Central Snark


Reality TV MadLibs! by mattresspolice
Thursday, 22 February 2007, 9:03am
Filed under: cracks us up, guest who?

It seems like just yesterday I was crashing this party, trying to get my hands on Princess Lampsha’s fortune, and now here I am introducing a guest poster, like I own the place. Anyway, this clever post was devised by a good friend of the Mattress Police, and now a friend of the Snark as well, Joel from Crummy Church Signs. If you haven’t visited CCS, you need to. I have said before, and I’ll say again, that his site probably has the highest laugh:word ratio of any site I’ve come across. You seriously won’t believe some of these godawful church signs. And Joel’s commentary… well, you’ll have to read it for yourself. Anyway, without further ado, I present Joel’s take on “reality” TV….

~Diesel

Joel

Hi everyone! This is Joel from Crummy Church Signs. Thanks to my new friends at the Snark for allowing me to guest post over here today. I appreciate the chance to extend myself beyond the genre of church-sign reviews. It may not appear so on the surface, but that particular genre can be pretty narrow sometimes.

Anyhow, to endear myself to a new readership, I though it might be fun to play a game! Do you remember MadLibs? A popular travel game in the 80’s, MadLibs had contestants pick out random words from categories (“verb”, “noun”, “proper name”), write them in blanks, and then turn a page to reveal a wacky story that they had just created.

Well, here is my first attempt at an on-line MadLibs game. Copy and paste the list below into Word, then type in words that fit in the 34 categories. Then print out the letter you see below the list (No Cheating! Do the list first!) and fill in your responses in the appropriately numbered blanks. See what a fun creation you have made!!

THE LIST:

(1) FIRST NAME: __________________________

(2) NAME OF MTV REALITY SHOW: (Choices might include “Real World”, “Road Rules”, “NEXT!”, “Dismissed”, “Date My Mom”, “Parental Control”, “The Gauntlet”, etc.) : ______________________

(3) ANY WORD THAT MEANS THE SAME AS “PREDETERMINED”:
  ___________________________

(4) ADJECTIVE THAT DESCRIBES “OUT OF WORK ACTORS”:
  ___________________________

(5) ACTIVITY THAT YOUNG PEOPLE ENJOY: ____________________

(6) ACTIVITY THAT YOUNG PEOPLE ENJOY BUT THEIR PARENTS DISAPPROVE OF: ____________________

(7) ACTIVITY THAT YOUNG PEOPLE ENJOY BUT THE LAWS OF ALL 50 STATES DISAPPROVE OF: __________________________

(8) PERCENT GREATER THAN 1.3%: _________________

(9) SYNONYM FOR “DRUNKEN”: ________________________

(10) SYNONYM FOR “REVELRY”: ________________________

(11) NAME(S) OF ANY BIBLICAL CITY (CITIES) THAT WERE COMPLETELY DESTROYED BY GOD IN HIS RIGHTEOUS ANGER:
___________________________________________

(12) SLIGHTLY RISQUE BODY PART(s): ____________________

(13) EXTREMELY RISQUE BODY PART(S): ____________________

(14) SLANG TERM FOR BODY PART(S) IN (12): __________________

(15) SLANG TERM FOR BODY PARTS IN (13): _______________

(16) ANY NUMBER BETWEEN 50 AND 99: __________________

(17) ANY NUMBER BETWEEN 90 AND 100: _________________

(18) ANY NUMBER BETWEEN 99 AND 100: _________________

(19) SYNONYM FOR “BOVINE EXCREMENT”: ________________________

(20) FAMOUS MURDERING DICTATOR: ____________________________

(21) FAMOUS SAINT: _____________________

(22) ANY USEFUL TALENT: _____________________

(23) ANY TALENT THAT, WHILE UNUSEFUL, AT LEAST PROVIDES SOME FORM OF MILD ENTERTAINMENT TO OTHERS: _________________

(24) ANY TALENT THAT SERVES NO USEFUL PURPOSE OR HAS NO ENTERTAINMENT VALUE WHATSOEVER:
 _____________________________________________

(25) SEXUAL PREFERENCE:  _________________

(26) A DIFFERENT SEXUAL PREFERENCE THAN (25): _________________

(27) A DIFFERENT SEXUAL PREFERENCE THAN (25) or (26):
__________________________________

(28) A DIFFERENT SEXUAL PREFERENCE THAN (25), (26), or (27):
____________________________________

(29) A NUMBER LESS THAN 12: ______________________

(30) A NUMBER LARGER THAN 21: ____________________

(31) ANY NUMBER IN THE TEENS: ________________

(32) ANY INTIMATE ACT THAT INVOLVES NO MORE OR NO LESS THAN GETTING TO SECOND OR THIRD BASE: _____________________________

(33) PARENTAL UNIT: ______________________________

(34) ONE OF THE NAMES OF THE DEVIL: ______________________

After choosing these 34 responses, click on the picture below, print it off, and fill in your responses in the appropriately numbered blanks. Enjoy!

MTV Form

~Joel

You can find lots of ________ and _________ at humor-blogs.com.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

whoa. woohoo! and yay. oh, and thanks Joel for such a fun — albeit long(ish)-yet-thought-provoking — post! wish i had a more “relevant” response, but, uh, i’m thinkin’ that form is gonna take a few minutes to fill out (percentage greater than 1.3%?? o-ka-a-a-y…).

not to worry… i’ll be back! 🙂 xox

Comment by One Hot Puppy

Hey folks…
Yep, I am gonna make you work for your laughs. I think (and hope) it’s worth it in the end, though.

🙂 Enjoy.

Comment by Joel

Before I knew what I was doing, I was all set to dutifully follow the instructions…copy into Word…

But first I had to come give a proper welcome and say great fun indeed Joel from CrummyChurchSigns! Now I’m off to MadLib (love madlibs)!

Comment by Lampsha f/k/a Lampy a/k/a G

Diesel, sniff, sniff – it does seem like just yesterday that I had to drop kick your hands off my fortune you frugal Dutch, well let’s not get into that again. Ahh, fond memories indeed.

Comment by Princess Lampsha

Did anyone else put “blogging” for #23?

Welcome, Joel!

Comment by mattresspolice

Couldn’t we have combined items 29 through 31 and just asked “Pick three friggin’ numbers?” Jeez…

Welcome, Joel, nice to meet you. I might get to your form before April 16th, but no promises.

Comment by Al

all these numbers makes me think that, instead of going for Laughs, we’re shootin’ for MadLib Graphs. hahahahahahahahaha! (in my lame head that was hilarious)

also… uh, about that form? any chance we can find another one to click on/print out? (just sayin’… on my computer, ’tis not as legible as i might like. but then, my eyes are old. and tired. very very tired)

still — too too too fun, Joel! so sorry the turnout hasn’t been great today — apparently more than a few folks acutally do celebrate President’s Day/Week, among them, everyone (well, almost everyone) who reads this blog! ah well — still a funfunfun post — and those of us who ARE around, truly appreciate your efforts to entertain! xox

Comment by snuppy

OK, I’m back, and all caught up. Pretty funny exercise, Joel. Fun! And even a little fat-burning,

Comment by Al

d’oh! okay, so all i have to do is “double” click that image, then i get the full screen version? so simple a 5 year old child could figure it out. that was my problem, there are no 5 year olds in our house. (ba-dump-bum) xox

Comment by snuppy

Thanks, snuppy n’ Al.

I think in my efforts to prove that I can write longer-form humor (rather than little one liners), I went a little TOO long. If OHP n’ the crew will have me back at some point, I can make my next post a more manageable length.

Those of you who plowed through and enjoyed it…thanks!

Comment by Joel

Oh, and Diesel…in MY particular case, I put blogging in #24.

Comment by Joel




Leave a Reply

