Central Snark


SATURDAY SPIN by Snuppy
Saturday, 24 March 2007, 7:41am
Filed under: Lampsha Spins

It’s time for our first Battle of the Bands! But wait, these are individual artists. Okay, it’s time for our first Battle of the Bit..Young Women! I’m popping up two videos today of two different artists and you can vote in the comments on which was your fave. Now if you’re fickle as I am, it might be difficult. If that is the case, here is my tip – narrow it to the merits of these two songs alone. Then go have fun and look at their individual MySpace pages and decide you like both of them, each in their own unique style.  Really you don’t have to vote, I’m just trying to deflect from what will be a very lean to the point post. 

They are both fun and fresh and span the gammit from ska to trip hop.  Enjoy.

First up we have Jem, a young Welsh singer who has got an interesting style.  I love her voice.  Here is her MySpace page which has some links and info and four songs. So let’s kick off the battle with Jem’s video for the song “They”:

Next up, we have Lily Allen, a young British “pop artist” who you don’t want to do dirty (you’ll see).  She is AB FAB and I love her ska-inflected sound.  Here is her MySpace page with more of her songs.

Check out her video for the song, Smile:

Okay Snarksters, I’m off to violin and a day of percussion so enjoy and have a great weekend!

 ~ DJ LAMPSHA
  spinning out of control since 2006


10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Okay, I’m off for the day. I’ll be back to vote later. Have fun!

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

Hmmm…tough choice but I’m going to go with Lily Allen just because it’s a bit more fun. Both, however, are very good. Another great week of “Saturday Spin” courtesy the one and only DJ Lampsha!

Comment by BoBo

ooooh, Lampsha! this is a tough call, NBFF, i lovelovelove BOTH these artists. believe it or not, our youngest son is a fan of Jem’s, so i’ve heard one of her CD’s, and i think she’s fantastic! on the other hand, Lily Allen is new to my old ears — and she’s pretty darn amazing, as well. do i have to choose? oy. lemme listen again, and i’ll get back to ya later!

thanks for this great post, to, by the way! it’s nice to see something of actual “substance” after the last 3 days’ worth of fluffy-nothingness! 😉 xox

Comment by snuppy

Hey you two, hope you had a nice latte sipping Saturday. I’d have to go with Lily Allen too for her moxy and fun quotient. Love the ska beat.

Allright just breezing through. Enjoy the rest of the weekend. xox

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

very close, very, very close, but I too give Lily Allen the nod, although I do love the Jem too.

Comment by logo™

I think actually the first one is better for me…it was the beat that made the difference!
I hope you are having a lovely weekend and I am so happy and fortunate to have gotten a chance to meet up with you.

xox, the Penguin

Comment by Penguin

Love the second song, I haven’t heard of these two singers before.

Hope your weekend is going well.

Comment by Brian

Yeah, Logo, they’re each very good in their own right.

Penguin, you’ll not believe this – but I did think of you for the Jem tune! Hope you’re having a great time out west. I am so happy to have been able to spend time also – I hope we’ll get to see you on the return trip. Have a great visit. xox G

Brian, that Lily is a lot of fun. Ooh, glad to be able to introduce you then. Enjoy your weekend, it’s a nice day here in NYC.

To all, enjoy the rest of the weekend, I’m a single parent today as Scissors had something going for the day – how dare he! I’m not as adept as getting up and out as he so I’d better go round up the troops.

XOX

Comment by DJ LAMPSHA

well who am i to argue with so many experts? no one, i tell ya, no one! so Lily Allen it is — tho’ i do enjoy Jem, and will continue to admire her music from afar (or acar, since my son burned a CD of her music for me last year, and, if memory serves, it’s still in there!)

hope your weekend was a lovely/kicked back as ours was! tho’, i confess to being a trifle bored after the whirlwind of activities we had throughout the past week! here’s hoping we get one more chance to traipse around Manhattan before teh Penguin takes flight again! 😉 xoxo

Comment by snuppy

Well, seems that I am joining the ranks of Snuppylicious Neva in preferring Jem… after a lifetime exposed to Brits and the varying accents and lifestyles that come with the accents, Lily Allen rubs me the wrong way a bit… her style is funkified though her cockney-ish-ness, whatever, is just a tad irritating…

I liked Jem… groovy… I think I have heard her before though I have yet to own her music…

Hope everyone had a faboo weekend!

Comment by Catty Yummy Mummy




Leave a comment