Central Snark


300 Million by Snuppy
Tuesday, 17 October 2006, 9:22am
Filed under: ponderings

DON’T look now, but as of 7:45 am (est) this morning, the population of the United States reached 300 MILLION, and is growing by one tiny human being every 7.5 seconds, even as we type. Are you wondering what that looks like? Well, we did too, until we studied the BREATHING EARTH MAP* which actually illustrates the second by second birth and death rates around the world. Cool, huh? Of course, since it also demonstrates the second by second rate at which Carbon Dioxide is being emitted into our atmosphere, it’s more than a little scary, as well. We don’t know about you, but we need to breathe, which is why we’re planning to buy a few more houseplants as soon as we finish writing this post.

WITH so many folks being added to the population at such a speedy rate, we’re sort of wondering where everyone’s gonna live some day. We suspect there’ll be a lot more folks sharing houses and apartments, and we think that’s fine, as long as they don’t leave near us or, if they do, they don’t make a lot of noise and/or use up all that fresh oxygen our new houseplants are sure to generate.

IN the spirit of overcrowded spaces and/or to bolster our case for the need for noise control, we wanted to share the following awesome video, which is creativity personified (heh). We love it, and thank our fabulous and incredibly generous friend, PAVEL THE LINKMASTER, for making it possible for us to show it to you:

TO be honest, we actually saw this a few months ago, but for the life of us, couldn’t find it no matter how hard we tried. So you can imagine our relief–not to mention joy–when we received this link in an email from our dear friend, yesterday. The advantage to all this overcrowding, we suppose, is that there are more people to cover your back and/or blog.

*HOLD the cursor over each country to find out individual birth/death/CO2 usage rates and learn your geography, to boot.

~ snuppy  

31 Comments so far
Leave a comment

these guys remind me a lot of Stomp, an incredible percussion performance group. have any of you seen them on stage? they’re absolutely fabulous. xo

Comment by One Hot Puppy

Again I ask the question…how do people come up with this stuff (the video)? Is it genius or a case of too much time…? Whatever, it is entertaining for sure! The map is interesting too…especially looking at the various birth/death rates by country. Great post Snuppy – informative yet entertaining!

Comment by BoBo

That was great and reminded me of Stomp too. As to the 300 million, this is why I’m not worried about terrorism.

Comment by Walela

I just heard the news of our “achievement” at reaching the 300 mil mark on my way to work. It reminded me of when I was little (the word on the street then was that every 3 seconds a baby was born) so my sister and I would sit there counting 1-2-3 a baby’s born; 1-2-3 a baby’s born, well – you get it. I can still hear our singsong voice we counted in.
I’ll check out the map shortly. First I need to try to breathe through my one good nostril (an improvement over yesterday and thank you for your feel better wishes).

I loved this video – very clever and I thought pretty funny. So thanks Pavelito – another good find.

Comment by Lampshade Lady

Bobo: a wise man once said “News doesn’t have to be boring” (hmmmm who was that again?) i thought that map was pretty cool, too. and i love seeing the various birth/deat rates for each nation (i was serious about learning geography!) i figured the video would remind you of our own Stomp experience! (of course, now everything seems musical around here… can’t. stop. tapping. my. pencil. on. the. desk.) xox

Walela: i’m glad you liked that (i know it’s sometimes difficult for you to watch these things at work, which is one of the reasons i started putting the videos up here instead of linking to them). and i just knew you’d find a way to make us feel better about the growing population (heh)… xox

Comment by snuppy

Lampshade Lady: i was hoping you’d be able to stay home/in bed, NBFF! glad you’re feeling better, but still… colds suck. hope you at least have a light work load so you can get out of there early, today. and yep… Pavel is THE BEST!! i was so happy to see this link (i had been trying to find this one since my son showed it to me over the summer) thank goodness the US population spiked today–it provided a nice “hook” for showing the video! (thanks all you moms out there) hee hee! xoxo

Comment by snuppy

I stopped watching the map when people started to die. I figured it wasn’t worth it.

As for the video, I found those guys in my house once, but I got rid of them with one of those flea bombs you can get at Target. Still cleaning up the mess though.

Comment by Diesel

Diesel: yeah… it’s a little unsettling to see the rate at which people die…and even more so if you leave the map up for a few minutes. still, it’s an interesting perspective, no?

hope those guys didn’t rip off any mattress tags while they were hanging out at your place. (i know how you hate that) 🙂

Comment by snuppy

Feel better Lampy.

Comment by BoBo

300 million – Its such a big number its hard to actually wrap my head around. I’m guessing most of them live in the huge metro areas, and not much around here. I wouldn’t like to live with out my space, which is a concept I am just going to have to get used to. 🙂

Happy Tuesday everyone!

Comment by cj

Oh so THAT’s what happened to my condo.

The map bummed me out.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

CJ – we’re sending people your way…too crowded in this huge metro area…my commute is killing me.

Comment by BoBo

U.S. population already 300,001,248…interesting that in 2000, according to the census, the population was 281,421,906. That’s a growth rate of 3 million per year if my math is right which is always in question…wow.

Comment by BoBo

thank you Snuppy, you made my day.
I loved the vidoe and was excited by the data in that map. You know me and my data 🙂
(not excited to see us crushing the planet at such an incredible rate. I agree with Walela on the futility of stressing about terrorism when you see it in this context)

Comment by kyahgirl

Hey, they can live in East Tennessee! I lived in Miami for a long time where the argument about overcrowding seemed to make sense. Then I moved to Tennessee where you hear about overcrowding and wonder what they’re talking about…

Diesel made me laugh with his comment about how he got rid of those drummers!

Comment by Pavel

The U.S. Census it notoriously inaccurate. Every time it’s released you hear about how they undercounted some group by 3.46%, which begs the question, “If they know how much they undercounted by…?”

In contrast, that website with the map actually has people stationed in all the hospitals across the world who send text messages on their Blackberrys every time someone is born or dies. And if you die without telling them, I hear you get in serious trouble.

Snuppy, rest assured my tags are secure. Are yours? Don’t lie, because I’ll know.

Comment by Diesel

Wow, I can’t believe I missed a perfect opportunity to make a shameless plug for my own blog entry on overpopulation. Oh well, maybe next time.

Comment by Diesel

CJ: lots of room in your corner of the nation, girlfriend… i’m sure you guys could accomodate a few million more (just sayin’…) xox

LBP: yep. now you know where all that noise was about! xox

Bobo: you doing math? color me impressed!! xoxox

Kyahgirl: i knew you’d like that map! i figured it would appeal to the scientist in you… so glad i was right!! 🙂 xox

Pavel: see? *one* good reason to live there! (thanks again for sending that link, by the way… and just so you know, Diesel’s comment cracked me up, as well!) xox

Diesel: ah-ha! i knew those Blackberrys were good for more than keeping up on the scores (hear that Bobo? hee hee).

as for your post?? i wish i’d seen it sooner, for it is absolutely HILARIOUS. so glad you tripped over the gate in this here park, sir… you’re a welcome addition. i hope you’ll poke around a few of the links in our sidebar, i think there are a few sites you’ll really enjoy. as a techno-minded fellow, Pavel’s (linked above) is a natural, as a like-minded cynic, WA comes to mind, too. time will tell if i’m right.  oh, and congrats on your excellent foray into the world of Shameless Self-promotion. *claps*

i’m relieved happy to report the tags on our beds are intact. 🙂

Comment by snuppy

Thanks, snuppy. High praise indeed, as you seem to know a little something about funny yourself. Rest assured I’m making my way through the side links. Thanks to Pavel I now know that I’m exactly the same age as Uma Thurman, and that my Native American Zodiac sign is Beaver. I think I’ll call her up and tell her.

Comment by Diesel

Diesel, let me know how it goes with Uma. As for me, I called Pamela Anderson to discuss the fact that we were born on the same day, but she said something about having to wash her hair. Go figure…

Comment by Pavel

Pavel, you need a better pickup line. Play up the fact that you were born in the Chinese year of the, ahem, Rooster.

Comment by Diesel

WOW 300 million. Hard to believe.

Comment by jodes

Nicely done Diesel – see you’re feeling right at home, but welcome to the fold nonetheless.

And thanks Joel (all these comments later) seems the worst day was yesterday.

Happy Trails to all.

Comment by Lampshade Lady

Thanks, Lampshade Lady. Hope I’m not being a pest.

By the way, I didn’t mean to suggest that Pavel was trying to pick me up, in case there was any confusion. I was just offering some advice for his future communications with Pamela.

Things didn’t go well with Uma. It started off ok, but I had the TV on, so I kept accidentally calling her the name of the show I was watching. Uma, Oprah, Uma, Oprah…

Comment by Diesel

Ok, I’m an idiot…. Any way I can get you to delete that last post. And this one…

Comment by Diesel

sigh…

And you were doing so well… (smile)

Comment by Pavel

It usually doesn’t take this long for me to prove I’m an idiot. Nice to be back in familiar territory. 🙂

Comment by Diesel

Diesel: i deleted one of your comments since you asked… but trust me, you’re not the first idiot one to leave a duplicate comment, and i’m quite certain you won’t be the last! 🙂

Comment by snuppy

Now it looks like I’ve called myself an idiot twice for no reason. Sweeeeet. 🙂

Comment by Diesel

Diesel: are you mocking me? for allowing you to mock yourself? if so… you *are* home, brother! 🙂

okay…if you like, i’ll be happy to delete the other comment of yours… which i suppose i should have done before. of course, if i do that i’ll have to delete Pavel’s then yours then mine then your last one, then this one. it’ll be a major pain in the ass, but i’ll do it if you reallyreallyreally want me to. so… do you?? i mean reallyreallyREALLY?? xox

Comment by snuppy

Diesel, you’ll be right at home with the rest of us idiots. Actually your trying to pick up Pavel makes for a better story. Uma Oprah – hey just because it didn’t work for Dave…

Comment by Lampshade Lady




Leave a Reply

