Central Snark


F-Word by Snuppy
Thursday, 26 October 2006, 8:32am
Filed under: cracks us up, Sex, Ed?

FORGIVE us for what you are about to see and/or hear. We don’t know what happened to our good taste and/or sense, we were sure we had it with us when we started writing this post, but now it’s nowhere to be found. Oh wait, now we remember, we sold it down the river, along with the last $5 on our Starbucks card, in hopes of obtaining a slice of the Princess James’ $12.5 million Charitable Foundation and Humanitarian Works from Holland {Netherlands} Pie. Alas, try as we did to extract a tidy sum for ourselves, we were thwarted at every turn (it seems there are others who were equally interested in getting their hands on these Western European funds, and willing to go to ANY LENGTHS in order to beat us to the bank counter punch). Trust us, when we say we encountered a pack of relentless scrappy fighters, who’d just as soon eat their mothers than give up a chance to reap from where they didn’t sow, and leave it at that.

NOW where were we when we so rudely interrupted ourselves? Oh yes. We hope today’s post won’t offend anyone, because that is the last thing we intended to do. We saw this clip a few months ago, and haven’t been able to get it out of our minds. In all honesty, it’s very clever, and quite informative, even as it traces the roots and uses of a word many of us have found on the tips of our tongues from time to time. Oh, sure, we could say we’re doing this particular post as an homage to WA, but we’d be lying through our effin’ teeth.

DESPITE the fact this is scored to Vivaldi’s Four Seasons — lending it an educated air of class — this video is NOT for little eyes and/or ears. Those of you watching at work might want to keep the volume down, as well. And on that happy note, enjoy!

SERIOUSLY, isn’t this a word who’s time has come? Let us rephrase that: When used under appropriate circumstances, is the “F” word really so offensive? Shit used to be considered “bad”, but most people are pretty much over it these days, right? From what we hear tell, there was a time when use of the words “hell” and “damn” was verboten, too, and would get ya a bar of soap in the mouth fastern’ you could say… well… hell and/or damn. So what say ye on the “F” front, Snarksters, in… or out?

Ducking for apples — change one letter and it’s the story of my life.” ~Dorothy Parker

~ snuppy

39 Comments so far
Leave a comment

of course, as clever (because it really is) and funny (because it reallyreally is) it’s not lost on us that the animator misspelled one word — sentence (centence?). still, it seems reasonable to overlook that small error… the rest of the video is a fucking hilarious work of art! xox

Comment by One Hot Puppy

Ahem…my oh my…hilarious! My favorite, however, is “why don’t you go outside and play hide and go f*ck yourself!” Priceless.

Have a great f*cking day!

Comment by BoBo

That was well done! Very funny! LOL

As far as I’m concerned, I don’t use the word much. Only in exclamation of distress, when a glass is spilled, it comes out.

However, I have found recently that it is quite popualr with the working Joe’s of the area. For instance, the Landscapers that weeded and trimmed our yard. 3 young men, mid 20’s. It was warm and I had the windows open. If I had a PENNY for every time they used it in description, exclamation, etc – I would be rich.

It’s sad really. There are so many other adjectives to use. This seems to be a common useage word for the younger set. I’d hate to hear high schoolers at lunch time – or football practice.

It also seems more appropriate for men to use, it is often viewed badly (?? huh??) when used by women – except in movies. Then, it’s cool.

Am I old fashioned or what?! Being without kids – and living where I do, it’s not common language for me. D :}

Comment by FelineFrisky

Bobo: that was my favorite line, too!! oh, but does it concern you that our kids are the ones who showed this to me in the first place? nah… me neither. xox

FF: howdy! old-fashioned? i think you’re right about not being exposed to it the way others are, tho’. actually, i don’t use it all the time, either. i find it’s much more effective when used sparingly (better for shock value, perhaps?) xox

Comment by snuppy

OCDish bohemian here so yeah, the animator also mispelled incompetence (incompitance) but hey, when there is so much fuckin’ going on, I say, who cares???

As for where I stand on this, need I say anything??? Ha, ha, haaaa!

Oh dearest Snuppy de mi corazón whom I miss oh so very mucho and am longin’ to ring aling a ling, this was BRILLIANT! I LOVED it and was giggling the whole way through!

As per the post below, ooooweee what goings on! So! Who got them millions? I have had quite a few such emails and I have yet to see a dime! A DIME!

Besos and off I go to do some overdue accounting! Oy! 😉

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

CYM: hah! you know, i was mostly listening to the video, and happened to glance up in time to see “centence”… but “incompitance” is even funnier! as for the “millions” discussed in yesterday’s post? we suspect they remain unclaimed in that Western European Account, and will, no doubt, be seized upon by those evil “relations” the Princess James was complaining about before her untimely demise! besos to you as well, BoheMian, and good luck with that accounting! xoxox

Comment by One Hot Puppy

I dunno… I suppose its all in how its used. I generally don’t like the term spoken at me, but yet at the same time I suppose its entirely possible I’ve spoken it at someone else. Offended F*ck no! Just not one I use a lot to others. 🙂

Comment by cj

Well as my moniker implies, I am a lady. A lady who enjoys a well placed use of profanity. Sometimes in a little singsong voice to project dismay while I’m in a good mood (hence the singsong): “blankety blank blankety blank”. Try it.

Comment by Lampsahde Lady

I might also mention that my young daughter has been offended by my use of less than elegant language while driving (I assure you if it wasn’t necessary I would never have uttered it). I acknowledged that that was rather foul of me and I would attempt to not use such language. Instead we came up with something less foul, but using an “F” word – “You fluffing fool!”, which has us cracking up for some reason – maybe because we use a British accent. I don’t know.

Comment by Lampsahde Lady

Lampshade LADY: “Fluffing fool” in a British accent? love it! ya know, one of the things that *also* popped into my mind when writing this tacky post was that scene in A Christmas Story where Ralphie drops the lugnuts onto the snow and utters “Oh fu-u-u-u-u-udge!” then the narrarator goes on to explain that it wasn’t “fudge” but the f-word, blah blah blah. a Classic Comedic moment, if ever there was one! xox

Comment by snuppy

A fine word, a grand word, a very old word snuppy. But, the little video has me curious. I recall reading years ago that FUCK originated as an acronym for “For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge”. Back in the days when a person could totally ruin their life by having impure thoughts or, heaven forbid, engaging in carnal behaviour at the wrong time or place. I’ll have to investigate now.

Its not a word I use ‘in writing’ much for a host of complex reasons but a it is a word I enjoy using with gay abandon when there are no children around. In this, regrettably, I’ve obviously failed because my son, when he was a mere 3 or 4, demonstrated its correct usage beautifully. I came upon him, sitting on the floor by the closet, struggling into a pair of boots. I asked ‘How are you gettin’ on? Ready to go?’
He replied, ‘I’d be great if I could get these fucking boots on!’.

Oy!

Comment by kyahgirl

Kyah: Another Hallmark moment that I can totally relate to. I heard it to be an acronym for (insert proper British accent once again) Fornucating Under the Conset of the King. Silly that.

Snupply – oh, a classic film moment. Tali and I watch the marathon each year.

Comment by Lampsahde Lady

I belive I meant fornication.

Oh and Kyah, funny I don’t use it in print (muchish) either. I want no proof of my foulness once I leave this world perhaps.

Comment by Lampsahde Lady

This is long but a good reference on the origin of the word. Snuppy, both our acryonyms are apparently part of the urban myth about the word…or so it says in the last paragraph;

Fuck
Tracing the origin of this word has been a difficult one for etymologists and lexicographers. Because it has been a taboo word for many centuries, there is little record to go on. But modern etymologists have pieced together the history, albeit with some gaps still existing in here and there.

We know that fuck is of Germanic origin. Note that is Germanic and not German–an important distinction. It does not come from the modern German verb fichen. Instead, these two words probably share a common root. Fuck also has cognates in other Northern European languages: the Middle Dutch fokken meaning to thrust, to copulate; the dialectical Norwegian fukka meaning to copulate; and the dialectical Swedish focka meaning to strike, push, copulate, and fock meaning penis. And both French and Italian have similar words, foutre and fottere respectively. These derive from the Latin futuere. The relation between this Latin root and the Germanic ones, if any, is uncertain.

As to exactly how English got its word, we don’t know. Most of the early known usages of the English word come from Scotland and the north of England, leading some scholars to believe that the word comes from Scandinavian sources. Others disagree, believing that the number of northern citations reflects that the taboo was weaker in Scotland and the north, resulting in more surviving citations of use. The fact that there are citations, albeit fewer of them, from southern England dating from the same period seems to bear out this latter theory.

The earliest known use of fuck is from c.1475 and is from a poem written in a mix of Latin and English and entitled Flen flyys. The relevant line reads:

Non sunt in celi quia fuccant uuiuys of heli. (They [the monks] are not in heaven because they fuck the wives of Ely [a town near Cambridge].)
Fuccant is a pseudo-Latin word and in the original it is written in cipher to further disguise it.

The current spelling dates to at least 1535, when it appears in Sir David Lyndesay’s Ane Satyre of the Thrie Estaits:

Bischops . . . may fuck thair fill and be vnmaryit.
Carl Buck’s 1949 Dictionary of Selected Synonyms in the Principal Indo-European Languages contains a reference to a personal name, John le Fucker, from the year 1278. But this citation is questionable. No one has properly identified the document this name supposedly appears in and even if it is real, the name is likely a variant of fuker, a maker of cloth, fulcher, a soldier, or another similar word.

Fuck was not common prior to the 1960s, at least not in published use; informal, spoken use was undoubtedly much more frequent. Shakespeare does not use it, although he did hint at it for comic effect. In Merry Wives of Windsor (IV.i) he gives us the pun “focative case.” In Henry V (IV.iv), the character Pistol threatens to “firk” a French soldier, a word meaning to strike, but commonly used as an Elizabethan euphemism for fuck. And earlier in the same play (III.iv), Princess Katherine confuses the English words foot and gown for the French foutre and coun (fuck and cunt, respectively) with comic results.

Other poets did use the word, although it was far from common. Robert Burns, for example, used it in his c.1800 Merry Muses (not published until 1911):

You can f––k where’er you please.
The taboo was so strong that for 170 years, from 1795 to 1965, fuck did not appear in a single general dictionary of the English language. In 1948, the publishers of The Naked and the Dead persuaded Norman Mailer to use the euphemism fug instead, resulting in Dorothy Parker’s (or maybe it was Talullah Bankhead, stories differ) comment upon meeting Mailer: “So you’re the man who can’t spell fuck.” In the late 1960s, the taboo started to break down and fuck began to appear more frequently in print.

We can certainly dispense with a few of the more egregious legendary etymologies of the word.

It is not an acronym for either Fornication Under Consent of the King or For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge or for anything else. Acronyms such as these are unknown before the late-19th century and not at all common until the 20th.

And the elaborate explanation concerning the Battle of Agincourt and the phrase Pluck Yew! is a joke. It was not intended to be taken seriously, although some people evidently did.

(Source: Sheidlower’s The F Word; Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd Edition

Comment by kyahgirl

sorry lampshade lady I though it you giving me the other acronym.

I would love to discuss with you and other parents the philosophy of exposing your child/ren to the big bad world.
I can’t stand the hypocrisy of getting mad at a kid for swearing when they know you do it to. I focus more on age/time/place appropriate behaviour ( and freely admit to my failings!)

Comment by kyahgirl

I love ths fucking clip. “Fuck the fucking fuckers.” Bwah-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha…

Abso-fucking-lutely hilarious.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

That Princess Katherine!

I agree with you on children and use of course words. I’d rather them not use them, but I’d also not rather use them myself sometimes. It happens in both cases – although more by Julian than Tali. She’s a bit more puritanical (other than a short F word stint at about 1 1/12).

Snuppy, by the way, I will see the video later on, but loved the line that Bobo pulled out “Why don’t you go outside and play hide and go f*** yourself”. I’m not sure I can promise to not wanting to use that.

Comment by Lampsahde Lady

So “Fuck was not common prior to the 1960s.” I assume that means it was used only by the upper classes, as in Marie Antoinette’s famous statement, “Let them fucking eat cake.”

snuppy, are you trying to test the limits of your spam filter, or what?

I have a theory that “the man” is trying to keep us from using the f-word because it’s TOO useful. I was actually planning a blog on it. “Shit” is pretty useful too — you can use it in any number of ways, like “You wouldn’t believe the shit she posts”, or “I can’t believe this shit”, or “This stuff is the shit!” Same thing with hell and damn. But no word beats the f-word for sheer versatility. Which is why they won’t let us use it.

– Mr. Skin

Comment by Diesel

I heard this first on Just Tom’s site (by strange coincident he’s my guest today), but I hadn’t seen the video clip with it. It’s fucking hilarious!

Good stuff, snuppy! (try saying that 10x fast)

Comment by Sar

I effing give up 🙂 Some years ago a fried had a dinner party, this friend loves the “F” word and peppers her dialog liberally with the “F” word…..her neighbor an elegant elderly lady sent her a Thank you note that said; “I had an Effing good time, the Effing food was great, your Effing house looked as Effing charming and Effing cozy as ever,the Effing company and the Effing conversations were Effing enlightening, the Effing booze was intoxicating, and I got Effing drunk, so why the Fuck did’nt I get Effed. Effing Thanks. Effing Sincerely, Your Effing single, Effing Neighbor.

Comment by Pretty Kitten Heels

You know… to me it is just a word loaded with meaning only because we have made it so… the brilliance of that clip really…

Believe it or not, in actual conversation I hold my own without it and only with those that are very close to me do I use it liberally… and yeah, on the videos too but hey, I am trying to be honest and me as I am at home so F’s the word I am afraid!

I try to avoid it around the kids but hey, it slips out quite a bit. The boy repeats it at times so I simply remind him to please not say fuck but to say his vanilla Spanish replacement words instead. The girl asked me once if she could say fuck and shit. I said it was best not to. She wanted to know if she could use them as an adult. Yes. But she would have to know when and where but I would be cool with it. Why lie. I am cool with it as long as it isn’t used to tell me to fuck off and as long as it is not now and as long as it is when they are at an age to distinguish the how to’s and the why’s and wherefore’s etc…

But when I write… HAH! That’s my venting place and FUCK is a mighty brilliant and therapeutic word when it comes to a good soul cleansing! FO SHO!

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

To tell the truth I hate the effing “F” word…..hardly ever use it and if I do quickly cover my mouth.
However, I don’t judge people, or shows, by the use of the “word” I can’t imagine my life without the Yummy Mummy in it and “Deadwood”.
When my son was 5 years old he was in his room doing something that obviously gave him some trouble and my husband and I heard wafting into our room “Fucka Mother” I immediately, without thinking said “No darling, it is Mother Fucker” My husband laughed so hard that there were tears running down his cheeks.
Looking at him, I said “Well, would you like him going through life not knowing the right way to say this”

Since I am on a roll here one more story.
My Mother 83 was discussing the Philadelphia Eagles last year as they were showing promise. She said “They always Fuck up” I said “Mother” she calmly replied “Well they do”

Comment by Pretty Kitten Heels

CJ: i’m guessing you’ve used it a couple of times in your young life, but i have a hard time picturing it coming out of your wholesome mouth! xox

LL: hah! of *course* you know that scene! (we aren’t NBFF’s for nothing!!) xox

Kyahgirl: wow! now *that* was some fucking fabulous information! 🙂

oh, and i know you’ve been heard to utter the word from time to time, as have we all.

regarding it’s overuse, i’m actually in complete agreement with you (and everyone else here) the word is not one i find the need to use with a great deal of frequency in everyday conversation… altho’ i will — and do — when necessary and/or i think it’ll add an extra comedic punch. i never used it around my kids… and had to keep from laughing the first time i heard one of them say it. my line to them was this:

i know you’ve heard that word, and that your friends use it… and i can’t stop you from using it, either. but do *not* use it here around me and Joel, and, for GODSSAKE don’t use it around your grandparents! (as i write this, i’m cracking up thinking about your son, as well as the Lady of Lampshade’s. sooooo funny!!) xox

LBP: you’re SO fucking right! xox

Diesel: i believe you showed excellent form in quoting Mr. Skin, expecially since he is, indeed, relegated to the spam catcher, where he will rot in hell, if i have anything to say about it! Shit is an excellent and useful word, as well (did you happen to see the “Shit” episode of South Park? or is that too crass for your viewing and did i just blow your mind??) xox

Sar: i think we all know you’re no stranger to the word. it’s one of the many reasons we LOVE you so much! and thanks for reminding me to check out TOM’S post today! (hopefully everyone else will, too!) xox

Mo’a: that is a GREAT story! too funny! i actually thought about you when i put this post up, because i know you’re not a big fan of the word!  xox

CYM: it’s a fabulous word, and never seems offensive on your blog. i see it as more of a “punctuation” device, really… and a fucking great one, at that! xox

of course, after reading Kyahgirl’s fabulous history lesson, i popped over to the Urban Dictionary, in order to see what else i might find out. i think my favorite was this:

……………………. /´¯/)
………………….,/¯ ..//
…………………/… ./ /
…………./´¯/’…’/´¯ ¯`·¸
………./’/…/…./… …./¨¯\
……..(‘(…´(..´…… ,~/’…’)
………\…………… ..\/…./
……….”…\……… . _.·´
…………\………… ..(
…………..\………. …\

what can i say? somedays my sense of humor is on par with that of a 12 year-old boy.

Comment by snuppy

oh, and Diesel: the rest of Mr. Skin’s comment had something to do with the hotness of Demi Moore, today he’s asking if she really looks that good on her own, or has she made some deal with the Devil. he’s so thought-provoking… it’s hard to imagine why his comments never make it through.

Comment by snuppy

Well of course Demi looks that good on her own. She paid for it all with her own money!

Y’know…you just don’t see Doug having us define this word…what the fuck heck is up with that?!?

I have a huge frickin’ potty mouth. The other day I was babysitting the nephew and I turned and the brat was STANDING on his fisherprice motorycle/rocker. Well…that had Howard disaster written all over it and blam! down he went, right into the fireplace. This “HOLY FUCKING SHIT!” exploded from my mouth as I dove across the living room for dispensing of hugs, kisses and handing over the bottle. There was no blood…he’s like his auntie that way. Thankfully he didn’t look at me, sniffle and say “Holy fucking shit, Auntie!” I would have dropped of a god damn heart attack. I still have palpitations watching him teeter than crash. Bloody hell…what goes through his head that he thought that was a good idea? Crap…he’s so like me. Poor little bug.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

YEAH on the potty mouth sistah! *sigh* You ARE my long lost twin FO SHO!

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

i have to confess that “fuck me” is a phrase i use on a semi-regular basis. and i don’t mean that in a good way… more like: “i’m out of gas? fuck me.” “i forgot to pay that bill? ah crap… fuck me.” “i gained a pound? dammit to hell and fuck me.”

what can i say? apparently i’m good at fucking myself on any given day. (and, again, i don’t mean that in a *good* way) 🙂

Comment by snuppy

Snuppy – I know a song that about got my mouth washed out with soap. Its called Orgies at the zoo. I’ve sang it a few times. I use the Fbomb…. a few times. 🙂 I married a marine. I know how to use that word, sometimes it helps get the laundry done. Just not one I want to be be known for using!

WHOLESOME! YOU GUYS CRACK ME UP!

Comment by cj

Snuppy ~ Ah, you forgot “big time” – as in fuck me big time!!! When I forget something at home that I have to have with me. It’s helpful.

Comment by g

LL (aka “g”): you’re right! and then there’s my sister’s favorite “oh shit” phrase: “fuck me in the heart”, which seems extreme-yet-effective. (just laughing a bit to myself — as i so often do — after reading your latest and greatest HILARIOUS POST & comment section) xoxo

Comment by snuppy

Don’t know how I became “G” here, just not right! Ooh I like Terri’s too! Very effective.

Aw shucks, I’m hiding under my shade as I sneak out to try to head home.

Ciao folks!

Comment by Lampshade Lady

I’ve been known to say “Fuckaduck” (as one word…not 3 separate ones). I don’t know where this came from but it’s a huge part of my vocabulary. And trust a friend to find…this.

Comment by Little Blue Pill

I personally love the “F” word, especially when it’s used properly (as in, “Man, that’s f*cked up!”). Not as big a fan of FU (Ferman University, for those who aren’t familiar with it). Sometimes, though, no other word will do. See example HERE.

Comment by Angela

One of my favorite modifiers-what a fuckin trip!
one of my favorite nouns- what a chunk of fuck.
one of my favorite words of all time, is fuck.
and lets not forget the peerless anthem to all things avuncular, the song ‘Uncle Fucker’ from South Park 2-Bigger, Longer and Uncut!
ah, coition, y’all.

Comment by FirstNations

Snuppy, I can’t tell that anything happened to your taste and class, but I have to admit I’m pretty tickled to see this was the post that got a thesis out of Kyah.

Comment by Walela

Walela: what, exactly, are you saying? that my taste and/or class suck? cuz if that’s the case, then i just HATE you and i hate your ass fa… what? no? oh, heh heh. nevermind.

and yes… Kyahgirl went *above* and beyond the call of scholarly duty, and we are ALL the better for it! had you read yesterday’s comment section, you’d have discovered another aspect of her greedy witty personality, ‘cuz when that girl gets on a writing roll, everyone wins! (seriously, she and Lampsha were like Pit Bulls when it came to trying to get their hands on the Princess James’ Charitable Fundings…) it was mighty good stuff… i’m still laughing. (of course, it’s getting late and i’m getting tired, so that may not be saying much) xox

Comment by snuppy

Kyah – Fukka is a norwegian dialect eh? I may have to call bestemore in the morning and ask if that is true. I may have to put it into a sentence for her – and considering how deaf she is it would make for an interesting conversation. I’ll report back. 🙂 Night all!

Comment by cj

Walela, I’m glad you’re tickled because really, you Northern breeds are so aloof and dignified it does a heart good to see you let your hair down a bit. However, I’d be an effin’ scoundrel indeed if I took credit for the scholary history on the f-word. I took it from a website on word origins.

My dear snuppy-you had me in stitches the other day with your eloquent rendering of the van dick character! That was silly but fun.

cj-you’re the only genuine norse type person I know so I’d just love to hear about your ‘fukka’ conversation. 🙂

Comment by kyahgirl

Kyahgirl: you’re too kind… but i barely held a candle up to the hilarity provided by you and the “Princess Lampsha” (LBP was in fine form, as well!) that was fantastically fun, and i had a blast with you guys on that post. in fact i went back and re-read those comments this morning, and i’m happy to report they continue to make me laugh out loud! 🙂

and i’m with you on CJ’s wholesome persona, and smile at all thoughts of her engaging anyone in a Fukka conversation! (that was funny, too!!) Sorry, CJ, we’re not buyin’ into your claims of bawdiness! (okay, maybe we buy into it a little, but still…) xox

Comment by snuppy




Leave a Reply

