coverage, but I have to sign up for that.

This day-even for me- arouses so many feelings. Sadness, Anger, disillusionment and Hope.

Everywhere I go in the blogging world today…we are reminded that the world is not a safe or fair or considerate place…but we have the chocie to believe that it can be and try to accomplish it one by one!

Comment by Penguin

Penguin: sorry about that, you’re right! i fixed the link, so it goes directly to the Pipeline newsfeed… so all you have to do now is click on “pipe 4” (lower right side of the screen) to watch the stream. it’s very sobering… although it’s extrememly fascinating. xox

Comment by snuppy

snuppy , it works now! Thank you!

Comment by Penguin

i added links to LL’s fabulous new post about 9/11 as well as the beautiful tribute Brian did, as well. i meant to do that all along, but you know me, one shiny something and all good thoughts fly right out the window! (~snuppy)

Comment by One Hot Puppy

Thank you for linking me. I have had a rough past four days but everytime I say I can’t read another one, I go click again. I have read over 200 so far and I have been sobered by the thoughtfulness of all the writers, but also on how many great and caring people were lost.

Comment by Gone to the Dogs ate my Bunny

Morning everyone. Beautiful post Snuppy. I read Sar’s post last night before I went to bed and just finished reading Lampy’s posting. We’re not watching any of the coverage here at my house. Thea will be four next week and its not something I want to expose her to yet. Erick was at the Minneapolis airport that morning waiting to fly out to New York on business. Erick had colleagues that died that day. There are no real words to express our feelings towards this. This 9/11 anniversary will be like any other, filled with somber thoughts and peaceful prayers.

Comment by cj

It’s surprising to me how emotional I feel five years after the event. In truth, there are few things in my life that have effected me more profoundly. I work in a profession that required my full attention to the events of 9/11 and although viewing it through the filter of “my job,” it certainly had an impact. I find it very difficult to watch the tributes today…my heart still so readily breaks for the families impacted. May God bless them.

Comment by Joel

I echo Joel’s sentiments and thoughts… 5 years later and I will still break down in a matter of seconds and the pain is as fresh as it was back then… I cannot begin to fathom such heartbreak and such loss… and neither do I want to which makes the whole thing so much more heartbreaking, you know?

Beautiful post my lovely friend… and I agree, makes me just wanna hold my family tight and never let go!

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

every day i see the results of 911: the huge scar cut through the trees, farms and mountains where they laid the telecommunications lines for the spy poles along the US – Canadian border.
help see that the victims win their fight for adequate health care. donate to their childrens’ education funds. refuse to be ruled by fear.

Comment by FirstNations

if you guys haven’t checked out the Word It project, you really should. my personal favorite was THIS PAGE, altho’ i thought all the designs were cool.

FN: amen, sister, amen,

Comment by snuppy




Leave a Reply

