Central Snark


Have a very twisted Christmas! by Harmonica Man
Monday, 24 December 2007, 9:42am
Filed under: Cloudman, holidays

jeffav1.jpgThe other night I was innocently flipping through the channels and landed on a rerun of Jay Leno, just before he was about to introduce the musical guest for the night.

Since I didn’t know who he had booked, I stayed tuned, eager to enjoy another quality musical guest. But imagine my surprise when camera panned over to the stage and instead found…

THIS GUY!

dee2.jpg

GAH!I thought these guys were long dead. I guess that explains why Dee Snider looks like he’s been exhumed.

twisted.jpgLast year Twisted Sister celebrated their 30th anniversary as a band, and to cap it off they released this new holiday album called… you guessed it – “A Twisted Christmas“.

And so the other night I watched them play their very twisted version of O Come All Ye Faithful which (cleverly?) superimposes the words directly over the same melody as We’re Not Gonna Take It.

Hmm, he didn’t figure that out until now? I remember thinking that was a rip-off 23 years ago when that song first came out.

Anyway, the act was entertaining – in a “it’s really hard to not watch a train wreck” kind of way. The poor band looks exactly like a weather-beaten version of the original, except for the “please just shoot me now” expressions they now wear on their faces.

Here’s the video of their version of O Come All Ye Faithful.

As I’m sure you discovered right away, having actual acting skills were not as much a prerequisite for this gig as much as having large breasts and the ability to shake your hair around.

Of course I’m quite sure you weren’t surprised to find they managed to add a sexy “video chick” to a classic Christmas song such as O Come All Ye Faithful. But then again isn’t that their job?

I mean duh – this IS Twisted Sister!!!

~ Jeff

Ye faithful always come to Humor-blogs.com for truly twisted humor!

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Jeff, i’m not sure i have the words to properly convey the joy and, yes, awe i felt while reading this post and/or viewing that video. Suffice to say i thought it was beyond brillaint! just a perfect way to “kick off” Christmas and/or counter the fun Spin offered up over the weekend by our dearest DJ O’Lampsha!

honestly, i thought Dee Snyder was dead, or, at the very least, retired and living out his days in Bermuda shorts ‘n black socks in a retirement home in Florida. who knew?

Happy Holidays, dude. twisted and/or otherwise! 🙂

Comment by snuppy

And a very twisted Christmas to you! My darling little boy was in the car with my husband and picked up this song in their travels which he walks around the house singing. Well, at least he is adorable to look at – Julian, not Dee Snider, that is.

A perfect pre-Holiday post. I’ll have to check the video out later from home (I’m here with my hand warmers bent over my desk by gaslight right now).

Happy Holidays.

Comment by Lampsha

I’m not sure I’m ready for the clip. I really just came over here to spread holiday cheer to all Snarksters. Thank you, I guess, for adding a new twist to my Yuletide.

Comment by weirsdo

I was watching this on my computer and turned around to see Curtis and Randy staring, mouths hanging open. I said “Jeff.” They both said “Oh,” and went back to what they were doing.
Merry Christmas to you and your family, enjoy the jello!

Comment by lindakooiman

Wow. Some things you just can’t prepare yourself for.

Merry Christmas, everyone. I’ll be doing the honors on tomorrow’s post here on The Snark!

Comment by crummyjoel

I thought he was dead too. I always feel like I need to shower, or at lease wash my face, after looking at him.

Merry, Merry!

Comment by drowseymonkey

I feel like I’ve learned the true meaning of Christmas.

There’s a Red Hot Chili Peppers song that I swear rips off “We Three Kings”, but I can’t remember which one now.

Then there’s Dani California, which the RHCP are mad at Showtime or somebody for ripping off the title, which is pretty funny because it’s the same song as Tom Petty’s “Mary Jane’s Last Dance.”

At least Dee & Co. are up front about it.

Comment by Diesel

snuppy – I can only imagine a retirement home that Dee lived in – but at least the neighbors wouldn’t be complaining about the music being too loud. Hey, Merry Christmas to you all as well!

lampsha – Good for him. A boy is never too young for his first Twisted Sister experience. Happy Holidays right back atcha!

wiersdo – You can’t really be ready for this one, so you might as well just play it. 😉

linda – Glad to see I’ve neutralized your family to the bizarre. My work here is done. Merry Christmas to you and yours as well. Thanks.

crummyjoel – Thanks. I’ll be here. But not until after Santa of course.

drowseymonkey – Just spray a little Lysol on your computer when you’re done. You’ll be fine. Christmas Christmas!

diesel – I’ll have to check out that Dani California song. I always get a kick out bands who sue other bands over musical phrases. It’s not like someone invented penicillin for pete’s sakes, it’s just notes – and there’s only so many to go around. But I’m sure if whoever wrote “Oh Come All Ye Faithful” were still alive they’d be going after Dee as well. Hey, Merry Christmas Diesel and family!

Comment by Harmonica Man

Jeff – If you haven’t heard Dani California, you definitely need to check it out. (I’m assuming you know the Tom Petty song). I couldn’t believe what an obvious rip-off it was.

Merry Christmas, everybody!

Comment by Diesel

Wow there’s nothing like an aging metal band to really the season into gear.

Merry Christmas snarkers!

Comment by littlebluepill

I don’t know, I think Twisted Sister is fun. Of course I am an aging metalhead. I may be tired but I’m not proud.
Dee Snyder will probably outlive all of us!
The hoe-bags with the giant silicone gazongas I could do without. But the band itself is still a kick.

Comment by Lily Strange

That was hilarious, in a train wreck kinda way!

I rocked along with the song, all the while asking myself why 🙂

Comment by Penguin

I remember seeing that last year and being appalled, but unable to turn away.

Comment by Heather




Leave a Reply

