Central Snark


Cecil Dill by Snuppy
Monday, 6 November 2006, 9:21am
Filed under: cracks us up, music music | Tags:

AS MANY of you know*, over the weekend the brilliant, funny, and oh-so-cute-‘n-clever DJ LAMPSHA, brought us another, in her series of, fabulous musical moments. This week, much to our delight, she introduced us to a group of talented — not to mention popular — world class musicians known as THE LITTLE WILLIES, who joined forces in order to cover classic American songs. Their music was a breath of fresh air and completely wonderful, so much so, in fact, our toes are still a-tap-tap-tappin’ to them thar tunes.

OF COURSE, that CD, while entertaining, also created a dilemma for us, in the form of the brand new week-to-week “tradition” called “cheap laughs in the form of musical opposites” in response to Lampsha’s wonderful weekend musical gems. Naturally, it only made sense to try and conjure up something in the form of ole-timey-and-classic-yet-completely-terrible-American-in-origin music, and, by gum, we think we’ve managed to do just that.

BRACE YOURSELVES, for as much as we’ve grown to love our new(ish) “cheap laughs/musical opposites” concept, even we were surprised by the musical styling awfulness of Cecil Dill. Honestly, we didn’t mean to be quite so cheap in our effort to make you laugh, by bringing you something quite so opposite, it just happened. Please don’t hate us for what you’re about to see.

WE DO think Cecil deserves a hand (heh) for showmanship, although he does turn into a bit of a camera whore towards the end. On the other hand (heh), we were fascinated and amused-yet-mildly-disturbed to watch him after the performance, especially when he described his technique for keeping his “instrument” soft ‘n supple. We can’t be sure, but based on his goofy grin, we suspect ol’ Cecil manipulated more with those musical hands than he let on.

*By “many of you” we mean, of course, the 2 or 3 who bothered to show up and keep us company over the weekend. Please tell us you were out doing something fabulous, or at least interesting, otherwise we might start getting a complex. Our sense of self-esteem is in your hands (heh). Be gentle.

~ snuppy


25 Comments so far
Leave a comment

clearly, today hand references seem funny. probably not HA HA funny, but most assuredly “heh” funny. i apologize for that, but this particular “hand job” (heh) screams for bad puns and/or wordplay. and on that note, i’ll hand (heh) this post over to you guys.

ps: i did find a video of ol’ Cecil playing Yankee Doodle, which seemed more appropriate, what with tomorrow being election day and all, but his on camera interview/explanation of his “talent” (heh) along with his little demonstration made *this* clip the hands down (heh heh) winner! xox

Comment by One Hot Puppy

That was interesting. Talent? Hmmmm. It’s a good thing he doesn’t sing – ugh, what a voice. I bet he drove the cows crazy! LOL

D 🙂

Comment by FelineFrisky

Now that is talent. *LOL* Did you notice how serious he was while doing that? Bravo!! Bravo!!

I had a nice day on Saturday – Erick and I left the house sans children and had an all day date. Sunday of course we recovered from the all day date and took care of the children. 🙂

Comment by cj

Now that’s real talent!! Good for Cecil…living proof that there’s a place for everybody on this great planet of ours and that everyone has a “special purpose” unto heaven. Kind of reminds me of the only other client Estelle (Joey’s agent on Friends)had…his specialty was eating paper.

Comment by BoBo

Bobo, that reminds me of Steve Martin in The Jerk – “I found my special purpose!”.

Well, Cecil is indeed “special” heh heh. I’m thinking he might get work sending Cecilgrams – you know on Valentines or birthdays or funerals or to break up with somebody. His technique honing shall haunt me for the rest of the day I’m afraid. But thanks for that – heh heh heh.

Comment by Lampshade Lady

Good catch Lampy…love The Jerk! I’m thinking Cecil may have just been ahead of his time…if he were around today he could tryout for American Idol…get cruelly mocked and become a superstar in the process (see William Hung).

Comment by BoBo

Uh-huh “Milking Cows”. Is that what you older kids called it back in the day?

Comment by Little Blue Pill

Now if he could just get that much tonal variety in his VOICE.

Comment by Diesel

I wonder if he is still alive and milking cows….perhaps he would be good entertainment, when my blog buddies….who did not invite me….come to see Paloma 😦 🙂

Comment by Pretty Kitten Heels

FF: yeah, i can just hear those cows now: “oh goody, here comes Cecil, brace yourselves, girls, i hear he’s got a concert comin’ up soon, and you know what that means…practice, practice, practice! Moooooo!”

CJ: so you’re saying you never developed this particular skill, farm girl? oh wait, i guess soy beans have the potential for a slightly different form of music, right? glad you had a nice weekend (by the way, that link you provided Saturday was very cool… thank you so much!)

Bobo: Cecil kind of looks like that paper-eating guy, doesn’t he? hee hee! poor thing. i was gonna mention the “special purpose/Jerk” connection, but i see my NBFF beat me to the punch! xox

Lampsha: you can see how my brain works now, can’t you? “little willies”… old timey music… Cecil Dill playing “old timey music”, after practicing on cow udders and his own “little willy” (or not and ewwwwww). your wonderful post on Saturday deserved a better “tribute”. sorry. i’ll do my best to make it up to ya next time! xox

LBP: i’m thinking there’s fodder somewhere in all this for a new story. Cecil Dill… Cecil’s cows… Cecil’s soft, supple, not to mention limber fingers… you take it from there!

Diesel: if only you’d been around here doing your usual whining commenting over the weekend, i could have used the line “Diesel? meet Cecil”. alas, it was not meant to be.

as for his performance? don’t you love the way he holds up his hands so we can see he’s not trying to hide any other instrument? as if to say “nothing up my sleever. this beautiful music you’re about to hear is ALL me”. yeesh. and i adored the way he tells us he first learned how to play Yankee Doodle, which he practiced EVERY DAY for 3 years. three years? oy. but the *best* line (for me) was “well i suppose you wonder how that i did keep my musical instrument in practice while i was on the farm. Well that was simply… very simple.” simple, indeed. not unlike the musician, i’d have to say.

Comment by snuppy

Pretty Kitty Heels: ruh-roh…. we MEANT to call you… we did! actually, the lovely Sar was closer to your neck of New England before she wound up in Connecticut, i guess we could have headed *that* way, instead! tell Paloma to put her pout away, my NBFF and i will figure out how/when we can come out to see her (and you) for a visit if it’s the last thing we do! xox

Comment by snuppy

*sniff* 😦 OK, I will tell her…and we will practice
our smiles before you come 🙂 *whisper* should we invite Sar? Is she also your NBF? I understand that Sar used to live in NJ, I am sure she is homesick.
By the by, I could not have come anyway, had house guests…..not that this info let’s you off the hook 🙂

Comment by Pretty Kitten Heels

So if you liked Cecil Dill you gotta check out this slightly more contemporary disciple “playing” the theme from Hawaii 5-0.

HAWAI’I 5-0

Comment by BoBo

holy crap, Bobo! i guess i should have shown you the Cecil Dill clip last night, because then you could have shown me that, and well… let’s just say i like Hawai’i 5-0 and leave it at that! (i changed the link, hope you didn’t mind!) very funny. almost scary. but, mostly just funny. alohahahaha! xoxox

Comment by One Hot Puppy

me. that was me. (you knew it, but i wanted to make sure anyone and everyone else did, too!) xox

Comment by snuppy

ooooh, and Pretty Kitty Heels!! i KNOW you were unavailable over the weekend… i read your fun post, missy, and i’m on to you! that said, G and i are plotting our visit with you even as i type. (or we will be when i send her an email that says “let’s plot a trip out to visit Mo’a… and make it soon!”) practice that smile, girlfriend, you’re gonna need it.

ps…Sar’s definitely an NBF and would appreciate an invitation, tho’ she lives about 6 hours away from where you are (i think) so she might not be able to come… tho’ perhaps a FUTURE trip (a couple of months from now?) will afford her the opportunity to do just that! xox

Comment by snuppy

And plot we shall! Mo’a, I wanted to send you an email but I don’t see one on your site or did I miss it? Either way, could you send an email with your info to me (contact at my blog). Who knows, I may have to make a side visit without my dear NBFF if I visit me mum any time soon. Then we’ll also plot for an all out get together!

I’ll have to check out Hawaii Five-O later.

You know, I think we’re being a bit cavalier about poor Cecil. I’ve been trying all morning to get any musical sound out of my hands – nothing really good comes of it. Let’s see if I try a little lotion. That’s a little better. Give me a year, let’s see then.

Comment by Lampshade Lady

You know what scares me the most about these hand farter/musicians? Is that they have a name for it. Manualism. That’s just…scary.

And so sad.

So very very sad.

Oh my gawd. this guy has too much time on his hands. Hi-ho Silver Awaaaaaaay!!!

Comment by Little Blue Pill

LL: what’s that you say?? go visit Mo’a *without* me?? perish the thought!! (unless, of course, it makes sense to do that…then by all means, do so! no no… don’t worry about hurting my feelings, i’m sure i’ll get over it, eventually!!) xox

LBP: oh lordy! that’s the same guy Bobo linked to, right? yeesh…apparently we’ve all been missing out on this manual musical medium. and, with any luck, we’ll all forget about it by tomorrow! xox

Comment by snuppy

LBP –

“they have a name for it. Manualism.”

I thought it was called Onanism.

Simply…simple.

Comment by Diesel

Cecil is creepy 😦 His mouth moves when he talks but the rest of his features stay as lifeless as his voice. *shudder*

A hand for showmanship? Heh. Heh. LOLOL!!!!!!! I think snuppy deserves a hand for that 😉

And can I say how MUCH I love the photo of you ladies over at Sar’s??? That is picture perfect, so cheeky and girlie-love-a-dub-dub!!

Love,
GG xo

Comment by good girl

I was out all weekend…I have pictures to prove it:)
That wa sjust a creepy music video. Why? How and what for?
*puzzled*

Comment by Penguin

And -for teh love of God- I canæt tell you why I watche dit a second time! *shakes head*

Comment by Penguin

GG: nice to see you, girlfriend! you’ve been missed. sorry you had to find something so … er…. uh terrible on your first visit back here! that said, that’s for the “hand” (heh)!! xox

Penguin: yeah, ole Cecil, while completely awful, is hard NOT to watch! lovelovelove your new pictures/post! i’m actually in the process of getting a new one up, but i seem to be failing miserably (stupid WordPress is not cooperating at all this morning. i hate that!)
xox

Comment by One Hot Puppy

Don’t forget to vote today!

Comment by canine karen




Leave a comment