Central Snark


SATURDAY SPIN by Snuppy
Saturday, 17 February 2007, 9:27am
Filed under: Lampsha Spins

You know, I guess YouTube figures that now is a good time for maintenance or to just be malfunctioning. After all, what kook needs to be accessing music at 6:30 am on a Saturday morning? Hey, catch as catch can around here. Kids are sleeping, well were sleeping and that would have been the opportune time for me to do my Spin. It’s gotten so that I can’t even find what I’m looking for on YouTube anyway. So there, who needs ya YouTube?! Enter my man, Diesel, King of Encryption. Except due to a series of unfortunate events — half of which I’m not even sure of, my email remains out there with some songs needing some magic worked on them before I can present them here.

Tap tap tap.

As our Irish carpenter once said to my husband “Quit yer complainin'”.

So it’s Saturday and Spin I must. Here’s a band called Grace Potter and The Nocturnals. They are a Vermont based band who have been around for a couple of years playing their bluesy soulful sort of jam band blend. The lead singer, Grace Potter, has a great voice and plays a mean Hammond B-3 organ. She has been compared to Bonnie Raitt and Janis Joplin. I think her voice is unique and that we’ll probably be hearing a bit more from Grace and her band. Grace, if you run out of your own blues to write about, I can help you. “Ain’t got no YouTube, Ain’t got no encryption, don’t even know what that last bit really is.”

Let’s listen to some music, no videos today folks, just PRESS PLAY to hear Toothbrush, a song which manages to reference both JJ Cale and Cat Scratch fever.

The song you just listened to can be found on their re-released album, Nothing But The Water.

Another studio glimpse of some of their songs can be found HERE at the Band’s MySpace page.

Finally, this link is to NPR where they play LIVE on the World Cafe. This should carry you through the weekend.

Enjoy and have a great weekend.

~ DJ LAMPSHA

Dearest of Dear DJ Lampshas, (Spinning Out of Control Since 2006):

Guess what was up and running when I got up this morning? A’yup, YouTube. And guess what I found? A’yup, a video featuring that idiot, Rush Limbaugh, as… er, your dreamy “Artiste du Week”, Grace Potter. In hopes you won’t mind the intrusion, I have included it here:

Feel free to ignore and/or delete. And forgive me for not having the first clue as to that other matter (the one involving linking to iTunes, or whatever, I’m so lame I don’t even know what problem it was I couldn’t help you with.)

Yours Very Truly and Humbly and Meaning to Help but Not Impose Videos on You that You Might Not Want to Use, Even Though You Seemed Genuinely Annoyed with YouTube Only 5 Paragraphs Ago ~ Not-the-DJ Snuppy

29 Comments so far
Leave a comment

“Dreamy” only begins to describe this amazing artist! all i can say (again) is WOW. seriously, WOW.

hope you don’t mind the insertion of the above video, but it is fun to watch Grace work those pipes (both on organ and through that remarkable voice of hers). Hopefully Diesel will take a peek at this post and figure out how to link you up in whatever other ways you needed to be linked up, tho’ now that i think about it, you seem to be pretty well linked up already — and were even before i stuck my big, fat nose in here.

i’ll go now, in hopes others can get in here and appreciate the beauty of your post!

\,,/(^_^)\,,/ xoxoxox

Comment by One Hot Puppy

Imagine both my surprise and delight to see a video up here! I always appreciate your intru, err help HELP! Seriously, I’m glad to have the visual as well, it’s great. Diesel was helping me on a link to some other artists which I can use another week and it forced me to troll into my archives and lo and behold, there was poor Grace shouting “Pick me!” and so I did.

Thank you and now let’s all kick back and enjoy. Speaking of which, does Doug have his story up yet? I’ll be back!

\%/**\%/ (sorry I forgot to shave – ewwwww).

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

First!
puupy doesnรฆt really count! ๐Ÿ™‚
Now that was right up my alley. There is something in her voice that appeals straight to my heart and reminds me of teh newest icleandic sensation called LayLow, you might wanna give her a listen.
Great and since I am off to the record store tomorrow, I will actually enjoy teh look on dudeยดs face when i ask for a CD by Grace Potter and the Nocturals ๐Ÿ™‚
I truly enjoy the Saturday spins and always get aquainted with stuff I like…you have good taste ๐Ÿ™‚

snuppy, you cute too !

Lovely weekend everybody!

Comment by Penguin

DJ: whew. i feel better now — both for sticking my nose link in where it might not have been wanted and for not having the first freaking clue quite knowing how to help with that other linky problem. as for Doug? fuggedabout it… the Dawg must be sleepin’ in today. (i suppose he deserves to do that once in awhile, too, but does it have to be on a day the rest of us are up and waiting?? i think not. sigh)

b(^_^)d (that’s me smiling while giving you 2 thumbs up for your latest artistic creatiion) xoxox

Comment by snuppy

oh my, will you two get a room, Joel is busy with baseball and well Mr. G is tsill sleeping. Nobody needs to know!
Youa re so cute, the pair of you!

Comment by Penguin

Wow…she’s great! DJ Lampsha…I continue to be in awe of your incredible talent finding prowess. I can’t imagine the frustration people like Grace Potter must feel. Sooooo talented and yet relatively unknown…talk about a tough business.

Nice one DJ – maybe you should start your own label??

Comment by BoBo

Penguin: Penguin! i’m shocked! well, not so much shocked as cracking up, but still…what are you trying to imply? ๐Ÿ˜‰ xox

Comment by snuppy

PEnguin!! How happy am I to have caught you before your record store excursion (and how cute is that in and of itself)?! What can we say, Snuppster and I have our own Mutual Admiration Society but we always welcome new members. And you know that we love you!

Snuppy! Glad you liked! And yes we can just wait and listen to music whilst Doug is either turning over and burrowing under his blankets or alternately cursing the fates that won’t get his recording to work (I hope not).

Bobo: I agree – so many artists out there who are so wonderful and deserving of a wider audience.

My own label you say? Hmmm, maybe I should start looking for backers…know anybody?

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

Back to YouTube – something is screwey with my computer then because I can see the video, it plays, but no sound. What the…?!!

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

Very soulful!!

Off to dance!!

Comment by cj

The talent scout is at it again! Great pick, DJ.

Comment by Al

check it out!

Comment by Penguin

DJ…you did turn your speakers on, right? Sorry…couldn’t resist.

Comment by BoBo

ups forgot the url: I tend to do that *grins*

i am cute though, and get away with it and oh…Doug woke up it seems ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by Penguin

Bobo, everybody’s a comdeian!

I just tried to check it out Penguin, but YouTube is still mute to me. This is puzzling indeed, but I have no time now to think about it. I’ll do what I normally do in such techno challenged situations – come back later and hope it’s all resolved itself!

cj – have fun at dance!

Al – glad you liked.

TTFN!

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

Let’s just say YouTube works and let’s not ask any more questions about it, kay? Glad you can’t see me blushing, that’s probably because there’s an anvil on my head.

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

I like the music!

Is your Irish Carpenter Jesus?

Comment by Walela

Lampsha…speakers not on? I won’t tell…promise (heeheehee)

Comment by BoBo

Okay now that 9 out of 10 comments are from me (I swear it’s not to ratchett up my dismal ratings on the weekends – hah), but I just wanted to say thanks Penguin, LayLow was great. A good driving (as in good to have along for a ride in the car) record.

Okay, now I need to restore order to the homestead – the lunatics have taken over the asylum!

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

Doug, cracking up, close – Ronan. I’m sure a distant relative.

Bobo, it’s a technicality really. Too technical to talk about in public. But really who put those separate speakers on YouTube?! How inconvenient!

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

Now, that’s team work. THanks for the great spin! I didn’t know about this band, either. I’m beginning to think that I don’t get out enough:)
Have a great weekend!

Comment by actonbell

DJ Lampsha: regarding the YouTube snafu: hahahahahaha! but only because that’s happened to me before (and many times, at that.) actually, i left a comment for Pia once asking her to check the little YouTube speaker, thinking that might be the reason she was having audio problems a while ago…. how are we supposed to know this stuff? it’s not like there’s an icon on that “monitor” that looks like a speaker, right? oh, wait, there is. still… been there/done that MORE times than i can say and/or care to (so mum’s the word, i’m quite certain no one else needs to know how truly lame we are at any given moment of any given day!) ๐Ÿ˜‰

i am absolutely LOVING this artist! and, i have to say, i’m also DIGGING teh Penguin’s offering, as well! what a treat!! that sound you just heard is Joel down-loading the music of both to iTunes in order to up-load them onto my iPod (or vice versa, i can never keep that “up/down/un load” crap straight.) xox

Comment by snuppy

d’oh! neither the music of Grace Potter and the Nocturnals OR Lay Low (who just won best female artist of the year in Iceland) is available on iTunes. don’t think i haven’t requested ’em both, tho’, because i have! stay… er… ituned. xox

Comment by snuppy

Lampsha! I’m so sorry. I didn’t realize you had used my clearwire email address. That address forwards to my mattresspolice account…when it feels like it.

So the file has been sitting in my other email box, unbeknownst to me. Sorry. I almost emailed you last night, but I figured you had found another solution. Anyway, I’ll get it queued up for next week. ๐Ÿ™‚

You came up with a pretty good alternative.

Comment by Diesel

Actonbell, I do nothing but rely on the kindness of my team members. Glad you liked. I think the key is actually to not get out at all and drive to work so that you catch some new tunes. It’s during those drives that I’ve heard some of the best music.

Snuppy: Okay, I’m laughing and laughing because you know that I had to own up to my lameness as it’s not like you all wouldn’t be there shaking your heads, pointing to the YouTube Speakers laughing your asses off. Better to take the high road and say “I meant to do that”. That’s right. But eh, I do appreciate the word being mum. Rhymes with dumb.

Snuppy, maybe more than a record label, we should do an alterna sight to itune-less with such artists. Hmmm….I did enjoy LayLow also! Come on iTuneless, get with the program.

Diesel: Is this an All About Eve moment? Oh yes, I sense saboutage. Alllright, allright – I became disoriented and actually it seems had your mattress police address – d’oh! I resent, let’s hope there are no corrupt files. Thanks, pays to have one in the wings. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

Another very cool choice…
I like.

Comment by Claire

Claire, glad you liked. Drop by any time. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

OK!!!….you do know the hoops I jump through to read comments here…OK!!! I know, I know…. Quit yer complainin….anyway, I will be ready for you DJ Lampsha and snuppy by thaw….new floor in the studio….sculpture on the walls….tablecloths on the tables, etc. etc. bring my neighbor and yours Al….formerly from NJ and now known as New Yorker….you are all welcome….Paloma says Hi!!!
By the way I love the music….what would I do without CS educationg me?

Comment by Mo'a

Mo’a: Sounds enticing and I can’t wait for the stars to align and bring us to your studio. Say hi to Paloma and give her a hug from me!

I don’t know Mo’a, seems we learn an awful lot from you, but glad you liked the music ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA




Leave a Reply

