Central Snark


BoBo & The Black Keys by Snuppy
Saturday, 1 September 2007, 8:14am
Filed under: guest who?, music music | Tags:

happy little boboLOOK who showed up to help a vacationing and/or “getting kids ready for school” frazzled-yet-fabulous DJ LAMPSHA out with a Saturday Spin?? That’s right, BOBO. But not just any BoBo, mind you… a Birthday BoBo. A Birthday BoBo Banjoey. On the first day of the month! And you know what that means, don’t ya? Yeah, we don’t either. Oh shut up, we’re kidding! That means our own dear BoBo’s a whole year older and/or wiser, yet still dumb sweet enough to do his loving wife a favor now and again, so she can have time to buy bake a fabulous cake! Heck, maybe even decorate it with candles, rabbit, rabbits, and stuff! Thank you for Spinning your own brand of musical magic today, BoBo… not only do you get better and are you more loved with each passing year, you totally rock! ~Snuppy (aka BoBo’s loving wife)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

This brings back memories of those long ago days of my youth when I briefly served as a top 40 DJ at a radio station in Hanford, California. Ah yes, those were the days…going to school, working nights at a department store, and racing 33 miles down the highway each Saturday and Sunday night after work to pull a 5 hour shift on the radio. I think I sounded something like this:

“That was the Bee Gees with How Deep is Your Love right here on KISS-FM… next up the Bay City Rollers with, yep, you guessed it…S-A-T-U-R-D-A-Y Night.” (and fade up music)

Believe you me, I was no threat to Kasey Kasem and I’m certainly not worthy to fill the shoes of the one and only DJ Lampsha…that said…our selection for this Saturday’s spin was actually inspired by one of Lampsha’s fabo posts from a while back which listed some of the top performers of 2006 as judged by her favorite radio station here in New York. On that list was a little known (to us) duo out of Akron, Ohio that called themselves The Black Keys. At Lampsha’s suggestion we sampled a number of the artists listed but it was The Black Keys which caught our fancy more than the rest.

As the bio on their website points out, the musical partnership of Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney is an unlikely one but the sound they manage to produce is the biggest surprise of all.

The video is strange… we found the music raw, soulful, inspired. Enjoy!

~DJ BoBo (but only for a day — albeit a Birthday, but a “day”, nonetheless)

Every day’s a Saturday night on Humor-blogs.com. (don’t ask)

20 Comments so far
Leave a comment

hope you ALL have a fantastic Labor Day Weekend. to celebrate BoBo’s birthday, we’re going to a wedding. won’t that be fun? (actually it will be fine, except for the part where i have another crappy sore throat, and BoBo hates doing anything social) later i’ll “bake” and “decorate” that cake, “treat” him to Mexican take-out, and we’ll watch a few more riveting episodes of Friends (unless the Dodgers are playing — then all “Friends” watching bets are off!) πŸ™‚

PS: this particular video is very weird, but the song is awesome (in our humble opinion) the second link in the post (in bold) is for The Black Keys’ MySpace page, which features several of their unique tunes. they’re an interesting blend of blues/rock and… something else. whatever they are, they’re terrific! (what can i say? BoBo sampled ’em, downloaded a bunch of their songs, stuck ’em on his iPod – and mine — and the rest, as i like to say in the privacy of my fragile little brain, is musical history!)

Comment by One Hot Puppy

Huh! I loved that video. Guess I’m as strange as I ever was.

Off to check out the other links.

Happy Birthday BoBo! And rabbit rabbit.

Comment by TLP

TLP: if YOU’RE “strange” then i am, too! and d’oh! you came over here before i had a chance to add in the Rabbit, rabbit! (i remembered while in the shower. i HATE when that happens!) Rabbit, Rabbit to you, too!! πŸ™‚

Comment by snuppy

Happy Birthday, Bobo.

*clears throat and then remembers in time that she like him…*

What a wonderful stand-in…I know Lampy will approve.

For some reason the Black Keys have made it into my i-pod too πŸ™‚ That’s right…they came for YOUR i-tunes store πŸ™‚ I love them!

Oh and about the FRIENDS tonight…if you have questions about plot, omitted scenes and/or silly trivia from behind teh scenes…you can turn to me πŸ™‚

Have a fabulous day, you too…and know that I am studying hard so I cna have Mexican soon. I found a chicken Quesidilla teh other dya on a menu here, I almost cried. true story!

happy birthday, Bobo!

Comment by Penguin

I menat to type “you two”, but as typing goes…I bet you have learned to read between the letters πŸ™‚

Comment by Penguin

Happy birthday to Bobo! Rabbit, rabbit to everyone, too:)

That was a wild video, very imaginative. Died lipsyncing, hehehehe.
How cool was that, to DJ? Wow.

Comment by actonbell

Rabbit rabbit!

Happy Birthday Bobo!!! Sorry to make you work on your birthday but this looks like a labor of love to me. Great post. I have heard the Black Keys thanks to your ipod choices. I need to check into them more – finally a band that Scissors will like also! Weird yet funny video. I loved their bio also.

Great job Bobo and thanks for filling in on such short notice. Have a wonderful birthday and how perfect that it falls on the beginning of a long beautiful weekend! Love when that happens.

Oh and Snuppy – good look on the cake! XOX

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

Bobo, very cool on dj-ing!

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

BTW, if you say Rabbit Rabbit on your birthday, it’s supposed to be a bonus good luck.
See: http://community.livejournal.com/culturalanthro/19872.html

Comment by TLP

Rabbit, Rabbit (thanks for the tip TLP! Thank you ALL for the b-day wishes although I’ve reached the point where they are to be downplayed.

Thank you Snuppy…any day with you is a gift indeed!

Comment by BoBo

Downplayed? Okay. Happy Birthday Bobo

Comment by IDiveAtNight

Hey Penguin…perhaps we could get you on the phone tonight as we sit down to watch Friends reruns? It’s just not the same without your insightful commentary.

Comment by BoBo

Hey Penguin part two…thank you so much for the lovely and thoughtful message! We were out back with the pups when you called. The wedding was thankfully short and we left the festivities early as we are prone to do. Anyway, the mexican food is on order and Snuppy is now frosting a chocolate fudge, chocolate, chocolate something, chocolate, cake, which of course I will be compelled to try. πŸ™‚ It occurs to me that I was around for your birthday…why are you not here for mine? πŸ˜‰

Comment by BoBo

Bobo…there are very few things that would take priorities before hanging with you guys, any day…let alone your birthday.
Apparently though…uinversities have an idea of a rigid reading programme that should infest your mind with wonder, thought and deductive reasioning and…every book seems to sell critical thinking exercises as well. I was told to do that instead…

so far: I have fed my body lots of coffee, none of them as strong as yours, mind you…but I am ready to go into shock any day now πŸ™‚

I hope Friends made you laugh and i’ll see you guys soon!

Comment by Penguin

What a cool video. Shooting musicians seems so obvious- why has no one thought of that before? I mean besides Marvin Gaye, Sr.

Happy birthday, DJ

Comment by Walela

Happy Birthday Bobo!
“How do you feel about being dead?” -weird vid, but I kinda liked it too.

Comment by Claire

Very weird video. Though I did love the line “At least I died doing what I love. Y’know…lipsyncing.”

Oh downplay the birthday? HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY BOBO! Pretty sure you won’t notice that one.

Comment by littlebluepill

Happy B-Day, Bobo! I like that song. Sounds like Jimi Hendrix and the White Stripes and… something else.

And I love the line, “At least I died doing what I love… lip synching.”

Comment by Diesel

I do love the Black Keys and this vid is awesome.
Even Mr. Logo, who is not known for his vast and varied musical taste loved it when I showed it to him. When I linked this song a while back I didnt get alot of enthusiasm about it but I LOVE it.

Comment by logoβ„’

Thank you one and all for the wonderful birthday wishes – it was a fine day – and for stopping to sample The Black Keys. Look for the one and only DJ Lampsha back in this space on Saturday!

Comment by BoBo




Leave a Reply

