Central Snark


SATURDAY SPIN by Snuppy
Saturday, 21 July 2007, 7:44am
Filed under: Lampsha Spins

Have we heard from any Swedish acts yet?

Well then it’s about time for Peter Bjorn and John (hey – they leave the commas out) a Swedish indie rock band. I was listening to a short “take 5” interview with them on the radio just the other day while driving and they sounded like cool fun down to earth guys. PB&J (if I may be so personal and no, I did not coin that) just decided to go by their own first names because when they came out in 1999, there seemed to be so many “The” groups which they felt limited them to a “yes I am a punk/funk band” or whatever mode. They have about three albums under their belts and I think they’ve got a few more good ones to go.

Anyway, this will be short and sweet – just the way you like it. Except, I have thrown in two videos because, well I just couldn’t decide. If you like the first, listen to the second – you’ve got the whole weekend. Couldn’t leave out the first one, Young Folks, could I now LBP? Mostly, because it’s quite fun.

AND:

Now if that wasn’t enough to make you go “yah-yah”, click on over to their MySpace.

Have a great weekend – in Sweden, in Canada, in the US or wherever you are!

~ DJ LAMPSHA

ps: Head on over to Humor-blogs.com where I hear they’re giving out Swedish fish all weekend!

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

*giggles*

I am first! Boy, I am good!

Now this I have never heard before. Funnily enough! But I just loved the second video from an artistic point of view, from a vocal appreciation and the dude was kinda cute, too. Yummy!

Comment by Penguin

Very interesting group. I liked the simple animation in the first video and agree with the Penguin that the second was an artistic triumph. Unique sound as well – headed over to find out more from MySpace.

Another find DJ Lampsha…the streak continues!

Comment by BoBo

loving that first tune — and yes, i know how to whistle, too! which will come in handy, especially with that happy tune. πŸ˜‰

and i ADORE the imagery in that second video.

great find, Lampsha, as per your usual! oh, and, aside from the fact that this is a Swedish based group, how fun is it that their initials are the same as my favorite sandwich? (or as i just wrote it “sandwish”, which is either a combo of “Swedish/sandwich” or an indication that i’m hungry!)

WOO. and HOO!!

,,\/(^_^)\/,, peace, love, and sandwiches, baby!

Comment by snuppy

Penguin – look at you, sneaking right into first place! And I have to agree with you on all points. I just couldn’t leave the first one out because it was quite fun!

Bobo, I have to go check out their MySpace too. I may end up downloading some of these for my new *GASP* iPod!!!

Snuppy, yes sandwish must be a Swedish sandwich. Yes, that first tune is fun with the whistling and the beat. So you can see why I was torn and just tossed in two videos today.

Wow, and I’m impressed that to top off all of your other talents, you whistle too! You really make a good NBFF!

XOX Hope you 3 are having a great Saturday!

Comment by LAMPSHA

I really like your posts.The tunes are really catchy and they whistle alot.

To other blogger peoples: In one of the dialogue bubbles when someone said bassline I thought it said basoline.

Comment by talimuffin

talimuffin: i couldn’t agree with you MORE! your mom’s posts are amazing! but then, i’m not just a fan of my NBFF’s great taste in music, i think she’s fantastic, period!

as for that line? heh… as long as it wasn’t “vasoline”, i think it’s all good! πŸ˜‰

Comment by snuppy

I love that song! πŸ™‚ Its one that plays on my ipod as I drive to dance camp several times a week.

Comment by cj

Talimuffin – you are my biggest fan – well, you and ChooChoo. Maybe he needed some basoline to get a good bassline going – maybe. XOX

Snuppy,feelings el mutual! XOX

cj, now are you all whistling along? Cause I can picture that. πŸ™‚ Nice to see you spinning!

Comment by LAMPSHA

Wow, I really like them! That first song and video really had me mesmerized for some reason (Young Folks). Glad I stopped by.

Comment by AP3




Leave a Reply

