Central Snark


SATURDAY SPIN by Snuppy
Saturday, 8 December 2007, 9:26am
Filed under: Lampsha Spins

Guster album coverSo I hope that you got a kick out of the LeeVees earlier in the week. As you can imagine, doing solely Channukkah songs might limit a group. Actually the LeeVees were formed by Adam Gardner of Guster and Dave Schneider of the Zambonis. Something about these guys just spells F-U-N-N (oops)!

I had Guster thrown into the mixed bag of future Saturday Spins so what better time to trot them out and spotlight them? Plus it’s still Chanukah and if you wanted to do something ironicah, you could get somebody the Guster cd instead of the LeeVees. Or you could get both. Or not. Plus, plenty of time until Christmas, so add it to your list.

The boys met at Tufts University in 1991 and Guster (or Gus as they were then known) were off to a good start. As befits a college band, they put on a fun good time show and gained a cult following. I can see that. Here’s a video for the song Amsterdam from their fourth album, Keep It Together.

I had a hard time choosing which video to pop in today — a few catchy numbers. A few catchy numbers can also be heard at their MySpace or at Humor-blogs.com (heh).

Have a great weekend! What are you all up to this weekend anyway? If you’re in the neighborhood, drop by.

~ DJ LAMPSHA

Psssst: If those little weasels had actually lit any candles, tonight they’d be lighting #5 at Humor-blogs.com. Instead they just took the gelt and ran – not a candle lit. Santa’s watching.

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

dearest Lampsha — i am SO hoping you wanted this posted this morning! i took it upon myself to add a picture from Guster’s album “Keep It Together” — mostly because i thought it was so cool.

anyway, i LOVELOVELOVE this spin — you are 3 for 3 this week, girlfriend! actually, if we were keeping score, you’d be, like whatever for however many spins you’ve done to date, because your picks are ALWAYS fabulous!

Happy Chanukkah! 5 candles, eh? that menorah just gets prettier and prettier by the day! πŸ™‚

,,\/(^_^)\/,, peace & love & beautiful lights

Comment by snuppalah

oh, and PS: here’s hoping YOUR happy post finds its way onto humor-blogs, goodness knows the last 2 i did have not. am i being discriminated against?? thinking i may have to raise that very question with the weasel Diesel in question… heh heh heh. πŸ˜‰

Comment by snuppy

OMG! I missed yesterday’s wonderful, wonderful, wonderful post. Did I say it’s wonderful? Well, it’s wonderful!!!!

Okay. Now I’m gonna read todays.

Comment by tlp

I like the song. The video is nice and clear. I have no idea what they’re tryin’ to tell me with the action, but I’ll watch it again.

Good post.

Comment by tlp

I love Guster. ‘Fa Fa’ is one of my favorite songs. If you don’t know it, find it. It’s super-great. Really.

Comment by Diesel

Boy I was waiting to find out what those guys from Tufts were doing in Europe. I hope Morgan gets by to see this.

Getting lost in Amsterdam sounds easy.

Comment by Walela

oh, I like this! And that’s an interesting video, too. *sigh* must see Amsterdam, some day…

Comment by actonbell

not sure where our dear Lampsha’s gone off to, but i’m certain she’ll be pleased as punch to know everyone enjoyed this spin! (Lampsha? you okay? i’m going outside before i go to bed to check for the westernly skies for smoke signals…)

TLP: a’yup, these guys are great! great fun, too! (i’m really happy you liked yesterday’s post, too, in case you didn’t see my comment below) πŸ™‚

Diesel: if YOU like “Fa Fa” i’m guessing i’ll like it, too! πŸ˜‰

Walela: getting lost in Amsterdam sounds like fun. πŸ˜‰

Actonbell: me too! (on that “seeing Amsterdam” thing). looks like a grand place for a good run. πŸ™‚

Comment by snuppalah

Snuppy, I thought that I published it before I ran out the door to MusicSchool with the kids. Hmmm. But I love the picture/linkey that you popped in.

Glad you loved. You know Guster is growing on me the more I listen to them. Thank you and peace and love to you too.

PS: I’m not sure – it seems we’re sliding down the Humor-blogs ladder. I’m sure there is a conspiracy in place. Certain.

TLP: it happens, but get on over and take a lookey – true snuppy fab!

2: Now I’ll have to watch again and pay more attention myself.

Diesel, I first heard Satellite (I think) and was drawn right in. On your recommendation I checked out and concur – great! Love these guys.

Walela, now you know. I hope Morgan does too now that you mention it. I featured this video mainly because Amsterdam is on my list of places I’d love to visit.

Actonbell, me too (sigggh). But look on the bright side – you’ve got that tropical vacation coming up at just the right time πŸ™‚

Snuppalah, snuppalah – I saw your smoke signals but it was after 11:00 pm when I got back home yesterday. A day which included: trip to music school with the kids, one trip home to bring a badly out-of-sorts Julian. Walk Louie. Leave Julian home with Adrian as I went back to pick Tali up from said music school. Blah blah, various stops on way home so that we could wrap gifts for Grandpa and visit him for his birthday at Nursing HOme. Drive Julian and Adiran home, take Tali to friends on Roosevelt Island for Chanukah Menorah lighting, pick up chinese food, hang out with my buddy Eve and kids and go home.

Something like that. Where does a day go? Now I’m off to shower up as I’m taking Tali and said friends roller skating, which will entail me being up on wheels. Oy and vay. Thanks for tending the Snark in my absence. XOX

Have a great Sunday everyone – pray I don’t pop a wheelie and break a bone :()

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

Lampsha! i figured as much! (that you were in the midst of a chaotic weekend, i mean) as long as YOU’RE okily dokily, i’m okily dokily. it was weird, but the post was NOT up until i published it. tho’ it might have been up for a nano-second — it’s like i “saw” it then “presto!” it disappeared… right before my disbelieving eyes! whaaaaaat? spooky. oh well, it’s up NOW, and that’s all that matters!

as for humor-blogs? do NOT get me started… guessing there’s a glitch with the linkage or something, how else to explain our slippage, despite our efforts to “pump up” the volume of hits. boggles the mind, i tell ya.

two words, with regards to your skating adventure: safety equipment. we can’t have you falling and/or hurting yourself today, missy! πŸ˜‰

Comment by snuppy

As if the world were not already bleak enough now the “video is unavailable”. It’s says’s that they’re sorry, but they are not.

This just ruined Christmas.

Comment by SinisterDan

Aw Dan, tough luck. actually, the Christmas Elves are smiling upon ye, for the video is now working fine. at least it is at our house… here’s hoping you can and DO see it, for these guys are gr-r-r-eat. not to mention fun πŸ˜‰

Comment by snuppy

Good pick Lil’ G. I’ve always loved that tune and am quite certain I’ll be singing it all day tomorrow after hearing it now. But that’s a good thing πŸ™‚

Comment by Jeff

Snuppy, it was in an indoor rink so we were pretty safe. I have to say it was a blast and no harm done, except to Tali and Sara’s bums. They’re young, they’ll recover &/or get a bit more cushioning.

Well thank you for taking care of all the technological glitches and warm wishes in TheSnark this weekend – you’re a gem! XOX

Dan, Dan, come back Dan! Don’t be so sinister – the videos are working! Dan? Merry Christmas.

Jeff, I wish that I could say the same about your jello and cool whip πŸ™‚ I’m kidding, sort of. I’m singing along with you right now.

Comment by Lampsha




Leave a Reply

