Central Snark


HAPPY CHANUKAH! by Snuppy
Tuesday, 4 December 2007, 11:15am
Filed under: funny..., holidays

If the following post looks familiar for you old-timers, it should. It’s a reprisal of last year’s kickoff to Chanukah, the Festival of Lights. I’d better get this post published as I still need to stock up on Chanukah gelt today. Enjoy!

Tonight we celebrate the start of Chanukah, so for any Jews who wander through, Happy Chanukah!

For any of my non-Jewish Snarkster friends, come play along. The following video will break down the dreidl game for you. Although, I’m pretty sure we won’t be rapping this tune at Tali’s school Chanukah Celebration, I think it’s catchy enough to work its way into our family celebration. It’s all good.

The rapper featured is SMOOTH-E. By day, he is comedian Eric Schwartz. He is an up and coming comedian – more than that, I don’t know. I’ll study up along with you and perhaps by the end of the beautiful Festival of Lights, I can be rapping along with him. Although I’m pretty sure we won’t take Grandma’s clothing back in our own little game of DREIDL. I mean who treats their grandmother this way?! Tempting as it is.

Remember, Gimel takes all – now spin!

Oh, and the thing with the frying pan, only once has it come to that in our dreidl games. I believe I’ve only had to hold the menorah up in a menacing way at Scissors, not the kids – but never was an eyebrow singed. Really all in all – pretty tame.

~ G-Lamp

Happy Chanukah and even if you don’t celebrate the Holiday, get yourself a latke. If you stop by the Lampsha Household, we’ll have plenty along with the ch-ch-ch-chocolate coins!

PS: They’re lighting Candle #1 this evening at Humor-blogs.com!

15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

you are the BEST NBFF, ever! yes, yes… i’m on my way out the door for that manicure, but i had to stop in to thank you thank you thank you for doing this post!

this is WAY better than the post i was working on for today — i mean “Dear Crummy Dumbshit, A Note to Myself?” soooooo lame!

Happy (almost) Chanukah, Lampsha! thank you so much for sharing this wonderfully fun/funny post, again! πŸ™‚

Comment by snuppy

Snup, not that your post title doesn’t have a nice ring to it, but you can certainly save it for another day πŸ˜‰

Enjoy your manicure, but don’t get too distracted by your shiney nails when you’re untangling your Christmas lights later. Don’t want you falling or anything.

Comment by Lampsha (a/k/a G Lamp)

Wow, I know the post went up late, but not one taker for some gelt? Fine, more for me!

Comment by Lampsha (a/k/a G Lamp)

Chocolate coins? Where? Where? If you didn’t live on the other side of the pond, I’d head on over and play for a few. I have no idea how the game works, so I’d probably lose, but it looks like fun in any case. That’s the first Jewish rap I’ve heard in my life, and I must say it was just too funny. Happy Chanukah, and I hope you get lots of those coins. πŸ™‚

Comment by Theresa

Theresa! Thank you for stopping me from melting my gelt with tears of loneliness. Glad you enjoyed. Playing dreidl is little more than spinning an oddly shaped top with Hebrew letters on the sides which stand for “a Great Miracle Happened There.” Dependent upon where it lands, is how much gelt you give or receive.

SO take a handful – it’s you and I…and Snuppy when she gets untangled from Christmas lights!

Comment by Lampsha (a/k/a G Lamp)

Lampsha: i truly adore this video — not only is it informative, it’s hilarious. and it’s got a great beat (what else would we expect from rap?) i had to change the link to Dreidl, because it wasn’t working, and i wanted a “refresher” course on how to play.

also laughing because the game of Dreidl was kind of a running joke on one of our new favorite TV shows, “Chuck” (on NBC). one of Chuck’s coworkers tried to teach his friends how to play, but no matter what symbol came up, he won! at one point Chuck said “I thought the “nun” meant you lost”, and the guy said “Are you Jewish? No? then don’t tell me how to play the game of My People”. probably not too funny now, but trust me, it was more than a little hilarious last night! πŸ™‚

Comment by snuppy

I am so cracking up at that line and only feeling slightly guilty at almost telling Theresa that whatever it lands on, she’d have to put in.

So I should be watching Chuck you’re saying? Okay, I’m on it. Now I’m off to go retrieve a violin, a daughter and some gelt (perhaps not in that exact order). xox

Comment by Lampsha (a/k/a G Lamp)

Happy Chanukah!

I am so down with SMOOTH-E.

Comment by BoBo

Taking the grannies teeth eh? Man, that’s cold!

Hey, I’m not Jewish but I’ll take some of those ch-ch-ch-chocolate coins!

Comment by Jeff

OMG, I give chocolate coins out everyday to the kids who come to my before school reading intervention class.
Granny’s golden grill was hilarious!
Happy Chanukah to all my ab fab fav Jewish blogpals!

Comment by claire

I love chocolate coins. I never knew about the
Jewish background though πŸ˜‰

I am sending my nieces 10 each for Christmas, they are three. How many rounds does that by me at your table, if Idecide to keep them. I had an aunt when I was wee little and in teh top shelf of her fridge she kept these huge chocolate coins, gold and silver…I loved them even back then!
Happy Chanukah, dear Lampsha!

Comment by Penguin

Bobo, me too homes (I’ll have to check, I think that phrase may send up the white man appropriating dated vernacular flares)!

Jeff, lowdown cold. Here you go, uh, but what’s that on your dreidl? Sorry cous, shin puts in πŸ™‚

Claire, you are the bestest teacher ever! Wasn’t that grill damn funny? But his line of put some foil in her mouth and I call her Paul Wall is so freakin funny to add to the hilarity. Thanks for the good wishes! And take some extra coins for the kids.

Penguin, well after all aren’t you taking your Sociology finals this week? Just helping the cause πŸ™‚

Maybe you should try to parlay those thirty into more? Come on, take a spin? Oooh shin – you have to put in. Let’s go again – you’re looking lucky…

thank you and good luck on your finals! Get some sleep in between!

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

Happy Chanukah, G-Lamp!

Comment by Diesel

DJ LAMPSHA, I do remember this from last year but don’t think I realized he was from L.A. Happy Chanukah to the Lampily and their sundry fellow-believers.

Comment by Walela

Diesel, thanks!

Walela, a relative neighbor of yours! Thank you.

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA




Leave a Reply

