Central Snark


SATURDAY SPIN by Snuppy
Saturday, 12 January 2008, 9:03am
Filed under: Lampsha Spins

I’m really not suited for this “job.” In other words, I’m not a music reviewer from the technical standpoint. I only know what I like and when I hear it, I jot it down or make a mental note; or in the case of today’s spin, can’t get it out of my head. It was raining today and as I drove along, wipers slapping, on comes Joe Henry singing “Our Song” a dirge-like paean to America as told from the perspective of Willie Mayes. I was transfixed. It was a perfect soundtrack for the weather.

Joe Henry is an amazing songwriter, musician, producer and brother-in-law to Madonna (married to her sister). He’s a crack producer who was behind Solomon Burke’s 2003 Grammy Award Winning, Don’t Give Up On Me. He’s worked with Ornette Coleman (as you hear the brush drums on these songs, you can imagine how that would work nicely), his “hero”, Loudon Wainwright III, and done production work for Elvis Costello and Aimee Mann, to name a few. His latest album is “Civilian” released this past year.

You can listen to some of his music, most notably above mentioned Our Song and Time is a Lion at his fan-run MySpace or better still on his own site, Joe Henry Loves You Madly which has some nice links/videos.

And of course, a little immediate visual in the form of Kings Highway from one of his earlier albums:

So that’s all for now folks. I’m off to bed because the rooster crows a little early in Queens, NYC for music school tomorrow which is actually today.

Have a great weekend.

~ DJ LAMPSHA

PS: I hear they’re saying Diesel is the Dylan of comedy over at Humor-blogs.com.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i had the pleasure of hearing an interview with Joe Henry on NPR a few months ago, and was completely impressed and enchanted. not sure why you say you’re not suited to the task of “spinning” for us on Saturdays, my dearest Lampsha, because i can’t think of ONE spin you’ve done that i didn’t think was fantastic! you have an amazing ear (okay, two, but who’s counting?) — like my own savvy husband, time and time again you manage to identify artists before they’ve even hit the Big Time.

in other words… LOVELOVELOVE this guy/his music, and, of course, you!!

,,\/(- -) peace, baby (i’m feeling a little Zen today, can ya tell?)

Comment by snuppy

I didn’t expect that sound when he was talking. Very interesting.

Comment by nessa

There’s qualifications for being a music reviewer? I’m sure there’s none for blogging.

He does sound like Dylan and the guitar part is terrific. Especially for a crack producer.

Comment by Walela

He produces crack! And that’s a plus?
I’m surprised it doesn’t adversely affect his music. πŸ˜‰

Comment by QuillDancer

I also think he’s got a Dylan thing going on, which of course is a bonus for me since I love Dylan. I think it’s the obscure “spins” like this one that make you even more qualified to do this “job.” πŸ™‚

Comment by Jeff

I liked it. It always amazes me how different people sound when they start singing, you got the talking voice and then they start to sing, and you are totally amazed. Loved the guitar bit most though!

and don’t you go doubting yourself as our Saturday entertainment…you are it(even if we don’t get around until Sunday to actually hear you!;)

xox

Comment by Penguin

I noticed you mentioned Dylan… (and Diesel. LOL) … but within a single rif I noted the resemblance to Dylan in Joe Henry’s style. Excellent – wish he was playing in a night club somewhere around here. I need to get out πŸ˜‰ Lovely, and fabulous pick as usual. Hope the rooster slept in.

Comment by terry

You do a pretty great job as a music reviewer, so I don’t think you need to worry about any qualifications. This guy does sound like Dylan…and you’re right, Our Song is perfect for this weather (cold and rainy over here too). πŸ™‚

Comment by Theresa

You know, I came in and commented bright and early yesterday morning and my comment got lost! So that was how Monday started and now I will just say that I always like to get back and see that my guests had a good time. So grand. And Doug and Quilly, you little scamps – he just produces the crack, doesn’t smoke it! πŸ™‚

Happy Tuesday.

Oh and thank you, thank you – really I wasn’t fishing for compliments. I’m no Lester Bangs, but I know a thing or two about a group or two πŸ˜‰

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA




Leave a Reply

