Central Snark


SATURDAY SPIN by Snuppy
Saturday, 20 January 2007, 9:48am
Filed under: Lampsha Spins

I miss one week and I feel rusty.  There’s a bunch of artists that I’d like to share but for focus reasons, I’ve limited myself to one per spin.  The artist this week is Dan Bern a/k/a Bernstein.  As soon as you click the link, you’ll say, “he sounds like Dylan”! When the similarity of their voices was mentioned to Dan, he reportedly responded, “Well I think in a way Bob Dylan was sort of the Dan Bern of the 60’s”.  Gotta love a guy with chutzpah.  But as you listen to him a bit more, he has his own unique voice which draws you in just a bit more with each song. 

A little about Dan that I know is that he started releasing albums in 1996 and has a bunch (about 10) under his belt.  He won the honor of Best Folk/Singer-Songwriter in the 6th Annual Independent Music Awards.  Oh and Logo is a fan.  So what else do I need to do to get you to listen to him?  Oh, stop talking – of course.  His new album out, Breathe, has a nice storytelling quality to it which I always enjoy.  The song of the same name that I am linking to exhorts us to “stop what you’re doing and breathe”.  I don’t know about you, but sometimes I could use that reminder.  So stop what you’re doing and listen to BREATHE here. 

And afterwards if you’d like to know a little bit more about him, browse around his place HERE.  Try to be neat about it and tell him G sent you.  Dan and I are like this \(-^-)/ or something.   If you still are interested, then there’s the link to his Record Company MESSENGER  RECORDS here.

While you’re breathing, have a great weekend.

~ DJ Lampsha ~

22 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for the link DJ!! I am downloading it to the ipod now. I’ll give it a listen on my way over to the dance studio with Thea.

Ps. Thea’s favorite song is Fidelity by Regina Spektor – she love to sing along with that one in the car.

Comment by cj

\,,/(^_^)\,,/ MY GOD I was first!! GO ME!!

Comment by cj

Another great spin DJ! Dan sounds so much like a young Dylan it’s uncanny and yet seems to have a bit more range and just enough unique style to call it his own. Excellent find!

Comment by BoBo

\,,/(^_^)\,,/

CJ: go YOU, girlfriend!

this artist is amazing, Lampsha! you know, i am in awe of your ability to find these artists, awe i tell ya, AWE! as for Regina Spektor, her soundtrack could be heard on a recent episode of Grey’s Anatomy — and their music “person” is known for her ability to find the best of the best. i’m thinking there might be a new job out there for you, someday — you’d be fabulous, and you’d make some big bucks, to boot! lovelovelove it! xoxox

Comment by snuppy

cj: Good going on first girlfriend. A woman on the go with her iPod! That Thea has good taste (takes after her Mom). Have fun at dance.

Bobo: Totally agree with your assessment. Come to think of it, are you available to doctor up my future posts?

Snuppy: Well shucks and thanks. But I’m just the least square of the squares. I think you have to be more “hip and cool” to land those jobs. But I do enjoy seeking out the new tunes nonetheless. There is so much out there that I have no clue on, but I enjoy my own little corner of the music aisle. And of course, am glad that you all enjoy it with me! XOX

Comment by Lampsha

Wow, you weren’t kidding about sounding like Dylan. Good stuff, anyway.

Comment by Walela

Walela: “anyway”? what… you don’t like Dylan? 😉 xox

Comment by snuppy

Oooh! Faboo voice FO SHO! *sigh* I listened first and then read the post and so there goes my I-thought-then original thought of “Wow! This dude sounds like Dylan!” *sigh*

Oh well! 😉

Faboo stuff DJ Lampsha! But then again, why am I not surprised? And thank you for the much needed music because sitting here, for an entire fucking day doing homework (43 pages yesterday and 43 pages today) with the girl is mindnumbing to say the least and the snippet of time I had the pleasure to hear his voice (because the girl would have no interruptions! DAMMIT!) was a much needed break into the territory of “heavenly”…

And, well, off I go to tackle the last 6 pages of homework! Man, school sucks! SUCKS!

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

Snup, I’m a big fan of Dylan’s, but if you could choose between his gift for poetry and sounding just like him I think it wouldn’t take many of us long to pick.

Comment by Walela

Now, if you could have his gift for music and lyrics and a voice like the lady reading at my site today, you wouldn’t even need implants.

Comment by Walela

CYM: oh mi amiga! how well i remember the pains of that “second” go ’round of homework. and what always made it worse (for me) was the fact that the boys’ were doing math in 5th and 6th grade that i’m quite certain i wasn’t doing until i was in high school. by now, kids are probably doing algebra in 2nd grade (PLEASE tell me i’m wrong!) hope all (and i mean ALL) is well with you, my dear friend! (just listen to this lovely music when you have a minute or two to slow down — it should help put you in a more gentle frame of mind!) xox

Walela: A) i agree and B) flatterer. that said, thank you! your “reader” had a wonderful time lending her voice to your even MORE wonderful story. really, it was an honor — and a pleasure. except for that part where i couldn’t get the recording thingy to work, and had to do a gazillion versions. oy and aieeeee and whew. xox

Comment by snuppy

You mean the part that would have been a snap if it had registered that you told me you were recording in Quicktime Pro? Thanks for not bringing that up.

Comment by Walela

YAY!
Since your warning that he was an upcoming feature I’ve been waiting for this post.
Good one, DJ Lampsha.

Comment by logo™

Walela: well, y’know, i wouldn’t want to embarrass anyone. trust me, the gazillion recordings would have happened with or without your help — that’s the OCD in me (oh how my husband wishes i was obssessive about cleaning, instead). of course, i’m convinced ALL my efforts would have sounded better and been easier for you to convert if i’d known how to do ’em right in the first place, but that’s beside the point. sort of. xox

Comment by snuppy

logo™: hey girlfriend! guess we cross-commented here. and isn’t Dan Bern great? i lovelovelove the artwork on his website, too. i tell ya, Lampsha has quite a gift for this stuff — so far, every single artist she’s featured has been amazing! xox

Comment by snuppy

Walela – would I kid?

Snuppy – seems you two have had this conversation before.

CattYummy: The thought was original to you don’t you fret. Oy vey on the homework, but I’m confused – the girl has 43 pages of homework? I think I’m missing something. But I know the frustrations of homework with the kids – oy vey and it could wreck a lesser woman I know. Good luck with that and Snuppy commented down further on Algebra. Tali hasn’t started yet, but by the end of 4th grade, they will have! I guess I’d better brush up quickly (actually she’ll be tutoring me before long).

Walela, for us maybe – come on, you’d choose his voice. But for Dylan – those lyrics couldn’t go with any other voice!

So this is the part where you’ve been revealed NBFF! I sent you an email but I know you’re having problems with it so just in case, I gushed at what a great job you did! Really it was and is amazing. Your NBFF stock just soared again! XOX

Walela and Snuppy – glad you worked this all out ahem, before my turn.

Logo! I was hoping you’d see this. Glad you dropped by.

Snuppy: I loved his artwork too – he’s a real Renaissance man that Dan. Logo, besides being a logofile is a bit of a musicfile too so she of course picked up on lyrics of Dan’s that I used in a post of mine recently. That Logo.

Okay all, skies are blue-ish, weather is freezeing-ish, what do you say kids, a movie?

Enjoy the rest of your weekends.

Comment by ~ DJ LAMPSHA

She had a total of 86 pages of homework to catch up on due to missing school for two weeks… and we only had two days in which to do it all and the only way to keep her motivated is to sit right there with her so it was work for two hours and while she got a break I would run errands, or clean, or cook and then back to homework we went! But she is done and she SO kicked ass and it proved a great lesson for her in that she can do such extreme things when need be… and no, thank GOODNESS no algebra yet!

Today we had guest and now the boy is running a fever so we are wondering if it a random thing or if he has the perhaps-incubating-even-though-the pediatrician-doesn’t-think-so chickenpox about to come out… so off I go to cater to the little people!

Hope everyone has a fabulous weekend! Besos to all, especially you faboo ladies DJ Lampsha and Snuppylicious Neva!

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

He sounds more like Dylan than Dylan! His lyrics are very good. You never let us down–always good stuff, over here.

Comment by actonbell

Very cool stuff, Lampsha. I may have to buy that CD. He sounds a little like pretty much every member of the Traveling Wilburys.

Comment by Diesel

CatYummy: Ah, now I understand. I know about that moral support motivation. We’ve got girls of a similar feather. Hopefully the boy does not have the pox. Besos to you and go relax from all that homework girls. XOX

Actonbell: I know that I always enjoy what I put up, the fact that any one else ever does is icing on the cake for sure. Glad you liked.

Diesel: Ha, that’s it – I was thinking who else is he reminding me of? Every member of the Traveling Wilburys! I think I may have to buy it too.

Comment by DJ Lamphsa

Yep… the pox just made their way out on the boy! The girl is off to school and the boy, well, here he stays! Wooh? 😉

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

Ay, get out the calamine lotion. Hope it is as mild a case as possible and that he’s better soon. Wooh indeed.

Comment by Lampsha




Leave a Reply

