Central Snark


Oy by Snuppy
Monday, 21 May 2007, 8:24am
Filed under: d'oh!

looking for inspirationONE of the best parts about weekends is that they give us a chance to kick back, relax, eat a lot of Mexican food, and, um, not blog. One of the worst parts about weekends is that they give YOU a chance to do the same. Sadly, when that happens, A) we don’t bother to write a post for Monday until the last possible minute (i.e., Monday morning), and find ourselves scrambling for something to write about, and B) you don’t bother visiting us until the last possible minute (i.e. Monday morning), and find yourselves scrambling to hear what Fabulous Saturday Spin you’ve missed out on. Damn us all anyway! What the hell were we thinking?

WAIT, we know what we were thinking. We were thinking we’d magically construct a post in our heads while we slept, as is so often the case. You, on the other hand, were thinking DJ LAMPSHA wouldn’t notice the fact that you didn’t come by, because she’d be too busy with her own version of weekend kicking back/relaxing/eating/not blogging. And you may be right, because we have no idea whether or not she didn’t notice the rather pathetic turnout over the past two days, but guess what? We did. And we have to say we’re disappointed in some of you. Not all, but some. That said, we’re grateful to you for giving us the opportunity to chide you for not showing your sorry faces (those of you who didn’t, and you know who you are). Especially since we couldn’t sleep a wink last night, which meant we didn’t get to wake up with our highly anticipated magical inspiration for blog writing this morning. Oy.

STILL, we realize we’d be remiss if we failed to provide you with our usual “musical opposites for those coveted cheap laughs” to Lampsha’s Saturday Spinning fabulousness on this fine Monday morning, and so we humbly offer up something that will appeal to the, um, animal lover in you all. Or the Nordic lover. Or the Led Zeplin lover. Whatever. We have places to go, therapists to see, and naps to take.

YES, we promise DIESEL will be here tomorrow to help you forget you ever saw that. And TEH PENGUIN will be here on Wednesday, to remind you why you kind of liked it in the first place.

~snuppy

Viking kittens run amuck on Humor-Blogs.com.

16 Comments so far
Leave a comment

seriously, anyone who didn’t take a listen to the BALKAN BEAT BOX over the weekend missed out on some HOT music!

that said, i’m guessing many of you have seen this video — if not, you’re in for a … treat.

oh well, it’s Monday, what’d ya expect? 😉 xox

Comment by One Hot Puppy

You know what’s so great about this morning’s Viking Kitten video is I now realize I never really knew the words to Led Zep’s Immigrant Song. Oh I would sing along when it came on the radio but apparently MY words did not come close to matching the real lyrics….hahahaha! Thanks for the Monday morning laugh – I needed that.

Comment by BoBo

Bobo: i know, me too! kind of sad, really, but in a funny way. sort of… but not really. d’oh! xox

Comment by snuppy

Aaaaaaaaaaa-ah! Whoa, this takes me way back to when I was little. I always liked this song, but never knew the lyrics either – Only the Aaaaaaaaaaa-ah part. Just makes you want to go out and conquer…uh, something.

Comment by Theresa

Okay, I can’t see the vid yet, but I’m getting an inclination my lyrics may have been out of sinc.

“Come to the land of the ice and snow and the yadda yadda something something, Aaaaaaaaaaaaa-ah!”

Well I’ll give everyone a pass because even if they don’t like my spins, I wasn’t here to notice – so there! Take that batface! But thanks anyway Snuppy for the chiding on my behalf. I’m off to eat worms. xoxox

Comment by LAMPSHA

I am so glad I finally learned the words to that song.

Comment by Nessa

hey…uncle Jon! So he made it?!

Now that wa shilarious and unlike you lot, this wa smy ifrst introduction to this song. I am sad that way…but going out in your boat and conquering ..uhh…something is not encouraged here. WE´d enver come back and it´s not like we have a huge population to speak off;)

Comment by Penguin

Well, before you get too comfortable with these lyrics, I’d like someone to figure out how whoever it was got “hot springs” out of “harsh winds”, which are much more likely to blow across a Viking landscape, even in Iceland, Minka.

Now excuse me while I go soak my head and see if I can dislodge this earworm. Thanks a lot. 😉

Comment by oceallaigh

Theresa: yeah, not sure i imagined kittens when i used to listen to this song in my “youth”, but then, i’m guessin’ Jimmy Page and/or Robert Plant didn’t either, back when they first recorded it! xox

Lampsha: why that’s exactly how the lyrics go! yada yada yada, something something to the Western Shore. Aaaaaaaahhh…ah! xox

Nessa: we aim to amuse and educate. xox

Penguin: girlfriend, you are WAY too young to be familiar with Led Zeplin. wait… no you’re not. i confess i did have you in mind when i thought of tossing up this video, today! 🙂 xox

O’C: eh — harsh winds/hot springs… i believe both can be found in Iceland (did we NOT discuss this phenomenon just a couple of months ago in Maine?? why yes, i belive we did) since this is merely a cheesy animated video, it stands to reason they’d get the lyrics wrong… 😉 xox

Comment by snuppy

Okay…I had to look it up

Immigrant Song

We come from the land of the ice and snow,
From the midnight sun where the hot springs blow.
The hammer of the gods will drive our ships to new lands,
To fight the horde, singing and crying: Valhalla, I am coming!

On we sweep with threshing oar, Our only goal will be the western shore.

Ah, ah,
We come from the land of the ice and snow,
From the midnight sun where the hot springs blow.
How soft your fields so green, can whisper tales of gore,
Of how we calmed the tides of war. We are your overlords.

On we sweep with threshing oar, Our only goal will be the western shore.

So now you’d better stop and rebuild all your ruins,
For peace and trust can win the day despite of all your losing.

Comment by BoBo

SCORE ONE for the BoBo! GOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAA-LLLL! m’kay, guess that means the cheesy animated version had it right after all. still, i’m thinkin’ that, in the end, it doesn’t matter. (tho’ hot springs are decidedly nicer than harsh winds, as far as i’m concerned) 😉 xox

Comment by snuppy

I’m so easily distracted by videos featuring funny kittens/cats that once I got done with Viking Kittens I amused myself with “Cats In Your Things, Doing Stuff!”. If I wasn’t such a technotard, I’d post the URL, but too bad look it up cuz it is very funny, if not a little too fast paced. Anyway, thanks for makin’ me waste 15 minutes 😉

Comment by Claire

Okay, now that I’ve seen it, I don’t think you gave yourself enough credit for a pretty funny find. I had a good little laugh and also realized I knew about half the lyrics and then I sang something something yada yada.

Comment by LAMPSHA

Led Zeppelin is cool…I just had a fun time listening to them today…here is a shout-out to You tube!

I love that video you put up today…I only wish the Viking horns had a penguin underneath, instead of a fluffy thing 🙂

Comment by Penguin

Penguin, what’s wrong with fluffy things?

I’m sorry but Led Zep rocks. Dude!

Comment by Walela

Claire: YouTube? i’m on my way! 🙂 xox

Lampsha: pretty sure “something something yada yada” is the way we all sang that song, back in the day! 😉 xox

Penguin: don’t think i didn’t look for Viking Penguins, because i did. sadly, there were none to be found. guess we’ll have to make our own video someday, eh? 😉 xox

Walela: oh, don’t be so sensitive. she wasn’t referring to the material between your ears. (not this time, anyway) and yeah, Led Zep rocks! Def. 🙂 xox

Comment by snuppy




Leave a Reply

