Central Snark


Calvin & Hobbes? by Snuppy
Friday, 17 November 2006, 9:18am
Filed under: cracks us up

People think it must be fun to be a super genius, but they don’t realize how hard it is to put up with all the idiots in the world.” ~ Calvin & Hobbes 

NOT Snarky enough around here, you say? (and you know who you are, person who’s name is AL, followed by weasel whose name is DIESEL). Let’s see what we can do about that.

WE saw this on ROBOT CHICKEN a while back, and we laughed and laughed and laughed. Yes, we know it’s wrong in so many ways. Why do you think we laughed? Besides, haven’t you always thought that Calvin was more than a little strange, what with his talking tiger and all? Come on, you know you did.

OF course, we can’t leave you without a some “real” Calvin & Hobbes humor — brace yourselves, this might get cute. Here are a couple of quotes we think are funny. If you agree, check here___. If you don’t, then go away, and never darken this blog again. Prepare to laugh heartily. (Or not, depending on your desire to darken this blog):

The following quotes kinda sorta remind us of 1. a CURMUDGEON, 2. a BOHEMIAN 3. teh PENGUIN 4. BOBO 5. YOU (but not YOU. Or YOU.) See if you can figure out which is for whom. Or who. Or whatever… (we have to go now).

County library? Reference desk, please. Hello? Yes, I need a word definition. Well, that’s the problem. I don’t know how to spell it and I’m not allowed to say it. Could you just rattle off all the swear words you know and I’ll stop you when…Hello?”

Who was the first guy that look at a cow and said, ‘I think that I’ll drink whatever comes out of those things when I squeeze them?‘”

Well, remember what you said, because in a day or two, I’ll have a witty and blistering retort! You’ll be devastated THEN!”

Some days even my lucky rocketship underpants won’t help.”

I don’t DO math anymore. I decided I’m more of a visual person.” “Visualize being the only 45-year-old in the first grade.”

“Who wouldn’t be interested in everything we do?!”

SPEAKING of hilarious lines, we’d be remiss if we didn’t do a teensie bit of shameless promotion before calling it a post, since one of us is a caption finalist HERE this week. (The one who didn’t come up with “Trading Parking Spaces”. The one who did is thrilled for her NBFF, and not at all bitter. Really.)

~Another fabulous LAMPSHA/SNUPPY Joint Production. (all rights reserved)

22 Comments so far
Leave a comment

though the video looks cute, it’s mildly disturbing. okay, so not to us, we think it’s hilarious… but it might give your kids nightmares. consider yourselves warned. xox

Comment by One Hot Puppy

Always liked Calvin & Hobbes but now have a whole new appreciation. As for the quotes, all I’ll say is I don’t have any “lucky” rocketship underpants…at least not anymore.

Comment by BoBo

BoBo: if memory serves — and i believe it does — aren’t there rocketships on your flannel jammies? (just sayin’…) xox

Comment by snuppy

This one’s up to snup. Place feels like home again.

Comment by Al

oh…yes…rocketship pjs…i forgot.

Comment by BoBo

Al: whew. imagine our relief. xox

BoBo: you look mighty cute in ’em, too. xox

Comment by snuppy

I like Calvin and Hobbes too. 🙂 I need me some rocketship pj’s!

🙂 Good luck G on the caption contest!!!

Comment by cj

Geez, I said snarky, not grotesque and disturbing. That was almost as funny as One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. It may have hit a little close to home, as I had a dog named Hobbes, attended Calvin college, and resemble the little scamp in more than a few other ways as well.

Oh, and one of US is also a finalist HERE. I feel a little bit penalized by the fact that only one of my 13 entries was allowed into the finals, but whatever. Distant third, here I come!

Comment by Diesel

way to go, you put the ‘snark’ back in the park!

I love Calvin and Hobbes too. Here’s a fave:

‘Sometimes I think the surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the Universe is that none of it has tried to contact us.’

Comment by kyahgirl

How about Me, me and me…..I seem to resemble the first aka library joke….I will tell you when you come to it 🙂 The video was inspiring 😕
Do you have any idea what I must go through reading this blog…..OK!!!!! I told you once but being in a snarky mood this morning….I will tell you again….first I must lay the screen on my lap top flat on the floor…..then I must bend from the waist down…..put on my glasses again, because they fell off…..then I must make an O with my legs bend down farther…..no easy feat that….. and type whitty, snarky messages…..Don’t suggest laying the screen flat on the table….that story would not be half as whitty or snarky…..where is my chain saw….place cackle here….. 😕

Comment by Heels

I’m thinking if I should start to be suspicious of the kids’ stuffed animal friends. I’ll play along when they start talking – to be on the safe side.

Diesel, thanks for the plug in the caption contest – you’re not so bad after all. And Snuppy, you know I was a big fan of Trading Parking Spaces and am truly disappointed that we’re not in the contest together. Although it might end up like the scene in the Shrink’s office. Thanks for the plug just the same and glad that you’re at all bitter.

Bobo, flannel rocketship jammies? Now that’s cute.

Comment by Lampshade Lady

Now about that Rocket ship in flannel PJ’s 🙂

Comment by Heels

CJ: Garnet Hill has all kinds of cute (sorry BoBo) jammies. fun for the whole family! (you can check ’em out online) xoxo

Diesel? Dr. Hackensnarkenbush will see you in a few minutes. (as for your caption? it honestly is hilarious! in fact, i think Sar should have a separate category just for your stuff… so we could vote on which one she chooses. cheer up, kid, i used to be just like you in the beginning… i used to leave caption after caption, and for what? oh, maybe i’ve won a few of the contests over the past few months, but in the end, aren’t we all caption winners? think about that while you wait for the doctor to come in.) xox

Kyahgirl: i’m with you… i adore that quote! Calvin & Hobbes is one of my favorite strips of all times. xox

PKH: i had… no… idea. i’m… so… uh, sorry? and, actually, i was thinking the third one might have suited you to a “T”… although i’m now thinking it’s this one:
Calvin: I’m a genius, but I’m a misunderstood genius.
Hobbes: What’s misunderstood about you?
Calvin: Nobody thinks I’m a genius.

or, wait? maybe that one’s for me… xox

Lampshala: i’ve seen pictures of your kids’ stuffed animals. be afraid. be very afraid.

will the doctor be seeing Diesel soon? i’m worried about his sense of self-esteem, even as i mock him for having any in the first place. xox

oh… and Lampy/Heels? trust me, the rocketship flannels are very cute. VERY. (that was my story when i gave ’em to Bobo, and that’s my story now) 😉

Comment by snuppy

Snuppy, my other half wants me to pass onto you his “thanks” for showing me a website that has more matching clothes for our daughters. I did tell him that the jammies were flame resistent – he said “by all means then!” 🙂

Comment by cj

Ooh I love Garnet Hill – not in a cute way…but they have very nice things. Oh and cj thanks for the congrats!
That Heels has made an exercise regimen out of reading Central Snark – cool.

Comment by Lampy

Who needs self-esteem when you have bravado and a pint of gin?

Comment by Diesel

And that’s just for breakfast huh diesel?

Comment by Lampshade Lady

Oh dear!!!!!Things do catch up with one….yea, yea, the third one. And you spiffy new one….I AM A GENIOUS I TELL YOU….AND SO ARE YOU!!!!!….Sometimes….Often….well maybe not often just sometimes…..I’m just saying 😕
This is all I can muster at the moment my legs are geting tired….O!!! I am hoping for a rocketship in flannel…..not yours!!!!! Mine, mine all mine 😉
Have a nice weekend and we will probably be friends again by Monday….or Tuesday 😉

Comment by Heels

I will show this to Toyplayer, who is a big fan, but I hope he won’t react too violently. . . .

Comment by weirsdo

CJ: always glad to pass on a great shopping site to friends! (and i do love that one… they have excellent linens, and really cute shoes. and jammies, but we’ve already covered that, right?) 🙂 xox

Lampshala: yeah, i was laughing at her comment and i completely zoned out on the “exercise” aspect of it. perhaps a new way for us all to stay fit? xox

Diesel: atta boy. xox

Pretty Heels: you’re gonna make us wait ’til MONDAY?? aieeeee! (oh well, we can at least imagine you looking cute in your very OWN jammies… especially now that we’ve seen another adorable picture of you on your newest POST! speaking of your newest post… what the heck happened to my comment? not only did i leave a LONG one, it was the FIRST one! now i’m completely bummed. phooey.) xox

Weirsdo: if he *does*, let’s hope it’s not directed at the BARBIE IDOLS! ‘cuz that would be wrong. xox

Comment by snuppy

Wow, that video is HILARIOUS! Love it!

Comment by Anita

I love Calvin and Hobbes! That said, that video was disturbingly funny, or perhaps funnily disturbing.

Comment by Pavel




Leave a Reply

