Central Snark


In the beginning… by Harmonica Man
Monday, 28 January 2008, 9:17am
Filed under: Cloudman, funny..., music music

jeff19.jpgI knew I was going to be a singer from the time I was about 4 years old.

My sister, who is 10 years older than me, used to play her Beatles and Herman’s Hermits records on her phonograph in her bedroom, and I’d sit on the floor outside her door and sing along at the top of my lungs… that is until she yelled at me to “shut up and go in the other room!”

Then, when the Monkees came on TV it sealed the deal. To me there was nobody cooler than Davy Jones or Micky Dolenz and I was going to be just like them.

Just seeing these guys up in front of the microphones was all I needed. More than anything in the world I wanted to someday be that cool. And this is why:

Now be honest women… how many of you are suddenly crushing on him like you were 12 again? Hey – I don’t blame you. He makes me feel kinda funny too. Not that there’s anything wrong with that!

monkees.jpg The Monkees (1966-1967) were one of only two shows that I can think of that featured segments of bands playing their music within the plot of a standard storyline – not counting variety shows.

In those days if you weren’t planted in front of the TV set when it was show time, you flat out missed it. There were no VCRs to capture the moment if you weren’t home – although we were guilty of tape recording the entire show on audio cassette and playing it back 100 times over the following week, so that was better than nothing.

partridge1.jpg

The other show that featured a band playing their song of the week was the 2nd major influence of my musical youth. The Partridge Family (1970-1974) came along right at the start of my teen years when the thought of becoming a rock star sex symbol started to appeal to me for the first time.

And as far as I was concerned, there was no one hipper or sexier than David Cassidy himself. Take a look for yourself:

Hmm, I’m thinking maybe David might have been confusing waking up “in love” with waking up with morning wood, but hey – as long as he was happy about it did it really matter?

And so there they are… the two TV shows that most influenced me to eventually become a musician, travel around the world, meet my wife, have kids, start a blog, and get picked up by Snuppy as a fellow Snarkster to tell my story here.

I must say it’s been quite a ride, but I’d like to thank my good friends Davy and David for showing me the way.

~ Jeff

I’m singing the praises of Humor-Blogs.com!

17 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Jeff! oh how i loveloveloved the Monkees! like you, my sister and i sat in front of the TV every week for the sole purposes of watching this show. so good. and so damn funny. and, truth be told, well ahead of its time. if memory serves, The Beatles’ “A Hard Days Night” paved the way for The Monkees (as well as the concept of “silly/fanciful” videos). what a ride, indeed! and a grand one, at that! (we also watched The Partridge Family, but with significantly less enthusiasm. but only because i thought Shirley Jones was the World’s Worst Lip-Syncer)

needless to say, i truly enjoyed this post — it’s nice to know a little more about the thing that drove you to pursue music…and/or comedy! πŸ˜‰

Comment by One Hot Puppy

The Partridge family left me cold but oh yes, I love the Monkees and loved the series as well – shown here in Blighty as re-runs for children of the 70s. I loved the Beatles films, too or at least, Hard Day’s Night, Help and Yellow Submarine.

Cracking choice of song, one of my favourite Monkees tracks, written, incidentally, by Neil Diamond. Now there’s something not a lot of people know…

Cheers

BC

Comment by babychaos

PS. Check out the kids dancing to this… like the opening credits to Armstrong and Miller. There’s even somebody having a little pogo in there.

Brilliant!

Cheers (again)

BC

Comment by babychaos

rick said…
That’s the first time I’ve seen the Monkees in a long time, too cool. I think my favorite song you guys play in the Receders is “Pleasant Valley Sunday”(by Carole King). Danny Bonaduce and the little kids were too fake for my taste, but I always thought Susan Dey was smokin hot!!!

Comment by rick

snuppy – That’s funny, I agree that Shirley was not Emmy material. I never actually liked the Partridge Family “show” itself, but I lived for the musical segment!

babychaos – That dancing scene is a riot. Don’t know what the deal is with the tied up guy but then those background scenes never did make sense in any of their videos. Cheers to you too!

rick – You gotta love the U-Toobs!

Comment by Harmonica Man

Davy was singing to me there. Actually I was a Peter Tork kinda gal (in our “Married to the Monkees” game that my sister and I played).

Brilliant post because starting a Monday with the Monkees is fantastica! I was right there with you guys watching and the Beatles cartoons too! Something about the Partridge Family was a bit saccarine for me, even at that age. But that’s not to say I wasn’t glued to the TV set watching.

Now I’m kicking myself (with what little energy I have) for not getting my act together and featuring the band that I wanted to this past weekend πŸ˜‰

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

There WAS nobody hipper or sexier than David Cassidy. He did a concert in Enid about a month ago. I didn’t go because I didn’t want the fogie David to mess up my memories of my teen idol!

Comment by mom thumb

Sometimes I wake up in love, but usually I just have to pee.

Comment by Diesel

lil’ g – Peter was ok but not my type. Wait, that didn’t come out right. What I meant to say was I always thought Davy and Micky were the better singers. Whew! Hey… sure hope you’re feeling better. Get well soon!!!

diesel – Sometimes it “hard” to tell the difference. ~wah wah wah wah~

Comment by Harmonica Man

You’re all sick. Ooops! That was rude.

I’ll try again. Beatles: good
The Monkeys: Do you guys have ears? Eyes?

Mmmmm….that still seems a tadrude….

David Cassidy was sexy??? Sorry. I’m trying to be nice here, but that’s just wrong. Sick and twisted.

Comment by tlp

The Monkeys are good, but they’re no RUTLES, that’s for damned sure.

Comment by Rickey Henderson

tlp – Hey be nice now. I like my Cheerios without pee on them πŸ˜‰

rickey – Oh yeah… ya GOTTA love the Rutles!

Comment by Harmonica Man

bugger…I don’t know either show, but teh two clips sure featured eye candy. Sadly I was born a little later and the only shows we had to influence us throughout our teenage years were Beverly Hills and Melrose Place. I am not surprised that my generations seems to be amounting to lots and lots of drama.

Comment by Penguin

Geez, talk about a blast from the past! I haven’t thought about Davy and David for years. I loved them of course, but I had to keep it secret from my brothers who would have teased me unmercilessly 24/7 forever and ever (bastards!).
Poor Danny Bonaduce, how the mighty have fallen…

Comment by claire

The Monkees walked funny.

Comment by nessa

penguin – I was just surprised they stopped making shows that had bands as part of the cast. It was always so cool to see what song they were going to play each week. But I suppose once shows like MTV came along it was all over for that concept huh?

claire – I was lucky because no one that I group up with thought it was odd that I liked these shows. It was a different time, that’s for sure.

nessa – You’re right, they did have that funny walk in their intro sequence – which of course they stole directly from the Beatles (by design).

Comment by Jeff

I used to love both shows, but I caught them as reruns, since they were a tiny bit before my time. My friends and I used to think both Davy and David were dreamy. πŸ™‚

Comment by Theresa




Leave a Reply

