Central Snark


Thanks Joy! by Snuppy
Friday, 27 October 2006, 8:40am
Filed under: cracks us up

TRUST US when we tell you we wracked our brains last night in an attempt to come up with something to write for today, because, dammit, we did. Eventually, we had to go to bed, because our eyes were crossing from staring at a blank screen for so many hours. No, it wasn’t pretty. Yes, it was painful. Huh? Shut up, we have a life, it’s just that, from time to time, we set it aside for your blog reading pleasure, bub, so leave us alone and let us finish telling you what we’ve been trying to say since you first started scanning this one.

WE’RE tired. And when that happens, we can’t think. So we sometimes look to some of you for a little, shall we say, inspiration. Fortunately, we found some, but, before we tell you what we finally came up with, there are a couple of things we really need to get off our collective chests.

FIRST:  the next time we come knocking on your blog, we’d appreciate it if you wouldn’t turn out the light and pretend as though you weren’t home. The recording of that dog barking didn’t fake us out, either. Nope, we’re on to you, and by golly, you need to knock it off. 

SECOND:  should you forget to lock your blog’s back door, and we just happen to turn the knob and it opens up wide enough to let us in, chances are pretty darn good we’ll take something. BIG RED JOY will soon understand exactly what we mean, since we stole her idea for featuring a skit by that genius British comedy duo, FRENCH & SAUNDERS, which we plan to share with the rest of you right after you tell us how sorry you are for pretending to be in bed when we stopped by and tapped on your blog windows. Don’t think we didn’t see you peeking out from behind the curtains, because we did.

ALRIGHTY THEN, there’s no way to adequately set up the following hilarious clip, except to say that, apparently, it’s based in large part on the British view of American retirement communities. Considering the fact that we used to live in South Florida, we can kind of see why.

WE’D like to point out that, while we’re featuring a FRENCH & SAUNDERS skit today, it’s not the skit we originally hoisted over our shoulders when we sprinted away from GINGAJOY‘s blog last night. We plan to give THAT ONE back to her as soon as we fix a tiny rip that must have happened when we hopped over the hedge, in an effort to beat a hasty retreat. Don’t kid yourselves, BIG RED may be heavy with child, but that girl can haul some serious ass when the mood — or need to recover stolen goods — strikes.

Tell me something, Jennifer… if you castrated a Glow Worm, would it be delighted? Ha-ha-ha! And I mean that sincerely, folks.” ~ Dawn French 

~ snuppy  

34 Comments so far
Leave a comment

despite the fact that this video was lifted borrowed from Joy, it seems only fair to point out that the name Dawn French was brought up by one of us just a couple of weeks ago, HERE (on 10 October, the word was “DAWN”)… so, really, it was only a matter of time before we searched for our own damn video! xox

Comment by One Hot Puppy

Damn You Tube! It freezes on me at a certain point! Grrrrr! But I love the comedienne who’s name I cannot remember from Absolutely Fabulous who had a guest appearance on Friends as Emily’s nasty mother… trying to prove I know her so did I? Huh? Did I?… but love what I got to see!

Reminded me of a time, when I was a sophomore in high school, when I befriended a girl from zimbabwe, Jane, who had recently moved to OC, where we lived then… the poor thing lived in Leisure World for a while! they had to move out asap because only people 45 and older could live there and well, at 15 we got quite a few dirty looks walking around that place!

It wasn’t our cup of tea either… no guys to check out and being checked out by grandaddies is just NOT GOOD!

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

snarks–you can exploit me ANY time you want. The more I can share The Word about Dawn and Jennifer, the better.

Neva–you asked about my plans for maternity leave. Am brewing a post on that one right now. i.e. “What I will ideally do on maternity leave” vs. “What I am most likely to do on maternity leave”
I’ve got 2 weeks to myself before baby is due–I am quite giddy (kid’d better not be early!)

Comment by joy

Great Clip. 🙂 Jennifer Saunders is one of my faves. So everyone wears those visors in South FL eh? I never quite understood half a hat.

Joy: Maternity leave -enjoy those two weeks alone. Hopefully baby arrives when you’ve had your fill of alone time.

Comment by cj

CYM: Jennifer Saunders is the actress you’re referring to, and she is Absolutely Fabulous! (oh how i lovelovelove that show!) and i’m thinkin’ we’ll be showing more clips of these guys AND Ab Fab, because i like it, and, well, because i can! as for your friend in the “retirement community”? hee hee! i used to feel the same way whenever i visited Palm Springs! (i hear it’s better now, but i’m not buyin’ it!) xox

JOY: can’t wait to read the post… and i, too, hope the new little one holds on to your uterus long enough for you to settle in. i know i’ve mentioned this before, but my second child actually arrived 3 weeks LATE, which gave me a lovely extended leave… altho’ once my belly started dragging on the ground i knew it was time to pop him out! (trust me, jogging was very difficult those last few days!) i was so happy to see these videos on your blog, you clever girl… thanks again!! xox

CJ: you see folks sporting those visors everywhere. actually, the value of wearing one is in the fact that you don’t wind up with “hat hair”… tho’, i, personally, don’t find them especially comfortable, but that’s because they tend to slip down over my eyes when i get sweaty. (guess my head is on the small side. which, now that i think about it, explains quite a lot!) xox

Comment by snuppy

Oh am I dying. Well not like in the clip, but they are hilarious. I will be back shortly as it always stands to reason that my being home has an inverse effect on my blogtime.

I’ll be back!

Too funny!

Comment by Lampsha

I have tears running down my face from laughter and happiness…..snuppy you steal, good, girl.
Such fun to see Americans through the eyes of such comic geniuses 🙂 Chesse in spray cans….that is a new one for me….where have I been?
I remember many happy times watching “Absolutely Fabulous” and “The Vicar of Dibley” while nibbling on toast, with a generously spread of Marmite and sipping my Eal Gray…..precious moments.

Thank you Joy. snuppy/One Hot Puppy…..more, more 🙂

Comment by Pretty Kitten

that would be …..with a generous…as in liberal…spread of Marmite.
That will teach me!!!!…..to make fun of Lampsha/LSL on WA.

Comment by Pretty Kitten

that would be …..with a generous…as in liberal…spread of Marmite.
That will teach me!!!!…..to make fun of Lampsha/LSL on WA. *shudder* What next?
Do they only sell cheese in spray cans in Florida?

Comment by Pretty Kitten

I see what next 😦 🙂

Comment by Pretty Kitten

Lampsha: i hoped you’d approve… and i’m sooo glad you do! xoxo

Pretty Kitten Heels: well now i’m just laughing at your hilarious series of comments! honestly, i’d say you just gave French & Saunders a run for their comedy money! i can’t be sure about that spray cheese, but nothing would suprise me. i wonder if there’s anything like that for chocolate? (by the way, have i mentioned lately how much i LOVE your NEWEST POST, dear Mo’a? it’s fabulous!) xox

i suppose i should have added to the post the fact that we lived in a gated community in So. Fla. too, altho’ it was designed for families (hey, Dan Marino lived there). that said, they actually are a bit like Disneyland, in that they’re maintained beautifully, and the sun seems to shine non-stop (except for the times when it rains torrentially. but that occurs in spots, so you can literally drive in and out of it as you’re headed down the road–not unlike that scene in The Truman Show, actually) 

anyway, it was extremely pleasant… tho’ somewhat surreal. 🙂

Comment by snuppy

Hello? Hellooo? Hm. There’s a new post up and everything. Come on, Willie.

Comment by Walela

Walela: “Come on, Willie”… let’s get the hell out of here? of “Come on, Willie” let’s play?? i’m sorry i wasn’t able to link to the EXACT post in which i first mentioned the name Dawn French to you (and what’s up with that?) but at least NOW you can see why i think she’s so funny. (you’ll never know how relieved i am by the fact that so many appear to agree!) i’m guessing you’re at work and can’t watch the video right now, but hopefully you will when you get home, and will then race to secure your honorary membership in French & Saunders fan club. (yes, it’s a distinction afforded to many. what’s your point?) xox

Comment by snuppy

I love British humour snuppy 🙂

Please don’t be annoyed with me though…the whole time I was watching this clip I was admiring the walls in the room and wondering what the name of that paint colour was. I have painting on my mind!!

Comment by kyahgirl

Kyahgirl: i’m laughing, even as i confess to doing the same thing! (what do you suppose that color is, anyway?) painting?? as in walls? if so, will you be doing it yourself, or are you hiring someone to do it for you? (which is what we do!) a fan of Monty Python has GOT to be a fan of all things French & Saunders (and/or Ab Fab, i’m hoping!) xox

Comment by snuppy

“yeah you can do that in Ameriker, you can just go out and buy one” about the AK47 – okay that is too (to borrow a word from yesterday) effin funny! I’m watching it again before I have to run off.

How true is that though about the BIG SIZES in Ameriker! We still have our membership in one of those damn Warehouse places because Julian refuses to get completely out of pull-ups (but that’s certainly a story for another day) and these places just give me the heebeegeebees. Everything is huge. Like who needs 440 snack granola bars? I just want one when the mood hits – and it shouldn’t hit 440 times!

Okay, this one is a fave. I wish my mother had a computer. I’ll have to show her next time I see her. We both share a fondness for the British humour now, don’t we?

Hope all are having a great day. See ya later!

Comment by Lampshade Lady

Ooh what’s that Pretty Kitten Heels – making fun of LSL!!!? Now I must go see…then I’m off to do my errands.

xox

Comment by Lampshade Lady

I will do the painting myself snuppy. I like it and its something I look forward to in the new year. I plan to do the whole main floor, its looking a bit scruffy.

Comment by kyahgirl

What can I say except, “That is ABSOLUTELY fabulous!”?!

Comment by Angela

Hi all. I am in the process of switching to WordPress. How do you get the “Pages” header to show up with the e-mail links? How do you make the headers bigger? Where does the profile show up?

My browser/wacko computer at work does not *see* anything but white background with no graphics so WordPress is actually less user friendly, but Blogger has pissed me off for the last time. Anyway, if someone could send me an e-mail with instructions I would greatly appreciate it. My new URL will be http://hummingbunny.wordpress.com/

Have a great weekend!

Comment by Brian

Boy oh, boy!!!! I better come over here where it is safe…..I am wreaking havoc over at WA one person changed their name……another one won’t come out from behind annonomus……not that I blame him/her….I have pissed an other one off…I have stooped to bribes…..I am effing having a verbal diarrhea over there…..sooooo, I thought I better come over here, where it is safe……oh!!!eff….now you probably think I am not the lady I profess to be.
Is that a dirge I hear?

Comment by Pretty Kitten

You know, they actually do a real great job of describing where we live! A gated community, no kids, everybody’s big, fast food galore, guns in pawn shops. Pretty real! Love the twist! D :}

Comment by FelineFrisky

Lampsha: the skit is just plain funny right down to Jennifer Saunders’ last chuckle (as she squirts the cheese on the floor). oh, and i was thinking “Costco” when i watched this the first time, too! (i hope you have a chance to show it to your mum soon) xox

Kyahgirl: you and Miz B have that painting thing in common! (she does all her own, because it has to be “just so”–of course, after seeing how amazing her walls look, it’s not so hard to understand why!) xox

Angela: after seeing your comments on the Python post, i KNEW you’d be a fan of this, too! (*and* AB FAB)… 🙂 xox

Brian: yep, Blogger was a major pain yesterday (i had trouble leaving comments everywhere i went). i’ll make the adjustments to the sidebar to reflect your new address! wish i could help with the other stuff, alas, i cannot. (good luck with that!) xox

Pretty Kitten: you are just stirring up trouble everywhere today, aren’t ya, missy? fortunately for all of us, it’s hilarious!! (whimisical *and* witty… damn, girl, you’ve got it *all*!!) oh, and congratulations on coercing “a” into giving up his name… nice work!! xox

FF: i know what ya mean! that’s not to say the communities aren’t great, because they really are, but it’s still fun to see this “take” on ’em (including the pawn shops, which are certainly abundant in South Florida… oh my gosh, especially in Ft. Lauderdale!) xox

Comment by snuppy

*blush* Yeah trouble that is my middle name….Pretty Trouble Kitten/Pretty Kitten Trouble Heel..s which do you like better?
I better go back into the studio and make little men in tights. Have a happy weekend all….forget about Mondays 🙂 Don’t tell Joel that I used the “M” word.

Comment by Pretty Kitten

Pretty Troubled Kitten Heels: you know… when i mentioned painting to Kyahgirl and talked about MIZ BOHEMIA earlier… i didn’t realize she actually had a new post up! aieeeeee! (apparently i spend WAY too much time paying attention to this blog… i have GOT to get out more!!) anyway… i’m guessing everyone’s seen it, a great tour of her lovely home, no? YES!! xoxox

Comment by One Hot Puppy

Yes, yes!!!! a lovely home, cute Bohemians, and PTKH/PTK/PKTH shooting her mouth off. Now back to the men in tights.

Comment by Pretty Kitten

Kitty’s Pretty Troubled-yet-well-heeled-Heels: yes! men in tights!! tell me more!! xoxo 🙂

Comment by snuppy

I lived in southwest FL myself for a while. In fact, I think that’s my parents’ house.

Comment by Diesel

Diesel: okay, well now i’m worried, because i was gonna mention the fact that the house looks a lot like one *we* lived in when we were there (in Weston, FL). that said, i’m pretty sure i don’t have any sons out there that no one told me about, and, besides, i think you’re too old to be my kid in the first place, but still…. ??

nah. 🙂

Comment by snuppy

Now I’m going to have that French and Saunders theme song stuck in my head all night.

Comment by Mom101

http://moaromigboyles.blogspot.com/2005_12_01_moaromigboyles_archive.html 🙂 Men in Tights 🙂 Since you asked 🙂

Comment by Pretty Kitten

Maman-Chère-101: ha! i know exactly what you mena… after watching that one clip a few times, i’m be suffering from the same fate! (actually, the song that keeps running through my head is the theme from Ab Fab, but it’s almost the same difference, right? sort of? in a way?? if you tilt your head “just so”…?)  nice to see you, by the way!! i belive i owe you a visit, which i shall remedy IMMEDIATELY! xoxo

Pretty Kitten: ADORABLE! and thank you for sharing! now i realize i have *much* catching up to do where you’re artwork is concerned… all the more to admire your wonderful artistry, my dear! xoxo

Comment by snuppy

snuppy –

Mom! Is it really you? Daddy said you were with the angels.

Comment by Diesel

Diesel: i was… but i got traded. *ba-dum-bump* (what, it’s saturday, and the humor mill runs dry)  : P 

Comment by snuppy




Leave a Reply

