Central Snark


Oh Tay! by Snuppy
Thursday, 23 August 2007, 8:40am
Filed under: funny..., music music, Pop! goes the Diesel | Tags:

oh tay!IF it’s Thursday, it must be time to mock DIESEL. Why? Because we want to… and, more importantly, because we can.

WE’VE grown used to pulling up next to the empty parking spot reserved for our so-called friend, Diesel. We’ve grown into the habit of pimping his blog/t-shirts and/or “book“. We’ve grown old waiting for that e-mail telling us he’s finally written another winning clever and/or hilarious post. That said, we have NOT grown accustomed to pulling a topic out of our asses and/or thin air. Which is why, we suppose, on days we’ve got nothing worthwhile and/or hilarious to say, we’ve grown to rely heavily on YouTube.

YESTERDAY, our beautiful friend and bloggy-co-conspirator, TEH PENGUIN, asked the question “How Stupid Are We?”. Tho’ we don’t have the answer, we do know there are a lot of incredibly stupid people out there. For example, close to 7 million folks have already tuned into the following video (without the benefit of even one crummy commercial, CRUMMYJOEL), which, as you’re about to discover for yourselves, is “stupid”, at best. Here’s what we know after listening — there are literally millions so desperate to be “entertained” they’ll watch and/or listen to anything. Sadly, we can now be counted among them. Blame Diesel for abandoning us in our hour of need, forcing us take drastic/desperate measures in order to provide a small amount of amusement. Then, enter the musical abyss known as: Tay Zonday’s Chocolate Rain.

MMM. Chocolate rain. In theory, sounds so tasty, in this song, so… wrong.

*Please note: we entitled this post “Oh Tay” and featured the picture at the top of the page for 2 reasons: 1) Tay is the first name of the kid responsible for this stupid song (duh) and B) “Oh Tay” reminded us of the hilarious character created by Eddie Murphy for SNL, back in the 80’s, “Buh-weet” — based on the beloved character “Buckwheat” (played to enduring/endearing adorableness by wonderful child actor Billie Thomas) featured in a show we watched with great glee when we were growing up, Our Gang (aka The Little Rascals). Oh tay? Oh tay!

~snuppy

It’s raining chocolate-covered HAHAHA’s at Humor-blogs.com.

20 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i know YOU know i’m in NO way/shape and/or form racist, but it occurred to me (thanks to a comment from my son — who’s responsible for bringing this ridiculous video to my attention in the first place) that some of you guys might not catch the “reference”. that said, if you have a minute, watch the video linked through “Buh-weet”… you won’t be sorry (tho’ the quality isn’t great, it’s still funny). for those who followed Eddie Murphy’s hilarious parody, you might also recall the running joke about Buh-weet’s assination, which was beyond funny. at least I thought so!

thinking we might have a little fun with Sex, Ed? tomorrow… might be a good time to break out the ol’ Thetharuth (that’s Thesaurus to those of you without a lisp). πŸ˜‰

Comment by One Hot Puppy

what just happened? Why is taht dude doing that? And more seriously, why is his head moving from the microphone quickly away and towards, every few seconds. I am quite disturbed now. Thank you!
πŸ™‚

Comment by Penguin

i know, i know… i was disturbed, too. apparently he moves his head in order to take a breath. pretty weird, no? currently, there are a gazillion parodies of this “performance” on YouTube… my favorite is THIS ONE, featuring a dog puppet. (easier on the eyes than poor Tay, in my humble opinion). πŸ˜‰

Comment by snuppy

That was…ummm…surprising. Didn’t expect the big voice. I did like it when Tay kind of got into it near the end. Uh oh. The song is now stuck in my head. Goodbye.

Comment by BoBo

I can’t understand what it’s supposed to be a metaphor for (for… for… echo… echo… batting for the giants… iants… iants…). Racism? Is racism tasty but sticky? I just don’t get it.

Comment by Diesel

I think that we are losing sight of the potential perils of chocolate rain. Imagine:

1. Chocolate rain clogs up the gears on my bicycle, causing me to swerve.
2. Chocolate rain gets in my eyes and I veer into the path of an oncoming car.
3. Chocolate rain makes the road slippery so the car hits me.
4. Ants are attracted to my chocolate-covered body and they eat me to death.

I don’t think we’re taking this health hazard seriously enough, folks.

Comment by the frogster

Very strange! So, what’s that all about. Chocolate rain, is that anything like acid rain? I did love the Buh-weet thing, now that really got me laughing. And I remember all the lazy Saturday afternoons when I used to watch The Little Rascals, now that brings back fond memories.

Comment by Theresa

BoBo: you watched this thing until the end? whoa… i’m impressed. πŸ˜‰

Diesel: me neither. i mean, at first i figured there’d be some substance to the lyrics, but that just wasn’t the case (the case… the case…). maybe it’s intended as a metaphor for the homogenization of the world — you know, once everything’s covered in “Chocolate Rain” we’ll all look the same? nah… i think that kid just ate one too many candy bars before sittin’ down at the piano. πŸ™„

Frogster: good point. ooooh… now i’m scared. 😯

Theresa: glad you enjoyed “Buh-weet” — and SO glad at least one other person is familiar with The Little Rascals. weren’t they great? (yes, yes they were!) πŸ™‚

Comment by snuppy

This student was featured in a blurb in people magazine (We have them in the ladies room here at work, ok?) I had never heard of this until yesterday. I listened. I was lost. I thought I was the only one who didn’t get it. This post and everyone’s comments have made me feel better. Thanks.

Comment by Nessa

DIOS MIO! It sounds like I am missing out but I am rushing out the door after, literally, two seconds online! BWAAAAAH!

But I WILL be back and I WILL watch this mystery video FO SHO!

And in the meanwhile, as I work on a new post (well, not RIGHT NOW!), I WILL pimp my current one dammit!

And can you believe that I only caught snippets here and there of the famous Little Rascals? *Sighetty sigh* but growing up in Spain can do that to a bohemian! πŸ˜‰

Faboo post, what I could READ (and man dost thou make me laugh oh Snuppylicious Neva de mi corazΓ³n y de mi alma!) at least, and I will be back and for now…

BoheMia OUT!!!!

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

WTF!? This guy looks like he’s 12, sounds like he’s about 75. Then he sings in a mysterious code that no one seeems to be able to crack…

Comment by Claire

I am back.

Um…

My head hurts, I have no fucking clue what chocolate rain is though I was intrigued at first (Now? Not so much!), and I have an inexplicable desire to peck sporadically at my passing kids, like a lopsided chicken on crack!

CRACK JACK!

Bobo! You watched the whole thing? Dios mio! Either thou are utterly brave or utterly masochistic… or would that be masochistically brave? Bravely masochistic?

Um…

I DID however get to see more of Eddie Murphy’s skits throughout the years and LOOOOVED those! Yeah, trying to stay positive, veer away from that damn “Chocolate Rain” but, like my dear friend from the Banjoey clan, the damn song will not LEAVE!

HELP MEEEE!

πŸ˜‰

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

Wow. That was somethin’. Somethin’ painful. I’m having William Hung flashbacks. I need some wine.

Comment by Madmad

Nessa: i recently read an article about him in Entertainment Weekly, but totally forgot until my (rotten) son made me watch. at least you and i were (and are) in the same boat! πŸ˜‰

CYM: soooooo sorry to plant this ridiculous melody inside that beautiful head of yours, amiga! and forgive ME for not pimping that AMAZING/EMOTIONAL POST FOR YOU!! d’oh! (i know i owe you an e-mail, and i’ll try to get that off later tonight) πŸ™‚

Claire: my thought exactly! i mean, how in the hell is THAT voice coming out of THAT kid? ’tis a mystery — not unlike that “chocolate rain” he keeps singin’ about! πŸ˜‰

Madmad: laughing, because i had the same scary flashback. THEN i started worrying that some hot-shot music producer might see fit to put those two “disturbing” vocalists together. *shudders* πŸ™„

Comment by snuppy

watchdog bark, do he bite, kill my landlord.

Comment by Chris C

Hey Crazy Auntie Snup,
I popped this guys name into Google to see what all the hub-bub is and it turns out this guy is actually 25. Who knows why most things take off and become viral, but the tune does stick in your head after half the song. Thanks for that. Thanks a lot! :0)
Now my kids and I will be singing it for days adding our own stupid lyrics until someone sticks a fork in their eye! {Most likely me}.

Comment by Zoning Out Again

All I can think of when I hear his voice is… “you’re a mean one, Mr. Grinch…”

He’s actually very talented.

Comment by Jeff

Chris: …chocolate rain??? πŸ˜‰

ZOA: heh — he’s 25? whoa. (still, he looks 12, doesn’t he?) not surprised you’re coming up with your own lyrics… after listening to this stupid song, i’m sorry to say it’s almost hard not to! d’oh! πŸ™„

Jeff: talented? hmmmm… well, he does have a deep voice, i’ll give ya that! (actually, i agree with you to a point, he can carry a tune, i just wish he hadn’t carried this one to the lengths he did!) πŸ™‚

Comment by snuppy

buckwheat on SNL was played by Eddie Murphy who also did ‘Mr. Robinson’s Neighborhood” which is where the quote came from. πŸ™‚

Comment by Chris C

Chris: and “d’oh!” to me, because i knew that! (at least i did after you reminded me…) 😳

Comment by snuppy




Leave a Reply

