Central Snark


Now, just relax…. by Snuppy
Wednesday, 3 October 2007, 7:18am
Filed under: funny...

hypnosis.jpeg“A woman comes home and tells her husband, “Remember those headaches I’ve been having all these years? Well, they’re gone.” “No more headaches?” the husband asks, “What happened?” His wife replies, “Margie referred me to a hypnotist. He told me to stand in front of a mirror, stare at myself and repeat, ‘I do not have a headache, I do not have a headache, I do not have a headache.’ It worked! The headaches are all gone.” The husband replies, “Well, that’s wonderful.” His wife then says, “You know, you haven’t exactly been a ball of fire in the bedroom these last few years. Why don’t you go see the hypnotist and see if he can do anything for that?” The husband agrees to try it. Following his appointment, the husband comes home, rips off his clothes, picks up his wife, and carries her into the bedroom. He puts her on the bed and says, “Don’t move, I’ll be right back.” He goes into the bathroom and comes back a few minutes later, jumps into bed, and makes passionate love to his wife like never before. His wife says, “Wow! That was wonderful!” The husband says, “Don’t move! I’ll be right back.” He returns to the bathroom and then goes back to the bedroom, and round two is even better than the first time. The wife sits up and her head is spinning. Her husband again says, “Don’t move, I’ll be right back.” With that, he goes back into the bathroom. This time, his wife quietly follows him and there, in the bathroom, she sees him standing in front of the mirror, saying, “She’s not my wife. She’s not my wife. She’s not my wife.”

Just easing you in. Welcome to another installment of the Penguins interesting studies. So what do you think? Hypnosis is way cool, something that happens to other people or a bunch of boo-hockey?

I bet every one of us has seen those community-church gatherings where someone in a chair is pushed up the stage, and the ever so talented preacher/hypnotist touches the cripple’s forehead and up he gets and steadily walks into the rest of his life leaving is chair behind. *wipes tears* Parlor tricks and stage shows certainly have given the concept of hynosis a bad name.

Ok, by now you should be able to sense that I hold a slightly reserved opinion about the accuracy of such daily miracles. It is however not my intention to sway you in one way or another, but I am curious of what you believe, have experienced or heard from someone who underwent such a performance.

There are two interesting studies that highlight a point for either against or for the relevance of hypnosis.

1.) In 1977, the year I was born, Ernest Hilgard conducted a study to prove that there is something happening within the mind while hypnosis occurs. “In the procedure, hypnotized volunteers had to submerge an arm in ice water for several seconds, an experience that is normally excruciating. They were told that they would feel no pain, but that the non-submerged hand would be able to signal the level of any pain by pressing a key. In this situation, many people said they felt little or no pain-yet at the same time, their free hand was busily pressing the key. After the session, these people continued to insist that they had been pain-free.”

Bummer, huh?
2.) “In a fascinating program of research, Nicholas Spanos directed hypnotized Canadian university students to regress past their own births to previous lives. About a third of the students (who already believed in reincarnation) reported being able to do so. But when they were asked, while supposedly reliving a past life, to name the leader of their country, say whether the country was at peace or at war, or describe the money used in that community, the students could not do it. One young man in particular, who thought he was Julius Caesar, said it was 50 A.D. and he was Emperor of Rome. (Caesar died in 44 B.C and was never crowned emperor, let alone that dating years A.D. and B.C did not begin until several centuries later!). Not knowing anything about the language, dates, customs, and events of their “previous life” did not deter the students from constructing a story about it, however.”

Those Canadians!

While my mind is not entirely made up, but I do believe that hypnosis holds a part in medical and psychological treatments, I am curious about your views. Let alone that they might help with a paper I am writing. 😉

~Penguin out!

Now, you will feel no pain, your eye-lids are getting heavier and your finger slowly presses this link: Humor-blogs!

24 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am not at work

I am not at work

I am not at work

Only 17 more days until London and Paris!!!!!! So excited, going to be meeting five bloggers and counting. So cool. 😀

Comment by Brian

My opinion is that hypnosis is a bunch of chicken feed and I’m a duck!

Comment by Walela

I must go to Humor.blogs, I must go to Humor.blogs….Nope, I don’t believe in this hypnosis stuff. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I think I’ll just pop over to Humor.blogs.

Comment by Theresa

my dear (and very brilliant) brother-in-law is a clinical psychologist as well as a hypnotherapist, and i can tell you hypnosis does, indeed, work. well, it works if the mind is “willing”. when i was pregnant with my second child, i used to do “relaxation” exercises (with my Brother-in-law) that involved a form of “self-hypnosis”. i tell ya, i was well into labor before requiring any form of pain medication (epidurals were not the accepted form of “relief” they are today). even now i use “relaxation” techniques to overcome painful adversity (i broke my wrist a few years ago and required a 4 1/2 hour surgery to repair the damage) and i honestly believe the practice not only helped with the pain, but also with my recovery.

a “duck”, Walela, or a goose?? 😉

Comment by snuppy

The best hype-nosis show I ever saw was at a Canadian university. 🙂 The hypnotist started with simple requests of a group of 50 people and gradually sent about 2/3 of them off the stage when they failed to respond as he wanted. Of the ones left, he made them look like idiots! Much to the amusement of the audience. I’m convinced that some people will gladly suspend their believe in dignity before their belief in hypnosis.

Comment by I Dive At Night

Brian, that will be a memorable occasion for all of you. No doubt about that. thanks for reading!

Walela, I would have classified you in quite a different species category…but yoru responce did not surprise me 🙂

Theresa, off you are to Humor blogs….when you hear laughter you’ll wake up 🙂

snuppy, yes you told me about that. I do believe you can have an impact on the mind, especially in a very relaxed stage…so I am open, almost tempted to try one day and experience for myself.

Morgan, you danced like a chicken, didn’t you?!

Comment by Penguin

Haven’t you seen Wallace and Grommit’s Curse of the WereRabbit? I rest my case. Of course, there was some contraption involved in the transferrance but still…

Comment by Lampsha

Well, the main thing is to first and foremost dispel the myth surrounding hypnosis where most people believe that you surrender total control and are vulnerable to be ordered about against your will… the very first thing told a hypnosis subject is that they are in full control and that their level of oppenness is directly related to the success of their experience.

I full believe in it and know it to work… Back when I was 19 I read a book I adore, “Many Lives, Many Masters”… at the end of the book is a self-hypnosis script. I, however, decided to test it on friends and MY GOD the results! A Venezuelan friend of mine went back to a previous life, reported a huge number of facts about a time that he was not familiar with in real life as well as gave details about a specific car called a Packard. We thought him nuts as in our day and age Packard had to do with computers and whatnot… we researched all the facts and they all panned out and some time later we went to a car museum in San Diego and lo and behold, there was an old model car, a Packard!

I also hypnotized this Iranian guy but the experience was so very real to him that it freaked him out and he avoided me like the plague, in spite of the fact that I explained to him until my damn face turned blue that I was not in control of him but nope… avoid me he did and never did we speak again!

And yet another time I hypnotized my cousin and the spirit of my recently deceased friend entered her body. She was in Spain when he passed away, had never met him and knew nothing of him and yet there she was, with him inside her body showing me specific mannerisms and whatnot that only he and I knew that proved it was indeed him… loooooong story (which I can tell you all about when we finally meet) short, he wanted me to call his mother who, he communicated, was crying that very second… I did to test him and she was crying… Furthermore, I knew the name of his sister, something he told me after passing but had never told me whilst alive, and it was correct…

I later visited his mother and helped her with her mourning but that’s a whole other story and tangent…

So I, for one, am a full believer but will emphasize that if it worked on the people I tried it on it was because they were absolutely open to it from the getgo… the ironic thing? No one could hypnotize me!!!

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy

ok wtf!

I just woke up after strangely falling asleep reading this post about an hour ago. Now there is a lol cat post on my blog, supposedly published by me 50 minutes ago.

Comment by Chris C

My father was a hypnotist for about 30 years so I know personally it works – but again, only for the willing. If you think it’s a sham then you won’t be able to relax enough to let the hypnotist do his thing. My father had many “clients” he helped and they would become so conditioned to his touch (he would put his hand on their shoulder during his sessions) that if he were to simply walk up behind them and touch them on the shoulder, they would fall limp into his arms. I witnessed this several times. One time when I was about 20, I had misplaced my wallet and couldn’t remember where I had left it. My dad hypnotized me and brought me back to the last time I had touched it. I had taken it out of my shorts at my cabin when I wanted to go swimming. Sure enough, that weekend I went up there and my wallet was on the fireplace mantel.

Again, there are many hypnotists who make a mockery of the science and do “shows” featuring several “subjects.” I’m skeptical of a lot of those performers. In those cases, it’s hard to tell if the people they are using are faking it for the sake of the show or if they are indeed under the power of suggestion. But in clinical environments, it’s a very real and useful practice.

Comment by Jeff

I believe that hypnosis is real enough if a person is willing. I believe it enough that I would NOT be willing. Daughter Della (3D) was one of a group of kids in college who volunteered to be hypnotized on stage. It definitely worked on them! Pretty darn funny!

A friend of mine had a dentist who hypnotized his clients before drilling. She was a truthful, sensible person, and I believe her when she says that it worked for her. She never had to have a shot for the pain.

Comment by tlp

Doug is a duck? He tastes like chicken.

Comment by tlp

Interesting topic! And Jeff, I did see a hypnotist show once, years ago, in college. It was hilarious, very light-hearted stuff. The mentalist’s name was Gill Eagles–a deliberately mnemonic name. He told us that the subject had to be very willing and able to concentrate. He called a lot more people up to the stage than he actually used–he dismissed all but a few very quickly. I don’t know, they might have been plants, but I recognized a couple of them from around the campus. Of course, they all wanted to please him and the audience.
Catty Yummy Mummy: GE said that, too, about being in control. He also told us that if a person was hypnotized and not brought out of it, they would drift into sleep and wake up naturally.

Comment by actonbell

I believe. Great post and comments. I grew up going to the kind of churches and tent revivals that featured “healing” services…the power of suggestion is an amazing thing.

Comment by BoBo

I have a friend who lost 100 pounds through weekly hypnosis sessions. They would put her in a deep state of relaxation and then teach her healthy eating habits. In other words, hypnosis kept her happily on a reduced calorie diet AND kept her exercising daily.

Comment by QuillDancer

I don’t know about all that “shoving on the head” stuff at revivals, but I believe there are some varying degrees of being hypnotized. I suffer from dental phobia, and have since I was a teenager. While sitting in the dentist’s chair one time, I decided to try to calm myself by doing a Lamaze breathing exercise. When the dentist came in, I realized I was so relaxed that I actually felt a little dizzy. Dentist and assistant became alarmed, took my blood pressure, and found that I had lowered it to a really low place, and so they told me to sit for a bit while my bp came back up. I was so surprised. I never had any pain meds during the births of my 3 kids – there really is something to those breathing exercises.

Comment by tsduff

when my sister was working on her own doctorate, she worked with a psychiatrist named Joseph Barber in So Cal, who created what i believe was the 1st “relaxation tape” involving guided imagery, and the series was initially developed for dental patients. but my sister, in her infinite wisdom, lent me the cassette, which i listened to until i started doing more intense work with her hubby. i used Lamaze techniques with my first baby, but utilizing the self-hypnosis, i can honestly say baby #2 (a child 3 pound heavier than baby #1) was easier to deliver. (mind you, i ran 3 miles a day through both pregnancies, so i was in great shape. but relaxed? not until i started doing this).

we later gave the cassette to a dear friend who was dying from complications from AIDS, and he told me before he passed that Barber’s tape was the ONLY thing that helped him relax enough to A) stop feeling pain and B) sleep.

Belleruth Naparstek has created an infinitely amazing series of guided imagery CD’s for folks who need help with everything from losing weight to coping with pain — her series for Cancer patients was developed at the behest of insurance companies, no less, after it was recognized her work was truly effective. (Joel uploaded her “session” on surgery to my ipod, and i actually listened to it throughout my lengthy surgery. even the anesthesiologist was impressed by how well i tolerated the pain.)

all this to say… this stuff works. it definitely works. but, as i said earlier, and everyone else has confirmed — only if the subject is willing to “let go” in order to keep their “senses” from getting the best of ’em. 😉

ooooh, and Jeff, my brother-in-law can do the same thing as your dad — it used to drive his mom crazy! (he’d touch her arm and then she couldn’t move it). and i love the story about your lost wallet. very cool. 🙂

Comment by snuppy

uh… i guess i went on in my last comment a bit more than i originally intended. sorry about that. i just got in a “hypnotic zone” and couldn’t help myself. d’oh! 🙄

Comment by snuppy

Lampy, I have not…I am very intrigued now 🙂

CYM, why does that not surprise me? I knew you might be more open to this than us mere mortals 🙂 I can’t wiat to hear your stories…I bet one could write a book just listening to you. It doesn’t surprise me that you could not be hypnotized…that brian of yours must be hard to calm 🙂

Chis C, did you look too long at the watch? It almost turned me cross eyed 🙂

Jeff, totally agree with you. I know that it has helped many frightened people to communicate their innermost fear- maybe shame- through hypnosis, thereby being able to project it on hypnosis itself.

TLP, Interesting and Della doesn’t seem teh kinda girl to be fooled easily 🙂 I have seen people overplay their parts when pretending to be hypnotized, you can tell the fakers pretty quickly.
Well, he acts like a chimp to me 🙂

actonbell, I think recent studies dhow that a successful seesion depends more on the openess, willingness of the subject, rather than teh capability of a hypnotizer. There might eb soemthign to it. We all know our brain works in mysterious way sometimes. The fact that I sit up in my bed and talk, or walk in my sleep alone is a puzzle.

Bobo, hence the inventor of religion rest happily in his grave 🙂

Quilly, I think otehr attributes might play into this…teh inability to roam the fridge while in session, people’s attention make people happy and they need less food to get stimulants. Plus a mindset and willingness from the patient…But I am glad to hear it worked for her, how is not really important in the end, now is it?

terry, I do believe in breathing and yoga and all sorts of brain activity that seems to calm. If I ever get pregnant, expect a call at four in the morning about proper breathing 🙂

snuppy, I assumed everybody had a story related to hypnosis…it is more widespread than I assumed. I also showed this site to my professor today, she loved thsi discussion, so thank you guys for getting involved!

Comment by Penguin

anything to help! 😉

Comment by snuppy

I once went to see a female hypnotist, and was immediately put in a trance.

No hypnosis required, I was just entranced by her magnificent bosom.

Comment by Lord Likely

I once submerged a hobbit in ice water for twelve minutes.

Anyway, what were you talking about?

Comment by Grundir the Implacable

snuppy, hey…one day it might have an effect on one of my grades 😉

Lord Likely, enchantment comes in many shapes and sizes…I hear!

Grundir the Implacable, gosh dude, I missed ye! No hynosis required for you…too little meat to work with 🙂

Comment by Penguin

snuppy? Everything alright?
are you already off to San Diego? Please let us know!

xox

Comment by Penguin




Leave a Reply

